We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Save Saved
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
UK, NZ and wherever else
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A faultless small hotel. From the lovely Moroccan welcome (complete with tea and cakes) to the superb breakfasts on the terrace, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a small, centrally-located stay in Marrakech (and it's really reasonably-priced too!).

This hotel is run by mum, dad and the 4 kids (well, grown-up kids) when they're not at uni etc, and all are very friendly and welcoming.

We didn't eat evening meals during our stay as the temptations of the street food all over the medina (right on the doorstep!) got us, but the food smelt lovely.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
100
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I can't fault our stay here. Beautiful Riad, gorgeous room, spotlessly clean, great location, lovely food and fantastic service. And all for exceptional value! It was nice to give our money to a lovely Moroccan family rather than lining the pockets of a rich European Riad owner. They made us feel so welcome and would go out of their way to do anything they can to ensure you have an enjoyable stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Sarah and her family really go out of their way to make you feel at home in their lovely riad. Room was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was the best we had in Morocco. Sarah was even kind enough to wake up much earlier than usual to prepare breakfast for us before going on a trip to the Sahara. Would definitely choose this riad again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this riad for only one night when I arrived in Marrakech on my way to visit a friend.
I was met at the airport - which was just as well, because it's not an easy place to find. However, it is a real hidden gem. It lies in the far side of the old town and to reach it, you have to get out of the taxi beside one of the city gates and walk along narrow streets until you reach the riad.
Inside, it is very nice indeed. My room was fine, the sheets and towels were spotless and the decor was traditional Moroccan.
The young lady who was running the place (Sara) could not have been more helpful. She helped me to get a Moroccan sim card, explained how to put the credit on and rang to check it had registered properly. In fact, the only reason I did not stay here on my return to Marrakech at the end of my trip was the position of the place, which would have been a little inconvenient for the things I wanted to do in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at marrakech at night, and had to make our way through the old town which would have been scary had the hotels taxi driver not taken our bag and guided us through to the hotel. We arrived and although modest on the outside, it was gorgeous morrocan decor on the inside, well kept and cleaned. We were fed delicious morrocan tea on the house upon arrival and then shown to our lovely air conditioned room. Before we went out Sara, one of the staff who was very friendly and charming, drew us a map to the main square and briefed us on the best way to get their. She also warned us of any scams locals may play on us, and landmarks to look out for if we get lost. She also gave us her phone number. Every morning we were given a delicious cooked morrocan breakfast on the house, served on the spacious and well decorated roof terrace. When we checked out at 12 we had 5 hours to kill so we went out and we were allowed to leave our bags in the lobby. When we got back, sweaty and tired, we were offered a shower in an already cleaned room and clean towels. When we left the hotel we were spending a few more days elsewhere in moroco. While checking out Sara said to us "you have my number phone, if you need anything at all or any advice please call me".
These people did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've just come back from visiting Marrakech and Morocco for the first time after a incredible and eye-opening experience - much of our fond memories are due to the wonderful time we spent at Riad Tamarrakecht.

From the moment we arrived after our airport transfer, I knew that all the hours of internet research about where to stay were worth it! For once, believe the reviews and believe the hype. Riad Tamarrakecht feels like home in the heart of the 'real' city. I genuinely now feel like I have family in Marrakech and can't wait to go back and visit them.

The person we dealt with most was Sara because she spoke the most fluent English, and was patient with my patchy French, but the rest of her family were always incredibly warm, friendly and helpful as well. From being greeted with some refreshing Moroccan mint tea and traditional desserts to our beautifully decorated suite, we felt relaxed and at home right away.

The Riad is stunningly decorated and is insanely good value for how wonderful it is. I want to keep it my little secret but don't want them to go out of business so felt compelled to write a good review!

Breakfast every day is an absolute FEAST. We took to nicknaming it 'brunchner' because it is so filling and keeps you full for most of the day. Such amazing variety, it's exactly what you need for a busy day of walking around Marrakech. They were so patient with any dietary requirements or requests we had. Dinner was also amazing, as a vegetarian I had a scrumptious vegetable couscous and my mum had an apparently delicious chicken tagine.

You feel like part of the family and it feels so lovely to have somewhere quiet and comfortable to come back to after the mad hustle and bustle of the medina. With the help of a well-drawn map and patient advice by the staff at the Riad, you find the medina and souks (eventually) and realise that if you don't get lost, it's only about 15-20 minutes walk away. (Tip: Try not to engage with locals promising to 'show you the way'.) You'll also be grateful that it's not right in the centre, it's so quiet and peaceful which is exactly what you need.

We decided to spend a few days in the centre of Marrakech at the Riad and then a few more days slightly further out to relax at a hotel (the wonderful Palais de l'O). It was such a great decision as we got the best of both worlds and inner Marrakech can get slightly overwhelming at times.

Sara kindly arranged for her father to drop us to the new place but the only problem was that the hotel didn't give any real address or directions so we spent about an hour and a half driving around rural back "roads" of Marrakech for what turns out should have been only a 20 minute drive. Sara's father was so incredibly wonderful and patient the whole time. He remained good-humoured and wouldn't hear of my suggestion to return back to the Riad if we couldn't find it. He was an absolute gentleman and we are so grateful to him for his help and kindness.

Ultimately if you are going to Marrakech, you won't regret staying here. We can't wait to go back and would recommend it to everyone we know. Thank you so much to Sara and family for making our trip so wonderful and memorable. We miss our new Marrakech family already!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The service is warm and friendly from the moment you walk through the doors. We stayed in one of the rooms upstairs and it was great. Clean, spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is a great way to start the day. It is a little further away from Jemma El Fna than preferred, but its only a 15 min walk....just make sure you pay attention to the directions provided by the Riad when you first arrive and you cant go wrong...its actually quite straight forward once you know how. The neighborhood is a bit more rugged and the side street leading up to the riad can be a bit dirty but dont let that put off as it is wonderful once inside. We were the middle of the blazing hot summer but always felt comfortable. If you stay in one of rooms downstairs, it could get a bit noisy in the mornings. Whilst not luxury, considering the price compared to other similar riads, the value for money is unbeatable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.