We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like my home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Save Saved
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Felt like my home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed there 3 nites with my son.
Very caring and lovely family run Riad. Only 15 minutes from Main Square. Nice Breakfast
on the roof
, pleanty of items, with Fresh Orange Juice make our day refreshing.
Will come back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
98
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Had a very relaxed stay here.
Sara and Mokhtar are nice and welcoming! You get greeted Mint tea and moroccan sweets on arrival.
We stayed one night in the Bab Agnaou and two nights in the Bab Ighli.
Both pretty rooms with very comfy beds. There is no wifi reception inside the Bab Ighli though in case that is important to you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed Mid December. Airport pickup was prompt well-arranged no hassle, very glad we took the option as the guy walked us to the door and waited till Sara opened the door.

Very warm welcome, the raid looked gorgeous. Was satisfied with our room the only down side was the toilet had a strong smell of the drainage system.

The explanation and map Sara gave us was very helpful, good advice on our first day which saved us loads of hassle and time throughout the trip.

Will definitely recommend as Sara and her brother make you feel at home and quite relaxed, they are very friendly and welcoming.

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed there with my husband and parents the first week in December and it was incredible. The best points were:

a) We were greeted with mint tea and Moroccan sweets.

b) The whole hotel is very clean and extremely well decorated. You really feel like you're in Morocco.

c) Sara (the daughter and hotel manager) is sweet, friendly and helpful.

d) The breakfast (served in the rooftop terrace) is great!

e) It's only a 15 minute walk (slow walk) to the main square and market.

f) You REALLY experience Morocco because the hotel is located in the Old Town where you don't find tourists until you reach the market.

We totally recommend this hotel!
Love to you Sara!
Patrícia, Eduardo, Rita and Paulo (Brazilian family)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This Riad is ranked so highly for a reason. After booking it based on reviews read here we were not disappointed.
The greeting and orientation were invaluable in the maze of the Old Town - no request was too much - the breakfast was exactly what was required. The Begging cats added charm - the room was clean cool and quiet and simply beautiful.
Worth absolutely every penny and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon. It was the end of July and temperatures were at about 45 degrees celsius but the Riad was cool and calm. Our room was well furnished, quiet and comfortable.

The family were very helpful, organising coach tickets to Essaouira and even finding us a rental car at late notice on a Friday.

It seemed that anything we asked about, they were able to sort out. They even managed to find my wife's lost wedding ring for us.

The Riad is in a less touristy part of the medina but this meant that we could feed ourselves quite easily by shopping around the stalls in the area. It took about 20 mins to get to the main square. This could be quite hairy when it was busy, especially during Ramadan when everybody came out at night. Our tip would be to walk into town when evening prayers are on, to avoid the crowds and scooters. This would probably apply in most parts of the medina though.

The roof terrace was very pleasant for evening meals and the cat (Bruce), entertained us by strutting around and fighting off any cats that bothered us.

The family were extremely kind and took very good care of us which made our stay all that much better. The only negative for some people might be that it isn't as close as some Riads are to the centre but we preferred to be able to get away from the chaos and have a breather.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in Bab Ighli and were greeted by Missimon (Bruce) the cat every morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a fantastic dip into Moroccan culture! The Riad was so beautiful and so typically Morrocan. Our hosts Sara and her family looked after us very well and we felt like nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are stunning as is the roof terrace. We were moved due to building work
Which gave us an opportunity to see two rooms, the second of which was the honeymoon room!
We can't recommend them enough but if you do book pay for the airport transfer. I can't imagine making the journey without a guide for a first timer in Marakesh!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.