We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible - feels like home in the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Save Saved
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible - feels like home in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've just come back from visiting Marrakech and Morocco for the first time after a incredible and eye-opening experience - much of our fond memories are due to the wonderful time we spent at Riad Tamarrakecht.

From the moment we arrived after our airport transfer, I knew that all the hours of internet research about where to stay were worth it! For once, believe the reviews and believe the hype. Riad Tamarrakecht feels like home in the heart of the 'real' city. I genuinely now feel like I have family in Marrakech and can't wait to go back and visit them.

The person we dealt with most was Sara because she spoke the most fluent English, and was patient with my patchy French, but the rest of her family were always incredibly warm, friendly and helpful as well. From being greeted with some refreshing Moroccan mint tea and traditional desserts to our beautifully decorated suite, we felt relaxed and at home right away.

The Riad is stunningly decorated and is insanely good value for how wonderful it is. I want to keep it my little secret but don't want them to go out of business so felt compelled to write a good review!

Breakfast every day is an absolute FEAST. We took to nicknaming it 'brunchner' because it is so filling and keeps you full for most of the day. Such amazing variety, it's exactly what you need for a busy day of walking around Marrakech. They were so patient with any dietary requirements or requests we had. Dinner was also amazing, as a vegetarian I had a scrumptious vegetable couscous and my mum had an apparently delicious chicken tagine.

You feel like part of the family and it feels so lovely to have somewhere quiet and comfortable to come back to after the mad hustle and bustle of the medina. With the help of a well-drawn map and patient advice by the staff at the Riad, you find the medina and souks (eventually) and realise that if you don't get lost, it's only about 15-20 minutes walk away. (Tip: Try not to engage with locals promising to 'show you the way'.) You'll also be grateful that it's not right in the centre, it's so quiet and peaceful which is exactly what you need.

We decided to spend a few days in the centre of Marrakech at the Riad and then a few more days slightly further out to relax at a hotel (the wonderful Palais de l'O). It was such a great decision as we got the best of both worlds and inner Marrakech can get slightly overwhelming at times.

Sara kindly arranged for her father to drop us to the new place but the only problem was that the hotel didn't give any real address or directions so we spent about an hour and a half driving around rural back "roads" of Marrakech for what turns out should have been only a 20 minute drive. Sara's father was so incredibly wonderful and patient the whole time. He remained good-humoured and wouldn't hear of my suggestion to return back to the Riad if we couldn't find it. He was an absolute gentleman and we are so grateful to him for his help and kindness.

Ultimately if you are going to Marrakech, you won't regret staying here. We can't wait to go back and would recommend it to everyone we know. Thank you so much to Sara and family for making our trip so wonderful and memorable. We miss our new Marrakech family already!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
100
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The service is warm and friendly from the moment you walk through the doors. We stayed in one of the rooms upstairs and it was great. Clean, spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is a great way to start the day. It is a little further away from Jemma El Fna than preferred, but its only a 15 min walk....just make sure you pay attention to the directions provided by the Riad when you first arrive and you cant go wrong...its actually quite straight forward once you know how. The neighborhood is a bit more rugged and the side street leading up to the riad can be a bit dirty but dont let that put off as it is wonderful once inside. We were the middle of the blazing hot summer but always felt comfortable. If you stay in one of rooms downstairs, it could get a bit noisy in the mornings. Whilst not luxury, considering the price compared to other similar riads, the value for money is unbeatable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san leandro
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Riad Tamarrakecht for three nights in early July. We really loved it! It’s a smaller, very pretty, family-run inn, with really lovely rooms. We are a family of four and had two rooms on the second floor, one for my husband and I, and the other for our two sons, ages 11 and 13. Usually we stay in the same room with our boys, but the cost was reasonable enough that we were able to get two rooms, side by side. It was much more comfortable this way. The food was fantastic… our breakfasts were lovely, and our dinner up on the top floor terrace was one of our best in Morocco! We also appreciated being able to leave most of our luggage at the Riad while we were on our desert tour. It's a family-run inn, so everyone was comfortable with having our boys around, which was nice. Our only hiccup was our airport pick-up was a no-show. Since this was our first trip to Morocco and it was late, we weren’t really comfortable trying to make our way to the Riad on our own. We ended up waiting about an hour for a driver to come. But, once we were on our way, all was fine. The Riad is located in the Medina, about 10 to 15 minute walk to the central area. You’ll need a good map – because it’s pretty easy to get lost! It’s a wonderful inn, you won’t go wrong with Riad Tamarrakecht.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

An absolute pleasure to visit Riad Tamarrakecht. The family who run it were so friendly and helpful, accommodating our group of 4 adults and 6 children at short notice. The streets to the Riad, and even its front door are deceptive and once inside you can forget about the heat and chaos of the medina. The rooms are cool and clean, and the roof terrace is wonderful. Yes, this is not as close to the main sqaure as others, but it's not far and you will experience the everyday life in the medina on your way to and from the Riad. A big thank you to Sara, Fatima and Mukhtar (apologies for the spelling) for being so friendly and rescuing us when we got lost. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Riad! The family who runs the Riad is exceptionally friendly, helpful and kind. They were so welcoming and really wonderful with us and, in particular, with our 4 month old son. The food was delicious and they accommodated by food issues, the rooms were impeccable and cool even with the intense heat. The atmosphere was really relaxing and we would go back without hesitation. The only negative was the transportation to the Riad. Given the difficulty getting to the Riad, I'd recommend you ask them to pick you up at the airport or train station, because if you haven't been there, it would be really hard to find. However, the people who picked us up were not the friendliest and the price was kind of high in comparison with taxis, etc. We had planned to take a taxi on the way out but the owner offered to drive us himself. All in all, it was a very great stay and we would recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this riad for 3 nights and really loved the place. The staff, food and rooms are amazing! The location is perfect. About 10-15 minutes walk to the main square. You will recieve a handwritten map from one of the family members. Pay attention to the directions and you will easily find your way through the maze in the medina. We also recommend that you make use of the airport-transfer offered by the riad as it will be difficult to locate the first time.

If we are going back to marrakesh we will most definitely stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Location not everyone's choice. Suited my needs perfectly. Away from the mayhem of the square. Safe walk about fifteen mins through traditional part of the city. If you want to see the real Marrakech then stay here. Great accomadation and food and hospitality. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Highlight of this Riad is the rooftop terrace. Awesome. Owners very helpful and friendly. Recommend trip to Atlas Mountains, if going again would stay two days in mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.