We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a fantastic dip into Moroccan culture! The Riad was so beautiful and so typically Morrocan. Our hosts Sara and her family looked after us very well and we felt like nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are stunning as is the roof terrace. We were moved due to building work
Which gave us an opportunity to see two rooms, the second of which was the honeymoon room!
We can't recommend them enough but if you do book pay for the airport transfer. I can't imagine making the journey without a guide for a first timer in Marakesh!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
116
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Riad Tamarrakecht is a peaceful and relaxing riad in the heart of the bustling medina of Marrakech. Sara and Mukhtar are extremely friendly and helpful and Sara provided a number of hints, tips and pieces of advice as well as a wonderful hand-drawn map to allow us to get to the Jemaa el-Fna and back. We stayed in two different rooms on the second floor and both were equally comfortable. At night it was so dark and quiet inside the rooms, I think I had some of the best nights' sleep of my life. Breakfast was enormous with a large variety of different foods and it kept us going until late in the day. It's worthwhile to take up their offer of a transfer from the airport as Marrakech is difficult to navigate at first. Otherwise, the taxis (which you can take from nearby Bab Aylen) are very inexpensive and a good way of getting around. Overall, Riad Tamarrakecht represents excellent value for money and is a good base from which to explore Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of October. In summary we loved it here. Sara and Mukhtar were so helpful in ensuring we found our way around and with organising transfers for which we were really grateful. Our room was lovely and we both really enjoyed taking breakfast on the roof terrace. The Riad is an easy 10 minute walk from Djemarr El Fna and we were grateful not to be more central than this, it was no hardship at all walking in for the evening, at no stage did we feel intimidated wandering around Marrakech in the evening. Our only slight gripe and reason for not giving 5 stars was we did find the Riad quite noisy... as we were on the ground floor we were always woken by people arriving, breakfast being organised and quite often they stayed up late watching telly quite loudly just outside the room... really is nitpicking as meant the family were always pleasant but is worth taking into consideration and if this would really bother you would be worth asking not to be on the groundfloor. All in all we would absolutely visit and stay here again.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor rooms if you are a light sleeper or may want a lie in in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My mom and I stayed at Riad Tamarrakecht in early October. My mom lived in Morocco 40 years ago and this was her first trip back. The Riad arranged an airport transfer which was really great, at the old streets of Marrakech are impossible to navigate on your first day. Riad is not in the centre of Marrakech close to the big square, but rather a 15 min walk away. The was actually really nice, as you had to leave the tourism and enter a real neighbourhood that people from Marrakech live in.

The price was perfect for the room. Our room was on the ground floor and very good sized. Bathroom was clean and hot water everytime for a shower. The first day the smell in the room was almost too strong of cleaning products but it dissipated while we were there.

Breakfast was great. We took it one day on the room and one day in the lobby. Great little Moroccan omelet.

The staff made this Riad. The family care for each guest. They take time to draw a very good map for the guests to make sure they can find their way back to the Riad at the end of the nigh. They spoke over an hour with my mom and I about Morocco and how it has changed since my mom lived there. Sara and her brother even took me out one night and walked around the main square. The showed me authentic moroccoan experiences including drinking a unique tea and eating snails. They told me about their life, school and aspirations. This was really a great start to my trip.

I would recommend this to anyone visiting Marakech

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Foothills, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Riad Tamarrakecht is very special. From the moment we stepped into the front door to the time we left four days later, our experience at this riad was fantastic. Sara greeted us when we arrived and was very accommodating, charming, and helpful. After providing an informative orientation, she led us to our room - what a great space! The room was beautifully designed and decorated by her father, who is an architect. There is a rooftop terrace for relaxing and dining. It was a pleasure to have their excellent breakfast on the terrace each morning.

Marrackecht is a great city to explore. Since the city is such a pleasurable assault on the senses, it was wonderful to return to the oasis of the riad in the evening to relax from all of the day's activity.

If you are considering Riad Tamarrakecht for your stay in Marrackecht, don't hesitate to book a room here. You will very happy that you did so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Riad is a good one, I can't fault the service of the guys there - impeccable service they provide for their guests. Guests are treated to a lovely welcome reception with mint tea (spiked with an insane amount of sugar) and moroccan pastries/sweets and directions to the main square with a make shift not to scale map which comes in very handy the first time you're weaving your way through the side streets.

I've rated the Riad quite lowly in comparison to the average reviews here because of the following reason below;

I stayed in the room beside the kitchen which has its downsides - as I was in Marrakech to chill out, my days started pretty late in the day and any attempts at a relaxing lie in was ruined from all the chaos, noise and music from the kitchen.

Also, for solo travellers intending to make use of their airport transfer; watch out for the price they quote. In the email, airport transfer is 8 euros however that's conditional to there being at least 2 people in the car - if you're there alone you are charged 16 euros (which I found out whilst checking out before dashing to the airport).

The roof terrace whilst being an open space to chill out and eat has somewhat underwhelming views but they've usually got music playing.

Asides from those slight issues listed above, it's actually a decent place to stay. The guys speak decent amount of English for non Arabic and french speakers and provide recommendations on activities (in the unlikely event one hasn't done that much research into things).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

When you first get to Marrakech, it can be slightly overwhelming, but as soon as you step into Riad Tamarrakecht, you immediately feel at home. This family business has THE FRIENDLIEST, most lovely staff imaginable. After a cup of mint tea, a few little biscuits, a nice conversation, and 20 minutes on the very chill, very cool rooftop terrace, we were immediately so thankful we stayed here.
A what's more, its super affordable too! We stayed in 4 Riads during our time in Morocco, and this is by FAR the best.
Stay at this Riad, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.