We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Vanilla sma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Vanilla sma to your Saves list
Riad Vanilla sma
166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 1,079 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Very beautiful B&B. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean, and the staffs very friendly. We have also stayed in other places during our visit, but this one has got the best breakfast:]

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
82
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The best place to stay in Marrakesh! Nelly's team with Redouan and the ladies were so lovely. The breakfasts are delicious and vary every day - we enjoyed the roof terrace so much. The two cook ladies made our stay unforgettable. We also received good tips for restaurants and places to visit right in the beginning from Redouan which helped us to find all places very quickly. The house is decorated with so much love. There are a lot of details with all the candles everywhere. The place is perfect, calm but in the middle of the city. We definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We liked everything about this riad, our room was just the right size, bed was comfortable, had a nice duvet on it, and the pillows were to my liking, which doesn't happen very often, so much so that I normally carry my own, but didn't on this occasion. There is also a safe, which is useful, but I really didn't feel like anything would go missing. The airport transfer is a must and should be taken advantage of, the driver who picked us up was very smart, had a nice 4x4 and spoke good English (my girlfriend thought we were being kidnapped, ha ha). We also had lunch when we arrived, which was spot on.

Staying on the subject of food, the breakfasts are great, and change every day, we had pancakes, croissants, bread, fresh fruit, yogurt (my favourite was pistachio), cakes, coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, and eggs (cooked however you desire). The thing that makes this riad very special though, is the owner, Nelly, and her staff, who were all very smiley and really made us feel at home. Nelly spent lots of time with us when we arrived, providing us with a great map, with all of the places we should see and restaurants we should eat at marked on there, information that made our visit all the more enjoyable, she even came to see us off in Jemaa el-Fna square, giving us hugs before we got into our taxi. Marrakech wasn't just a holiday, it was an experience, it's a crazy, busy place, that you really need to be prepared for, and was something very different for us.

We stayed at this riad for six nights, which I think was a bit too long, not because we experienced any problems with the accommodation itself, we just found walking through the souks and the main square a little too stressful at times. My advice to other travelers would be that if you want to experience life in the heart of Marrkech, but also want some time to relax by a pool and make the most of the weather, you should stay in this riad for a few nights then check in to a hotel with a pool for a couple of days to round off you trip. We went to the Sofitel for lunch on our last day (recommended by Nelly), and had an AMAZING lunch, followed by a few hours by the pool, a great memory to take with us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Kamar' room and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend with 6 friends celebrating my 30th birthday! What a fantastic weekend it was and Riad Vanilla ' Sma made it even more memorable! I've stayed in other Riad's in Medina and this one is by far the best! I recommend you come stay here to make the most of your experience in Marrakech. It has a calming , tranquil , relaxing feel about the place with a very chic and elegant design! The rooms are extremely comfortable as well. But what makes this place is how welcome you feel by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. It feels like you're staying in a friends house without feeling over imposed upon! Nelly the owner is an absolutely lovely woman. Extremely helpful and insightful and will point you in the direction of all the best restaurants, souks , cultural landmarks. I recommend booking in the hamman package at the Riad. The hamman and the massage are first class which comes with a lovely lunch afterwards! So with the close proximity to the square , the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff , the luxury and tranquility of the Riad. This all makes it by far the best value and best Riad in Marrakech! Can't wait to come back later in the year...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My friends and I went to stay at Riad Vanilla sma last weekend. Arriving in the busy hustle of the main market we were amazed at the peaceful, tranquil atmosphere of Riad Vanilla. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by exceptional staff and a nice traditional tea. The rooms are very beautiful and Nelly was most helpful and incredibly friendly. She took her time to tell us all about Marrakech and the do's and dont's. She made they stay for us very relaxing and made you feel part of a family. Definitely will be visiting again! There is a reason why this Riad has brilliant ratings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We just got back from a 3 day trip to Marrakech - we blindly booked this Riad and it was fabulous! Nelly & staff were top notch - they took care of everything from airport transport, to setting up a hamam @ the riad & (most important) a very detailed tutorial of the city once we checked in. It is a little confusing to find the place off the bat so I'd recommend having them set it up. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

Room Tip: Not sure if all the rooms are similar but heads up - there wasn't a door b/w the room and the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is beauty and luxury at a great price. We cannot praise this riad enough, everything about our stay here in early December was pure pleasure: the warm welcome, the central location, the relaxing atmosphere, the beautiful chic room, the food, the massage, and for me, the perfect mattress for my back problem! Nothing was too much trouble for the charming staff. We were very sad to leave after 5 days but look forward to going back to this exquisite place in the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Vanilla sma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vanilla sma

Address: 166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has been renovated with passion, respect to authenticity into a peaceful, supremely comfortable, elegant oasis.Our discreet staff will be on hand at all the time to assist you, to make your stay unforgettable perfect in every way.We are just a five minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Vanilla sma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Vanilla sma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.