We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Save Saved
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Sierra Foothills, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Riad Tamarrakecht is very special. From the moment we stepped into the front door to the time we left four days later, our experience at this riad was fantastic. Sara greeted us when we arrived and was very accommodating, charming, and helpful. After providing an informative orientation, she led us to our room - what a great space! The room was beautifully designed and decorated by her father, who is an architect. There is a rooftop terrace for relaxing and dining. It was a pleasure to have their excellent breakfast on the terrace each morning.

Marrackecht is a great city to explore. Since the city is such a pleasurable assault on the senses, it was wonderful to return to the oasis of the riad in the evening to relax from all of the day's activity.

If you are considering Riad Tamarrakecht for your stay in Marrackecht, don't hesitate to book a room here. You will very happy that you did so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
103
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Riad is a good one, I can't fault the service of the guys there - impeccable service they provide for their guests. Guests are treated to a lovely welcome reception with mint tea (spiked with an insane amount of sugar) and moroccan pastries/sweets and directions to the main square with a make shift not to scale map which comes in very handy the first time you're weaving your way through the side streets.

I've rated the Riad quite lowly in comparison to the average reviews here because of the following reason below;

I stayed in the room beside the kitchen which has its downsides - as I was in Marrakech to chill out, my days started pretty late in the day and any attempts at a relaxing lie in was ruined from all the chaos, noise and music from the kitchen.

Also, for solo travellers intending to make use of their airport transfer; watch out for the price they quote. In the email, airport transfer is 8 euros however that's conditional to there being at least 2 people in the car - if you're there alone you are charged 16 euros (which I found out whilst checking out before dashing to the airport).

The roof terrace whilst being an open space to chill out and eat has somewhat underwhelming views but they've usually got music playing.

Asides from those slight issues listed above, it's actually a decent place to stay. The guys speak decent amount of English for non Arabic and french speakers and provide recommendations on activities (in the unlikely event one hasn't done that much research into things).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

When you first get to Marrakech, it can be slightly overwhelming, but as soon as you step into Riad Tamarrakecht, you immediately feel at home. This family business has THE FRIENDLIEST, most lovely staff imaginable. After a cup of mint tea, a few little biscuits, a nice conversation, and 20 minutes on the very chill, very cool rooftop terrace, we were immediately so thankful we stayed here.
A what's more, its super affordable too! We stayed in 4 Riads during our time in Morocco, and this is by FAR the best.
Stay at this Riad, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights in September and from the moment we stepped in from the dusty, arid, manic streets outside we immediately knew we were somewhere special. We were met with Smiles in abundance as we were checked in and shown around their beautiful riad and home, and this was a recurring theme throughout our stay with all members of the family. Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the communal area and it was perfect for our needs especially being not too hot at night as it had air con. Wifi is touch and go in the room but just next door in the communal area with its vast array of couches and corners to laze and stretch out you will get reception no problem. Breakfasts are legendary and can be taken anywhere in the riad. The staff did so much for us during our stay and we were so sad to be leaving to another riad during our marrakesh stay. Lastly, I cannot believe the price of this place as it truly is one of the most outstanding places I have ever been.

Room Tip: Just don't stay anywhere else in marrakesh!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a gem of a place to stay and really amazing value compared to other riads in the medina. The breakfast, in a terrace with a romantic Bedouin-style tented area and several friendly cats (and spectacular but not so friendly cacti!) was particularly impressive. Unlike other Marrakech breakfasts which are usually continental, this was a two-course feast with delicious cooked eggs and peppers followed by a basket of pastries. Extra touches like hairdyers, robes and a big bowl of fruit in the room on arrival were really special and unexpected in this price range. The young man who greeted us with mint tea and pastries also hand-drew a map for us and helped us to orient ourselves. This riad is quite a way from the Jmaa el Fnar square so people who get easily lost should be cautious and take a card for the hotel (and their hand-drawn map) with them.
The staff were super friendly - so friendly, in fact, that when I made a mistake about the conversion rate from Euros to Dirham, they agreed with me (even though I was wrong) and charged me less money than I should have paid. I felt really bad about this afterwards! But it only makes me write an even more glowing review now!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a fabulous retreat from the chaos that is the Marrakesh Madina. The family running this Riad were incredibly welcoming and really couldn't do enough to make our stay as wonderful as possible. Definitely ranks as one of my best experiences of hospitality.

When we (myself and my partner) arrived in the evening we were greeted with mint tea and local pastries and invited to sit down and relax in the main courtyard. The two main people who dealt with us were Sara and her brother whose name has escaped me (both spoke excellent English)! After arriving the brother sat with us to give us a hand drawn map and talked us through the most direct route to get to the main square Jemaa el Fna in enough detail to help us successfully not get lost which really was invaluable. He pointed out the main tourist points worth visiting, gave us a few pointers about what tricks locals might pull and we were given a phone number which we were invited to call at any point in case we got lost and they would come looking for us. This family really could not do enough for us! Later during our stay our flight schedule was changed which meant we needed new boarding passes printed (Ryanair eh...) and again the staff were more than happy to help us out with this. These were all things that they didn't have to do but did with a smile. The family really made us feel that this was a home away from home.

The breakfast was excellent and kept us going for most of the day. This is served on the roof which has a lovely set up of tabled seating, sun loungers and a covered soft seating area which is perfect for a bit of down time in the heat. Our room itself was beautiful with a four poster bed and huge shower in the ensuite which was excellent (oh and the air conditioning was very welcome). The Riad also has free wi-fi which was especially handy when we needed to find out about the changes to our flights.

It's definitely worth arranging transfers from the airport with the Riad as there is a 99.9% chance that you will never find the place without being led there directly. It's tucked away around a few corners in the heart of the Medina which is a totally different world! The location itself was a reasonable 15 minute walk away from the main square and you can reach most significant tourist spots by walking. Being tucked away afforded the nice bonus of it being very quiet at night so a good night's sleep is possible after a long day of sightseeing.

Overall I could not recommend this Riad enough and can't emphasise just how fantastic the people running this place are. The price was incredibly reasonable for the room and service we received and we would happily return. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Extremely cosy, beautifully decorated and hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina – Riad Tamarrakecht was a great choice for getting a glimpse of the daily life of Marrakech people.

The Riad is definitely worthy of its good reviews: it is a family-run business where everyone is working as a team to make your stay as memorable and enjoyable as possible. The rooms are laid out on 2 floors, and they are spacious and clean with nice traditional interiors and (much-needed) air-conditioned units. The roof terrace is pretty cool, decorated with local artefacts in warm colours, sun chairs and cheerful flowerpots.

The outside breakfast area is, again, simply charming. The actual meal is traditionally Moroccan, consisting of bread, butter, eggs, pancakes, jam, fruit, coffee/tea, orange juice etc. It is not the most sophisticated or varied thing you have ever tried, but the whole serving ritual is impressive: it is all about the care and attention to details and the constant effort to please.

Not easy to find as most guests would agree, but we succeeded with a good detailed Google Maps print-out. The Medina gate closest to it is called Bab Aylen, and the Riad is about 10-minutes’ walk if you know where you’re going. Ideally, a taxi fare from Bab Aylen to the Airport should be firmly negotiated to a maximum of 100-120 MAD not more.

The Medina of Marrakesh undeniably has its charm, but often it can get overwhelming to the western traveller: the heat, the smell, the dust and fumes, the crowded streets, the not-so-well-mannered locals pushing and shoving, the constant harassing of the tourists, the trickeries and scams they try to pull in the street ALL THE TIME, can get to you quickly. For that reason a 4-night stay in the medina was more than enough for us.

And on that note, a quick piece of advice: if a stranger approaches you out in the street, do not trust them, no matter how friendly they seem: it’s always about the money. Unless it is pre-arranged or a legitimate business – like a restaurant or a hotel/guesthouse/riad – be prepared to be conned one way or another. Even a bus driver or a museum employee would sell you a ticket and then try to ask you for it back so they can re-sell it later to someone else. Also, the tanneries are free to visit and you can do this on your own. If a suspiciously nice local offers to take you there, expect that they will, again, demand payment at the end of the tour!

But all in all, Riad Tamarrakecht is a wonderful surprise by contrast. They deserve all the support they can get for being so genuinely hospitable and accommodating. Many many thanks to Sara, Fatima, Mokhtar, and the parents. Would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.