We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Riad in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Vanilla sma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Vanilla sma to your Saves list
Riad Vanilla sma
166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 1,081 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Riad in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend with 6 friends celebrating my 30th birthday! What a fantastic weekend it was and Riad Vanilla ' Sma made it even more memorable! I've stayed in other Riad's in Medina and this one is by far the best! I recommend you come stay here to make the most of your experience in Marrakech. It has a calming , tranquil , relaxing feel about the place with a very chic and elegant design! The rooms are extremely comfortable as well. But what makes this place is how welcome you feel by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. It feels like you're staying in a friends house without feeling over imposed upon! Nelly the owner is an absolutely lovely woman. Extremely helpful and insightful and will point you in the direction of all the best restaurants, souks , cultural landmarks. I recommend booking in the hamman package at the Riad. The hamman and the massage are first class which comes with a lovely lunch afterwards! So with the close proximity to the square , the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff , the luxury and tranquility of the Riad. This all makes it by far the best value and best Riad in Marrakech! Can't wait to come back later in the year...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
83
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My friends and I went to stay at Riad Vanilla sma last weekend. Arriving in the busy hustle of the main market we were amazed at the peaceful, tranquil atmosphere of Riad Vanilla. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by exceptional staff and a nice traditional tea. The rooms are very beautiful and Nelly was most helpful and incredibly friendly. She took her time to tell us all about Marrakech and the do's and dont's. She made they stay for us very relaxing and made you feel part of a family. Definitely will be visiting again! There is a reason why this Riad has brilliant ratings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We just got back from a 3 day trip to Marrakech - we blindly booked this Riad and it was fabulous! Nelly & staff were top notch - they took care of everything from airport transport, to setting up a hamam @ the riad & (most important) a very detailed tutorial of the city once we checked in. It is a little confusing to find the place off the bat so I'd recommend having them set it up. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

Room Tip: Not sure if all the rooms are similar but heads up - there wasn't a door b/w the room and the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is beauty and luxury at a great price. We cannot praise this riad enough, everything about our stay here in early December was pure pleasure: the warm welcome, the central location, the relaxing atmosphere, the beautiful chic room, the food, the massage, and for me, the perfect mattress for my back problem! Nothing was too much trouble for the charming staff. We were very sad to leave after 5 days but look forward to going back to this exquisite place in the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Location: Safe and convenient location. Nearly all major sights are within walk distance. There are handle of restaurants nearby.
Design: Very Chic decor. Spacious bathroom. Love the terrace.
Service: Nelly and staffs were so kind and cared us very well. They pay attention to every details.
Meal: Huge breakfast. Dinner is also worth to have a try!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We recently stayed at Riad Vanilla Sma for a couple of days. It turned out to be the most fantastic experience. We found this Riad totally amazing! Everything from the wonderful host, the amazing staff, great and professional service, beautiful and clean big room, great location (4min walk to Jemaa El Fna, and 1min to the Souk), fantastic breakfast (wide selection) on the terrace which will be served whenever you wake up.
After a hectic day in the Souk it is very delightful to come back to the Riad to relax and enjoy the amazing atmosphere.
We highly recommend the hotel pick up service at the airport since it can be quite tricky to find your way the first time.
If you consider to stay in a Riad while in Marrakech, this is the place to stay at.
We will absolutely come back "home" again!
See you soon Nelly, Redouan, Khadija and Sultana.
Thank you for everything!
Bimal & Charlotta

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I contacted Riad Vanilla sma at short notice to visit Marrakech during L'aid. Thanks to Nelly I was able to visit Marrakech during this very busy time. The Riad is very nicely appointed and the staff very friendly and helpful
The hospitality was so good and I had such a nice time that I stayed again in December


The main square is only a short walk through a nice neighbourhood and with a few land marks given by the staff I was able to find my way through the markets


I will recommend the Riad Vanilla sma to anyone who visits Marrakech

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed with a different theme in each. I don't think it would m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Vanilla sma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vanilla sma

Address: 166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,081 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has been renovated with passion, respect to authenticity into a peaceful, supremely comfortable, elegant oasis.Our discreet staff will be on hand at all the time to assist you, to make your stay unforgettable perfect in every way.We are just a five minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Vanilla sma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Vanilla sma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.