We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, beautiful riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Vanilla sma

Save Saved
You added Riad Vanilla sma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Vanilla sma
166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I went on a study abroad trip and was lucky enough to stay at Riad Vanilla Sma for 3 days in May. It was my first time in Morocco this was the first place on our itinerary. It was a perfect introduction to Marrakesh. The riad is located about 5-6 minutes past Jemaa el Fna, the main square. The staff was accommodating; they arranged for us to go on a walking tour of Marrakesh and even assisted in booking our class a visit to the hammam (bathhouse).

The roof top terrace was wonderful; there are a few lounge chairs and a nice tables with benches and pillows. Each morning, the gracious staff served us breakfast on the terrace. The breakfast was probably my favorite meal during our stay. We had pistachio yogurt, fruit, omelets, croissants, coffee and orange juice. The orange juice was fresh squeezed and unbelievable.

The rooms were very clean and modern. Each has an AC unit too, which was nice during the day. My bathroom was really fantastic - there was a giant, deep tub that was perfect for relaxation. The riad is down one of the side streets, so it was very quiet and peaceful, but only a minutes walk to the souks and shopping!

I would recommend this riad for family, friends, and couples. I hope to visit again. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
75
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My mother and I very much enjoyed our stay at Riad Vanialla sma - our first introduction to Marrakesh and Morocco. Great modern tasteful interior, close to the market square, delicious breakfasts and friendly staff. We also enjoyed our private hammam, the only one we experienced, in the privacy of the house and it was a unique experience. Congratulations to the owner on creating such a welcoming environment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had the most wonderful honeymoon here. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The riad was beautiful and the perfect private place to retire for some peace and quiet from the surrounding busy streets.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely time. The riad was very nice and modern with a hint of Moroccan theme. The location of the riad was excellent. The riad is located 5 mins from the square and was very convenient.

The breakfast was very delicious and varied everyday.

Redwin was the riad manager whilst our stay and he was awesome. He was very kind, helpful and approachable. Redwin spoke excellent English for those who speak limited french. The maids were great too.

Thank you for a lovely stay.



Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfar haoranim
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

we stay 3 nights at jamila suit in this amaizing rird.
the perfect location(less the 5 min walk to the squre),the brekfest,the room& most of all the service and hospitality of nelly and her staff.
many thanks for all !
udi& tal

Room Tip: the jamila suit is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Fantastic food. The breakfasts were excellent and the evening meal tagines and salads different each night and all delicious. Hammam and massage were definately worth having. Location ideal for the souks and square.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay in this beautiful riad! As it was our first time to Marrakech and Morocco, we didn't know what to expect. We had booked the airport transfer through Nelly herself, and were surprised to be taken in a smart Mercedes by a smartly dressed man. After arriving at the Medina - a porter took us down the winding and crazily confusing streets and we arrived at a door which we soon found out to be our accommodation for the 4 nights.

Redouan made us feel so welcome! He sat us down and brought some mint tea and biscuits - and showed us a map circling all the sights and restaurants that he recommended - very much appreciated!

As we were arriving at 8pm we booked for dinner at the riad, as there was noone else we had a romantic dinner for two - with salads, samosas, bread, tagine and a strawberry pudding - it was delicious!

We stayed in the Kamar room - it was perfect for the two of us - with a comfortable bed and duvet.

The breakfasts were amazing and varied over the four days! Even when we wanted to leave earlier than the designated 8:30-10:30 slot - Redouan accommodated this and it seemed like nothing was a problem for them.

Nelly, the owner, made the stay even more perfect - always allowing time to talk to her guests and always full of recommendations for restaurants and sights. This riad would be nothing without its friendly staff and calm environment.

Thank you for an unforgettable experience. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Vanilla sma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vanilla sma

Address: 166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has been renovated with passion, respect to authenticity into a peaceful, supremely comfortable, elegant oasis.Our discreet staff will be on hand at all the time to assist you, to make your stay unforgettable perfect in every way.We are just a five minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Vanilla sma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Vanilla sma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.