We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks Red one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Vanilla sma

Save Saved
You added Riad Vanilla sma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Vanilla sma
166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Skoura, Maroc
1 review
“thanks Red one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Marrakech was our first halt in a trip of one week in Morocco ,we passed two nights in Riad Vanilla Sma .the staff is so friendly . Redouan made us feel like we were his guests during our stay , tea and cookies upon arrival.
The food was fresh and good, and the smells from the kitchen! Fantastic.The rooms are done well , which lends the Riad a lot of character. We were very satisfied with this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
70
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The decor and style of this Riad is wonderful.... Traditional yet modern and so much attention to detail. The owner Nelly is very knowledgable about the area and offered us little tips about good bars and restaurants which were very useful.
Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

When a place is as incredibly good as the Vanilla Sma, you doubt between sharing it with others or just keep it for yourself, but in this case I think all other tourists should know about this fanstastic place and Nelly (owner) really deserves a great opinion about her place.
Perfectluy situated (just 5 min from Jemma el Fnaa) but in a very quiet place with no problems of noise. Lovely decorated with the charm of an authentic ancient riad, but new construction and fully refurbished so you can enjoy all the advantages of a comfortable modern house and avoid the usual problems of other riads in Marrakech (such as bad smells or lack of haeting, hot water, etc). Incredible service from all the people there (not just employees but hosts), and specially form Nelly, the best host I have ever had. But, please, do not tell anyone! shhhh :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had fabulous 10 days in Marrakech in this wonderful Riad.
All staff members are very helpful and friendly. Excellent and huge breakfast to begin the day.
Situated in a quiet road of the medina, our room was very clean and nicely decorated.
I will be back most probably in july, august.
Thank you again to Nelly, Redouane and Sultana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We live here in Morocco and have traveled quite a bit throughout the country. I have to say, this is my favorite Riad in all of Morocco. Nelly and Redouan took great care of us. We can't wait to return! I'm telling all my friends that if they go to Marrakech, they have to stay here. It's a great little retreat, close enough to the square but in a smaller more residential area. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Marrakech!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nellie and her team have created a comfortable, relaxing environment in this beautiful riad. My family recently stayed for three nights...exploring by day and returning to this sanctuary as suited our fancy. The decor is what I would call a modern day Moroccan style. Classy elements of Moroccan life that were not "cheesy" or overdone carefully existing alongside amenities that travelers from far places would hope to find. The place was absolutely spotless. The food was excellent and obviously chosen and prepared with care for the guests in mind. Our bath had AMAZING water pressure--no small thing. And, also no small thing--the riad always smelled good, which could not always be said about the environs outside. Nellie is a delight, and her side kick Reduon (sp?) always smiled and wanted to attend to any request we had. Thank you so much for making our visit to Marrakech so pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Numbers don't lie - look at these ratings. Nelly and crew at Riad Vanilla sma will take care of just about anything for you. Nelly knows just about everything from how to dress, to where to go for amazing food, what areas to avoid, and her staff knows how to cook incredibly well. She took care of all of our cabs, cart men to walk us to tour guides so we didn't get lost, organizing tours based on experience, hamamms (she has pros who come in house), dinners, maps, prices to pay at souks, yadda yadda. Her service and care for guests alone is enough of a reason to stay. Each room is unique and custom designed by Nelly. She offers a fully decked out terrace, amazing bathrooms, the best tea anytime you want it, the friendliest staff in Africa. Being an American and Aussie, she related very well and has great stories. Save yourself the time, stop researching, and book. If Nelly is all booked, her recommendations on other places to stay would also be top notch as she is very well connected and trustworthy.

Room Tip: She has just about anything you will need already in the room. All of the rooms have their own perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Vanilla sma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vanilla sma

Address: 166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has been renovated with passion, respect to authenticity into a peaceful, supremely comfortable, elegant oasis.Our discreet staff will be on hand at all the time to assist you, to make your stay unforgettable perfect in every way.We are just a five minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Vanilla sma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Vanilla sma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.