We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad with 5 Star Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad with 5 Star Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a fabulous retreat from the chaos that is the Marrakesh Madina. The family running this Riad were incredibly welcoming and really couldn't do enough to make our stay as wonderful as possible. Definitely ranks as one of my best experiences of hospitality.

When we (myself and my partner) arrived in the evening we were greeted with mint tea and local pastries and invited to sit down and relax in the main courtyard. The two main people who dealt with us were Sara and her brother whose name has escaped me (both spoke excellent English)! After arriving the brother sat with us to give us a hand drawn map and talked us through the most direct route to get to the main square Jemaa el Fna in enough detail to help us successfully not get lost which really was invaluable. He pointed out the main tourist points worth visiting, gave us a few pointers about what tricks locals might pull and we were given a phone number which we were invited to call at any point in case we got lost and they would come looking for us. This family really could not do enough for us! Later during our stay our flight schedule was changed which meant we needed new boarding passes printed (Ryanair eh...) and again the staff were more than happy to help us out with this. These were all things that they didn't have to do but did with a smile. The family really made us feel that this was a home away from home.

The breakfast was excellent and kept us going for most of the day. This is served on the roof which has a lovely set up of tabled seating, sun loungers and a covered soft seating area which is perfect for a bit of down time in the heat. Our room itself was beautiful with a four poster bed and huge shower in the ensuite which was excellent (oh and the air conditioning was very welcome). The Riad also has free wi-fi which was especially handy when we needed to find out about the changes to our flights.

It's definitely worth arranging transfers from the airport with the Riad as there is a 99.9% chance that you will never find the place without being led there directly. It's tucked away around a few corners in the heart of the Medina which is a totally different world! The location itself was a reasonable 15 minute walk away from the main square and you can reach most significant tourist spots by walking. Being tucked away afforded the nice bonus of it being very quiet at night so a good night's sleep is possible after a long day of sightseeing.

Overall I could not recommend this Riad enough and can't emphasise just how fantastic the people running this place are. The price was incredibly reasonable for the room and service we received and we would happily return. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
146
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Extremely cosy, beautifully decorated and hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina – Riad Tamarrakecht was a great choice for getting a glimpse of the daily life of Marrakech people.

The Riad is definitely worthy of its good reviews: it is a family-run business where everyone is working as a team to make your stay as memorable and enjoyable as possible. The rooms are laid out on 2 floors, and they are spacious and clean with nice traditional interiors and (much-needed) air-conditioned units. The roof terrace is pretty cool, decorated with local artefacts in warm colours, sun chairs and cheerful flowerpots.

The outside breakfast area is, again, simply charming. The actual meal is traditionally Moroccan, consisting of bread, butter, eggs, pancakes, jam, fruit, coffee/tea, orange juice etc. It is not the most sophisticated or varied thing you have ever tried, but the whole serving ritual is impressive: it is all about the care and attention to details and the constant effort to please.

Not easy to find as most guests would agree, but we succeeded with a good detailed Google Maps print-out. The Medina gate closest to it is called Bab Aylen, and the Riad is about 10-minutes’ walk if you know where you’re going. Ideally, a taxi fare from Bab Aylen to the Airport should be firmly negotiated to a maximum of 100-120 MAD not more.

The Medina of Marrakesh undeniably has its charm, but often it can get overwhelming to the western traveller: the heat, the smell, the dust and fumes, the crowded streets, the not-so-well-mannered locals pushing and shoving, the constant harassing of the tourists, the trickeries and scams they try to pull in the street ALL THE TIME, can get to you quickly. For that reason a 4-night stay in the medina was more than enough for us.

And on that note, a quick piece of advice: if a stranger approaches you out in the street, do not trust them, no matter how friendly they seem: it’s always about the money. Unless it is pre-arranged or a legitimate business – like a restaurant or a hotel/guesthouse/riad – be prepared to be conned one way or another. Even a bus driver or a museum employee would sell you a ticket and then try to ask you for it back so they can re-sell it later to someone else. Also, the tanneries are free to visit and you can do this on your own. If a suspiciously nice local offers to take you there, expect that they will, again, demand payment at the end of the tour!

But all in all, Riad Tamarrakecht is a wonderful surprise by contrast. They deserve all the support they can get for being so genuinely hospitable and accommodating. Many many thanks to Sara, Fatima, Mokhtar, and the parents. Would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, NZ and wherever else
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A faultless small hotel. From the lovely Moroccan welcome (complete with tea and cakes) to the superb breakfasts on the terrace, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a small, centrally-located stay in Marrakech (and it's really reasonably-priced too!).

This hotel is run by mum, dad and the 4 kids (well, grown-up kids) when they're not at uni etc, and all are very friendly and welcoming.

We didn't eat evening meals during our stay as the temptations of the street food all over the medina (right on the doorstep!) got us, but the food smelt lovely.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I can't fault our stay here. Beautiful Riad, gorgeous room, spotlessly clean, great location, lovely food and fantastic service. And all for exceptional value! It was nice to give our money to a lovely Moroccan family rather than lining the pockets of a rich European Riad owner. They made us feel so welcome and would go out of their way to do anything they can to ensure you have an enjoyable stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Sarah and her family really go out of their way to make you feel at home in their lovely riad. Room was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was the best we had in Morocco. Sarah was even kind enough to wake up much earlier than usual to prepare breakfast for us before going on a trip to the Sahara. Would definitely choose this riad again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this riad for only one night when I arrived in Marrakech on my way to visit a friend.
I was met at the airport - which was just as well, because it's not an easy place to find. However, it is a real hidden gem. It lies in the far side of the old town and to reach it, you have to get out of the taxi beside one of the city gates and walk along narrow streets until you reach the riad.
Inside, it is very nice indeed. My room was fine, the sheets and towels were spotless and the decor was traditional Moroccan.
The young lady who was running the place (Sara) could not have been more helpful. She helped me to get a Moroccan sim card, explained how to put the credit on and rang to check it had registered properly. In fact, the only reason I did not stay here on my return to Marrakech at the end of my trip was the position of the place, which would have been a little inconvenient for the things I wanted to do in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived at marrakech at night, and had to make our way through the old town which would have been scary had the hotels taxi driver not taken our bag and guided us through to the hotel. We arrived and although modest on the outside, it was gorgeous morrocan decor on the inside, well kept and cleaned. We were fed delicious morrocan tea on the house upon arrival and then shown to our lovely air conditioned room. Before we went out Sara, one of the staff who was very friendly and charming, drew us a map to the main square and briefed us on the best way to get their. She also warned us of any scams locals may play on us, and landmarks to look out for if we get lost. She also gave us her phone number. Every morning we were given a delicious cooked morrocan breakfast on the house, served on the spacious and well decorated roof terrace. When we checked out at 12 we had 5 hours to kill so we went out and we were allowed to leave our bags in the lobby. When we got back, sweaty and tired, we were offered a shower in an already cleaned room and clean towels. When we left the hotel we were spending a few more days elsewhere in moroco. While checking out Sara said to us "you have my number phone, if you need anything at all or any advice please call me".
These people did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#113 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#54 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#39 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#41 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.