We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tamarrakecht

Save Saved
You added Riad Tamarrakecht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Tamarrakecht
132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Larache, Morocco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Awesome vacation in this beautiful Riad! mohammed and his son were so nice and thoughtful we felt like we were at home!! Whenever we needed help mohammed was there for us and made our stay great! Very clean and every morning a nice breackfast with fresh juice. Very calm and nice place to be after a impressive day in the medina!

Room Tip: the best riad in the world! you should visit it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
105
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed in this family-run Riad for two days and had the most wonderful experience. Without exaggerating, this was one of the best places we have stayed at. Although in the center of crazy medina, inside it was a peaceful, clean and quiet. You could only hear the water fountain and mellow arabic music. On entering we were welcomed with the typical tea and delicious sweets. Our room was spacious, had amazing bathroom and was designed with great taste. The whole Riad looked like someone really took their time designing every single piece of it. On the top of the roof there was very nice terrace, where we were served delicious lunch we ordered extra from the owner's wife. The breakfast were so huge, they could easily feed more than just a couple :) There were various types of sweets, pastries, juice, teas, fruits etc.

The only disadvantage was that the owner did not speak English, but he always called for his son to translate. The son was very helpful - he personally took us to the main square, organized hammam or taxis for us.

I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had the room in the first level with red bathroom and sky bed. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I don't think I have given 5 stars before but I have no hesitation in doing so for this charming little riad. In that I pretty much echo what others have said, so obviously they are maintaining their standards. Nothing seems too much trouble for the family who own it. English and French are both spoken, breakfast and mint tea come when you want them, there's a comfortable roof terrace, bus tickets are bought for you.

Rooms are a decent size with great decor, very comfortable king size beds, a/c (heats in winter), good showers with plenty of hot water. It's a 15 minute walk from the main square but they will draw you a map and also direct you anywhere you want to go.

This won't suit you if you want 5 star luxury, pool, fitness centre etc, but if you want peace and quiet and excellent attentive service, it's perfect.

You don't have a snowball's chance in hell in finding it, so do accept their offer of collecting you from the airport for 8 euros a head. If you really want to do it yourself, take a taxi to Bab Aylens, walk through the gate into the Medina, fork right at the first mosque, carry on for 100m and turn left when you can see down an alley 20m to a wall with CH written on it about. Left again at CH and it's the doorway on the right before the arch.

Hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Out of season, they are still an attentive riad with good size rooms and great breakfasts! The walk into town is a reasonable distance but for this you do get a bit of peace and quiet away from the bustle of the square. The only real downside is that in dec it is a bit chilly, and the heaters only blow hot air into their built-in box and not into the room!

Best to stay when it's warm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This riad is a great place. The rooms are really clean and nice design. The family that run this place are very nice and welcoming. I could not recommend this place more. I will for sure stay here again. A great escape from the busy square of Marrakesh!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

After a day spent in the chaos and noise of the Marrakech medina there is nothing better than going back to an oasis of peace where people are warm, friendly and make you feel at home.
Riad Tamarrakecht is a beatiful little guesthouse with amazing rooms where you can really feel like a princess or like in 1001 nights :)
Every decoration and detail of the Riad and its rooms are simply fantastic and the breakfast is almost like a ritual. Every day you get different kinds of bread, Moroccan-style crepes, eggs or fruits, jams, honey, coffe, fresh orange juice etc. Plan at least half an hour for breakfast in order to enjoy it at its best, it would be a shame not to do so.
The first welcome you get in the Riad is also lovely, with some mint tea and pastries, a very detailed map of Marrakech and its medina along with very clear explanations (marked with a highlighter on the map :) ) to find your way from the Riad and back...thanks to this never got lost in the medina :) The Riad also offers excursions. I had already booked mine before booking here at different agencies, so I am not able to judge on the quality, but I think it is great that such service is also on offer.
Rooms are very comfortable and extremely clean.
You can also have lunch and dinner there and the quality is fantastic. There is a beautiful roof terrace where you can choose to have your meals if you wish to do so.
Location is great: it is quieter than in other parts of the medina and it takes only 20-25 minutes on foot to get to Jem El Fnaa. If you need a taxi you can walk to Bab Aylen, a gate at less than 10 minutes from the Riad.
I would definitely recommend this Riad!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mestre, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great place to stay. You' re welcomed by Sarah in a perfect english and the riad is 10 min. walking from the grand place. The rooms are spacious and clean , the breakfast served also on the terrace is gorgeous. The staff is helpfull and ready for information. If we came back to Marrakech we'd definitly stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tamarrakecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tamarrakecht

Address: 132 Derb Aghrab Bab Aylen | 132 Derb A ghrab Bab Aylen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tamarrakecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tamarrakecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.