We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay with the best hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing stay with the best hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our first time in Marrakech, after too much TripAdvisor research I stopped on Riad Tamarrakecht and decided it was the one. We were not disappointed.
We were staying for six nights in total but because we booked fairly late the Riad was only available for five nights, fortunately the unbelievably helpful Sara found a solution we could stay at the Riad for two nights, have an excursion to the Sahara and then return to the Riad for final three nights.
This meant we stayed in all three first floor rooms and i can safely you will love any of them. Each has a unique individual charm.
I'd recommend getting a transfer from the airport arranged by the Riad it can be difficult to find but once you are there Sara will talk you through exactly where you are and need to go.
Breakfast is delicious and can be eaten on the lovely rooftop, served by Sara's brilliant brother Mukhtar who we really enjoyed getting to know. The whole family are perhaps the nicest people I've ever met and nothing is too much for them.
The walk to Jemaa el Fna is about 15 mins but walking through a less touristy neighbourhood in the Medina is actually really nice. You are left alone and you can eat where the locals do.
It was my birthday while I was there and Sara's mother baked me a cake, a bloody delicious one at that.
Everyone at the Riad goes above and beyond, the Riad is so comfortable that even moving rooms still meant everywhere felt like home.
There's no way we'd think about staying anywhere else. It is a remarkable, beautiful home away from home. Thank you so much.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
146
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a beautiful riad 10 mins walk from the central square. A family affair. Architect father designed the refurbishment and run by the very hardworking siblings Sara and Mucta. They could not have been more helpful and friendly. Rooms are beautiful. A great experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Me and my girlfriend just came back from Marrakech and from this Riad. I just want to tell that I met the persons of all my trips! this riad is amazing but the best from there are Sara, ''Murrta'' ( I never know his name :) ) and the parents. this people makes your stay in Marrrakech unforgettable! thanks to Sara family, you made our trip amazing, and if someone tells something bad about this Riad and about this people, is lying! thank you so much for everything! thay more than staff, they are friends!!
THANKS, and we will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Absolutely beautiful riad, so finely decorated and pieces chosen with care. The Bab el Jdid suite was sumptuous and the bed was more comfortable than my bed at home. The breakfast was so relaxing, served on the roof with the sun shining down on us as the cats watched us eat. Only 15 minutes to the main square, and easy directionally, once you get it right. Sara was kind enough to give us insights into Moroccan women's lives, and I'm happy to see a Moroccan family own and operate a riad. Overall a beautiful place to stay that was simply perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

To quote Monty Python - "And now for something completely different". Forget about staying in tourist hotels in the New City, where you will only get a sanitised version of Morocco. Riad Tamarrakecht is situated in the heart of the medina - the Old City - where you are surrounded by the "real" Morocco, but in no way does this involve slumming it as it is nicely decorated in local style, it is peacefully quiet, the food is good and the personal service is excellent. Whatever you do, make sure that you ask them to arrange transport for you to get from and to the airport as they will meet the taxi at the gate of the medina (Bab Aylen) and take you and your bags to the Riad - without it, you will never find your way. As soon as we arrived, Sara drew us a map showing the way to Jemma El Fna, the main square where it all happens in Marrakesh and which will inevitably be your focal point, and we had no difficulty in getting around. However, I would not recommend the experience to anyone with a severe mobility problem as the route is crowded with street vendors, motor-cycles and hand- and donkey-carts - though, having said that, my wife was recovering from a recent broken leg and managed fine. I would also suggest when you first venture out into the medina that you identify a landmark by which to identify the turning to find your way back to the Riad as it is down a rather anonymous-looking alleyway. Sara arranged for us to take a one-day excursion over the Atlas Mountains to Ait Benhaddou and Ouarzazate and her brother took us to make sure that our transport was waiting. The money for this, as well as for our accommodation and airport transfers, was payable in dirhams or euros (we chose dirhams), but Sara was totally relaxed about payment and I think I was more anxious to pay her than she was to receive payment! Incidentally, it might help if I mention that on leaving Marrakesh you will need to stand in the queue at the airport to get your boarding card stamped even though you may have checked in on-line, as you will not be allowed through security without this. In summary, a most enjoyable 6-night stay, largely due to the attentiveness of Sara and her brother - and of course those cats!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay in Marrakech - our final holiday as a couple before our first baby arrives in the summer. We chose this riad based on another Tripadvisor review by accident really - what a good accident! The riad collected us from the airport, depositing us at Bab Aylen, where we were met and guided to the riad on foot. There we were welcomed by Muqta, who provided tea, cakes and a ten minute orientation lesson, complete with an extremely handy map of how to get to the main square! And within seconds of sitting down there was a cat on my lap! In fact there were three cats, two of which (Mimish and son of Mimish) belong to the family. The third (nicknamed Stareycat) is a neighbourhood cat. But they were very sweet, led us to our rooms, tried to climb on us, and ducked in our room when we weren't looking! So if you really hate cats, perhaps this might not be great, but we loved them.

Our room (first floor, furthest away from the stairs) was really lovely. Clean, great bathroom, with a table and chairs outside looking over the centre of the riad. It was just lovely. Breakfast was superb, and eating it on the roof was great too. You can see the rooftops of the medina.

The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from the main square. There are plenty of riads closer than this, but we loved the walk. We felt that we saw real life in those streets, further away from the tourist zone. We would have missed that if we stayed somewhere else. So if you want an experience that takes you off only the main roads, that shows you real Marrakesh people going about their daily lives, then this is perfect.

The hotel was fantastic value, 60 euros a night including breakfast! We could not fault it at all.

Sara and Muqta were really friendly, helpful, and you know they would look after you.

So all in all, we would highly recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I cannot say enough nice things about Sara and the family that runs the place. They make sure you are looked after as you acclimate yourself to the Medina area. She drew us a map of the old village and gave us great advice for getting around the Medina. And because they are a Moroccan family, they know everyone in the area.

The rooms are well-appointed and very luxurious. The Riad is impeccably clean and the beds are very comfortable. Everything about the place is first class. Its perhaps a 15 minute walk to get to the Medina and there is a lot of great stuff to experience on the way. And its really wonderful to come back to a quiet refuge like this Riad after being immersed in the spectacle of commotion that is the Medina.

This placed should be listed a lot higher!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#53 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#38 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#41 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.