We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alili

Save Saved
You added Riad Alili to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Alili
Derb Sidi Ahmed ou Moussa no8, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 1,055 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have just returned from spending 5 days at Riad Alili. From the moment you step through the front door, the service is 5* all the way. From the designer bathroom products of shampoo, body wash and body lotion, you select the scent and they create the products for your stay. A log fire was lit each night. The breakfasts were amazing, fresh fruit juice, fruit salad, yoghurt, breads, cake, pancakes, omelette, teas and coffee and truly super way to start off each day. Dinner was again superb. All the staff were attentive, friendly and provided a first class service. A big thank you to Yousef the manager who runs a great establishment, Tariq who went the extra mile when i was feeling poorly, Fatima for her fab cooking skills and the wonderful girl who's name i can't remember who served our breakfasts each morningl A complimentary gift of a baby tagine with soap just completed the most perfect 5 day stay at the Alili. We would most definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christophe g, Propriétaire at Riad Alili, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Jane,
I'm missing words to thank you for the quality of the comment you made on tripadvisor.
For sure it will be a great help for us especially coming from a British citizen... It is a great recognition for us all.
I love to read how much you enjoy our Breakfast. We try as much as we can to give you a wide choice of Moroccan culture and food.
Thank you again on behalf of all the team.
Best regards
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
88
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Riad Alili is literally paradise in the middle of the madness of Marrakech. What makes this place so special is not the beautiful building, luxurious rooms or the amazing food but the staff. They went out of their way to make us feel like royalty. I left this holiday and genuinely felt sad to leave Yousef who went beyond the call of duty to make our stay so perfect.

A must, is a delicious dinner at the Riad and the breakfasts on the terrace were just the perfect start to the day. The best food we had in Marrakech and at a fraction of the price of everywhere else.

Wonderful plunge pool, gorgeous rooms, delicious food and bang in the centre! What else could you ask for!

This place is heaven....

Room Tip: Ground floor suites are lush!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have just returned from an amazing break in Marrakech and we were lucky enough to discover this place through trip advisor and it did not disappoint. From the moment we walked through the doors and out in to the central courtyard/ pool area we new we had found a little gem of a place, the staff greeted us and showed us to our room the suite alili, a beautiful ground floor room with a breath taking bathroom a giant bed and seating area. after we had unpacked we were treated by some traditional entertainment put on for one of the other guests ( a birthday ) with music and belly dancers and all the guests and staff clapping and singing we new we really had arrived in morocco. We were invited to join everybody in a large meal with amazing food and wine and all the other guests telling us about the benefits of the riad, yusef ( sorry if that is misspelled) was an absolute gent and he helped us throughout are stay from booking taxis and recommending tourist locations.

From the first to last minute all the staff were excellent especially tariq ( also not sure that is spelled right ) they were attentive but never hassling and the service was impeccable. They give you a mobile phone to gain entry to the riad but we used it for various calls for help when we had language problems as we are terrible at French. They helped with laundry (possibly the quickest return ever, from handed over to ironed and back in the room 1hr) to walking us to meet a tour guide for strip booked through them.
A genuine oasis of tranquility in such hot vibrant place. We will return and be telling anyone heading to Marrakech it's the place to go, ten minutes from the main square and the souks we felt safe, supported and relaxed thanks to them. Big thanks to the riad alili people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Without question, Riad Alili was the best hotel experience I've had. The place is beautiful. The pool was perfect, the terraces were relaxing, and the suite was beyond special. It's really just the ideal retreat after a day in the craziness that is Marrakech.

What really sets the Riad apart though is the hospitality. Christophe and his team made us feel incredibly welcome. It felt like staying with friends. They showed us the sights, served amazing food, and took care of every conceivable need. All staff constantly went above and beyond. It was like nothing I've ever experienced.

We were the first Canadians to stay and we'll make sure we're not the last. If you're in Marrakech don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having gone for business I had no idea what to expect. I was delivered from the airport via taxi straight into the centre of Bab Doukkala which is a market road that follows a Souk all the way into the main square of the Medina (old town). The weather was sunny and hot when we got there so I got to see the local people before heading into the Riad.

Riad Alili was beautiful. We were greeted by the friendly family that run the Riad & the porters whom some were local Moroccans. They couldn't have been nicer people. They provided food & drink upon arrival. (Moroccan tea which was lovely). My room was the SUITE STRELITZIA and my it was cosy and inviting little space. I loved the fireplace and the beautiful bathroom.

Strelitza is directly outside the jacuzzi and pool which were definately taken advantage of during my visit.

I cannot recommend such a slice of paradise such as this if you come to Marrakech/Morocco for a holiday, work trip or anything. The people were incredible and even waved us off when we had to leave. I wish all of them the best of luck with their business in the future. I would love to come back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIAD_ALILI, Propriétaire at Riad Alili, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ben,
I would like to thank you for your great comment.
It shows that we succeeded in "our mission" : To treat you as our guest. You were lovely people and all the team enjoyed taking care of you.
We hope to see you soon and keep in mind that Morocco is a beautiful spot for photography.
Best regards
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

TheRiad is situated between the Souk and the Gardens Majorelle which makes it perfect for exploring thé sights and smells of Old Marrakech and beyond. The service and staff are beyond reproach with sumptuous breakfasts and wonderful Moroccan dishes to savour I have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful Riad and the very friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Alili riad, opened their doors making us feel at home. the breakfasts were delicious, as well as the rest of the foods tested, always taking care of datelles of dishes, flavors and attention.

The staff performed an excellent job so you're always comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alili

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed ou Moussa no8, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,055 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Riad fully restored with 5 suites, 2 rooms Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Hammam, massages, Dining room and a salon marocain. Two large terraces where you can enjoy the legendary Marrakech Weather. Madiha can teach you Marocan cooking and you can enjoy a chicha at night on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Alili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.