We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Riad in the real Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Save Saved
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful Riad in the real Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this Riad for 5 nights in May 2013
The staff at the Riad organised an airport transfer and the taxi took us to the gates of the old medina where we were met by Sara from who walked us to the Riad.

This was handy as we never would have found the place on our own. It's tucked away in a back street in the heart of the old medina about a 10 minute walk from the main square.

The Riad is beautiful , an absolute gem, we were treated wonderfully through our whole stay and it felt like nothing was too much trouble, Sara organised a trip to the waterfalls and our bus tickets to Agadir for when we left.

Breakfast each morning was presented wonderfully on a stunning roof terrace and the food filled you up for a day exploring Marrakech.

The rooms are very beautifully decorated and very quiet.

If we were to ever stay in Marrakech again this place would be the top of our list.

A much more genuine feel than the hotels in the new town, a must stay if you want a real Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
101
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I don’t think we could have been better taken care of if we had stayed at my mothers. Sara and her family are so warm, welcoming and attentive. There was nothing too much, too late, or too difficult for her or her family to accommodate. There were four of us staying at the Riad and upon our arrival there was mint tea and deserts for us to just sit back and relax for a moment. It is a bit of a culture shock, and as we walked through the Medina for the first time I thought…Oh my goodness, where have I booked us. There were hanging meats, chicken parts and other undetermined delicacies and the streets were filled with people and activity. So we were happy to be led to our Riad and sat down for a cup of tea. It was hot and our first thought was hot tea? But it was just what we needed and we also didn’t feel so hot afterwards.

Sara took care of tipping the boys that had carried our luggage on a cart through the Medina since only cars are allowed to a certain point. Jalil took care of arranging for the boys (see my review “Morocco Unplugged-Day Tours”) needless to say, by the time we got to our Riad we were tired from our overseas flight and a little dazed and confused…Sara took care of everything.

Our rooms were AMAZING! Just like the photos and they were a good size with a good size bathroom as well. The water was always hot and the pressure was always good and the air conditioner was quiet and worked well. Just a word of note, the shower drain in the Bab Ighli room has an odor. Given the Riad is located in the oldest part of the Medina, it’s to be expected. I had read other reviews commenting on the smell from the drain. All we did was cut a piece of plastic bag and put it over the shower drain when we were not using it and didn’t smell a thing…so not a problem after all.

We ate most of our meals at the Riad in the evening and of course each morning since breakfast is included in the rate, which by the way, breakfast was always different. We never once had a bad meal or a course where we were like….ugh, no thanks….EVERY course… and just to warn you…there are 3 to 4 courses to each dinner meal and everyone as delicious as the next. Sara’s mom is the BEST COOK! We ate in other establishments and only one was on parr with Sara’s mother. I did see her mother and stopped to give her a great big hug and kiss for all the fantastic meals she was preparing for us. I had left the meal planning up to Sara, I just instructed her that we wanted wine and beer with our meals, what time they should be served and left the rest to her and also that one person in our party was vegetarian.

Everything was so perfect. The beds were very comfortable, I slept comfortably and like a log. The time we spent upstairs on the roof was amazing too, we loved the cats that run and play around and named one “Maynard”, he was so clumsy …he fell three stories into the pool one morning causing such a ruckus! I will never forget it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Tamarrakecht and it isn’t much of a walk to the front gate where you can get a taxi, but you need to be careful, you are sharing the walkways with motorbikes, and bikes and other people. If anything, this was the most annoying, I even got hit by a child on a bike way too big for him to manage, another of our group got hit by a motorbike, nothing serious, we didn’t get knocked down, just a bump and a bruise.

I thought the Riad was placed just far enough away from the souk, just close enough to the main gate and pretty center to wherever we wanted to go. Sara and her family did an amazing job making sure we were always taken care of and happy whether it was for an early morning breakfast or a late night dinner and hookah, they were always happy to accommodate. Her handsome father could only communicate in French but Sara and her brother were always on hand so there was never a problem. Thanks Sara’s Dad for the champagne on our last night, it was very good as was everything else. Don’t hesitate to book this Riad, you will be taken care of like family. If we ever come back, we are staying at this Riad.

A few things to note: we were told that we could pay with a credit card for our meals at the end of our stay, but when they tried to run our American credit cards, they wouldn’t go through, there is a special square on the front of UK cards that American credit cards don’t have. Unfortunately, we were not able to tip Sara and her family like we had wanted since we had just enough Dirham and Euros left to get to our next destination and it was late and we were already in bed when the knock came that the card wouldn’t work. Thank goodness I had put away a few extra Euros and we were able to pay our bill. Sorry Sara, you deserved a great big tip for all your hard work, we felt really bad but will know better next time. Also our American credit cards worked in other places so the one the Riad had access to, which was a neighboring Riad must have just been for UK cards. We also chose to pay our Riad bill our first day which we paid in Euros…but you would think since they already had our money the service might not be all that…well, it was perfect never faltering from beginning to end. Take Dirhams for shopping, if you pay in Euros, they will give you change in Dirhams…exchange will not be right and you will lose money. Take tennis shoes, the streets are cobbled and pretty dirty, if you wear open sandals, your feet will be disgusting by the end of the day…so will your pretty sandals. also, there is no lift so you will have to climb stairs, but it's not bad. Sara will give you a map and explain the location which is very helpful.
Sara and family, we will always remember our wonderful experience with you. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Atmospheric Riad in the heart of the Medina. Family run with Sarah, her brother and the parents running the business. Very welcoming and helpful to provide directions to discover the Medina and the rest of Marrakech. Rooms are spacious, finely decorated with Moroccan furniture. Wonderful terrace on top of the Riad for breakfasts with the view on the medina's roofs.

If you arrive there for the first time give a call and ask for either Sarah or her brother to come and pick you up.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent a wonderful 4 nights at riad tamarrkecht. Both sara and mukhtar were extremely friendly and helpful and saras map was invaluable. We stayed in the Bab El Jhid suite which was lovely and spacious and comfortable. We ate twice at the riad and the food was very good and eating on the beautiful roof terrace was peaceful and a welcome break from marrakrch town. The breakfasts were v good. If we return to marrakech we would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the Bab El Jhdid suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a lovely 5 days at this Riad. Sara was especially helpful drawing us a map and giving us a 'welcome talk' on our arrival. Do take advantage of the airport transfer on offer! We stayed in the BAB EL JDID suite-a stunning room and I think the largest one. The decor was lovely, the bed extremely comfortable and a lovely bathroom. We had fresh fruit in our room. The breakfast is lovely and eating on the terrace was a real treat. We were made to feel very welcome and it was a very relaxing environment especially after the busy Medina. Like previous reviewers have said it is a 10-15 walk to the main square so Sara's map was very helpful. Thank you to all the family especially Sara and Muhktar. It was also an opportunity for me to practice my 'school girl 'French!

Room Tip: The Bab El JDid suite was lovely and we would recommend it! it seemed quite a lot bigger than some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had the most amazing experience in Marrakech in this absolutely beautiful riad! The hosts were fantastic and we felt safe and really well looked after during all our stay.
The daughter of the family Sarah does an amazing job at the front desk. She was really friendly and always happy to give advice with a smile

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had the most amazing experience in Marrakech in this absolutely beautiful riad! The hosts were fantastic and we felt safe and really well looked after during all our stay. The daughter of the family Sarah does an amazing job at the front desk. She was really friendly and always happy to give advice with a smile to all guests, as her brother Muhktar was also. Our room was a ground floor suite, which was clean and very tastefully decorated, but lacked natural light. The breakfasts were some of the best continental style breakfasts we have ever had in our travels and the dinner we had in the riad was just DELICIOUS, cooked by the mum of the family! We booked transfers directly with them, which we found really useful as we did not have to worry finding the riad when first arrived. Lastly, we found the location of the riad really convenient, close to the gate where you can take a taxi anywhere in the city and 15-20 minutes walk to the main square. Overall, our experience in this riad - oasis in the crazy old city, was brilliant and we would definitely recommend booking to everyone! THANK YOU Sarah, Muhktar and the rest of the family for a beautiful, friendly, authentic Moroccan experience! D&A(Mekky)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;