We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, lovely rooms, great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Save Saved
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
san leandro
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad, lovely rooms, great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Riad Tamarrakecht for three nights in early July. We really loved it! It’s a smaller, very pretty, family-run inn, with really lovely rooms. We are a family of four and had two rooms on the second floor, one for my husband and I, and the other for our two sons, ages 11 and 13. Usually we stay in the same room with our boys, but the cost was reasonable enough that we were able to get two rooms, side by side. It was much more comfortable this way. The food was fantastic… our breakfasts were lovely, and our dinner up on the top floor terrace was one of our best in Morocco! We also appreciated being able to leave most of our luggage at the Riad while we were on our desert tour. It's a family-run inn, so everyone was comfortable with having our boys around, which was nice. Our only hiccup was our airport pick-up was a no-show. Since this was our first trip to Morocco and it was late, we weren’t really comfortable trying to make our way to the Riad on our own. We ended up waiting about an hour for a driver to come. But, once we were on our way, all was fine. The Riad is located in the Medina, about 10 to 15 minute walk to the central area. You’ll need a good map – because it’s pretty easy to get lost! It’s a wonderful inn, you won’t go wrong with Riad Tamarrakecht.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
100
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

An absolute pleasure to visit Riad Tamarrakecht. The family who run it were so friendly and helpful, accommodating our group of 4 adults and 6 children at short notice. The streets to the Riad, and even its front door are deceptive and once inside you can forget about the heat and chaos of the medina. The rooms are cool and clean, and the roof terrace is wonderful. Yes, this is not as close to the main sqaure as others, but it's not far and you will experience the everyday life in the medina on your way to and from the Riad. A big thank you to Sara, Fatima and Mukhtar (apologies for the spelling) for being so friendly and rescuing us when we got lost. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Riad! The family who runs the Riad is exceptionally friendly, helpful and kind. They were so welcoming and really wonderful with us and, in particular, with our 4 month old son. The food was delicious and they accommodated by food issues, the rooms were impeccable and cool even with the intense heat. The atmosphere was really relaxing and we would go back without hesitation. The only negative was the transportation to the Riad. Given the difficulty getting to the Riad, I'd recommend you ask them to pick you up at the airport or train station, because if you haven't been there, it would be really hard to find. However, the people who picked us up were not the friendliest and the price was kind of high in comparison with taxis, etc. We had planned to take a taxi on the way out but the owner offered to drive us himself. All in all, it was a very great stay and we would recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this riad for 3 nights and really loved the place. The staff, food and rooms are amazing! The location is perfect. About 10-15 minutes walk to the main square. You will recieve a handwritten map from one of the family members. Pay attention to the directions and you will easily find your way through the maze in the medina. We also recommend that you make use of the airport-transfer offered by the riad as it will be difficult to locate the first time.

If we are going back to marrakesh we will most definitely stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Location not everyone's choice. Suited my needs perfectly. Away from the mayhem of the square. Safe walk about fifteen mins through traditional part of the city. If you want to see the real Marrakech then stay here. Great accomadation and food and hospitality. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Highlight of this Riad is the rooftop terrace. Awesome. Owners very helpful and friendly. Recommend trip to Atlas Mountains, if going again would stay two days in mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolding
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our Family had an outstanding week at Riad Tamarrakecht.
This Family owned Riad is beautifull, fantastic rooms, exquisit service in all manners and is placed in the midle off the Medina.
U will never forget a stay there and the lovely Family who runs the Riad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The family that runs this Riad made us feel very welcome. The mint tea and sweet treats when we arrived allowed us to relax after our travels. Very helpful with directions, advice navigating the medina, and arranging transportation to the airport. Nicely decorated. A wonderful breakfast is included. We chose to eat our dinners here - a good variety on the menu and wonderful food and service. We would highly recommend this small family-run hotel to anyone traveling to Marrakech.

Room Tip: No elevator so be sure to specify a main floor room if stairs is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.