We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved loved loved this riad!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Vanilla sma

Save Saved
You added Riad Vanilla sma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Vanilla sma
166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #958 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved loved loved this riad!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We live here in Morocco and have traveled quite a bit throughout the country. I have to say, this is my favorite Riad in all of Morocco. Nelly and Redouan took great care of us. We can't wait to return! I'm telling all my friends that if they go to Marrakech, they have to stay here. It's a great little retreat, close enough to the square but in a smaller more residential area. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Marrakech!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
75
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nellie and her team have created a comfortable, relaxing environment in this beautiful riad. My family recently stayed for three nights...exploring by day and returning to this sanctuary as suited our fancy. The decor is what I would call a modern day Moroccan style. Classy elements of Moroccan life that were not "cheesy" or overdone carefully existing alongside amenities that travelers from far places would hope to find. The place was absolutely spotless. The food was excellent and obviously chosen and prepared with care for the guests in mind. Our bath had AMAZING water pressure--no small thing. And, also no small thing--the riad always smelled good, which could not always be said about the environs outside. Nellie is a delight, and her side kick Reduon (sp?) always smiled and wanted to attend to any request we had. Thank you so much for making our visit to Marrakech so pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Numbers don't lie - look at these ratings. Nelly and crew at Riad Vanilla sma will take care of just about anything for you. Nelly knows just about everything from how to dress, to where to go for amazing food, what areas to avoid, and her staff knows how to cook incredibly well. She took care of all of our cabs, cart men to walk us to tour guides so we didn't get lost, organizing tours based on experience, hamamms (she has pros who come in house), dinners, maps, prices to pay at souks, yadda yadda. Her service and care for guests alone is enough of a reason to stay. Each room is unique and custom designed by Nelly. She offers a fully decked out terrace, amazing bathrooms, the best tea anytime you want it, the friendliest staff in Africa. Being an American and Aussie, she related very well and has great stories. Save yourself the time, stop researching, and book. If Nelly is all booked, her recommendations on other places to stay would also be top notch as she is very well connected and trustworthy.

Room Tip: She has just about anything you will need already in the room. All of the rooms have their own perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Well - it's my first time to write a review on Booking.com. I have to say it has been a great experience living in this nice, newly refurbished Riad. The location is very central - just 3 minutes walk to Jemaa El fna. The room is nice and clean. Everything is very calming in the Riad. What's more, people in the Riad are amazingly helpful. We were offered mint tea upon arrival. I was treated like with care when unfortunately caught a cold on the first day. They also helped us to find another good Riad when we decided to stay another night in Marrakech, given the Riad Vanilla is fully booked for then. Most amazingly, we had a chance to enjoy the private Hammam and massage in the Riad. I would definitely recommend this to everyone ever visit Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's been a wonderful 4-day stay at the Riad. We couldn't have hoped for more. Nelly the owner is so nice. She accommodated all our needs in all possible ways (finding us hammam masseuse at last minute, booking us taxis, finding us another Riad when our travel plan changed suddenly and nearly ended up on the street, etc.) She speaks perfect English so don't worry if your French is a bit rusty ( or a lot rusty like me). The manager Redawan has certainly gone out of his way to help us. He prepared for us shisha at whatever ridiculous hour when we felt like it. My friend Stephanie got sick and Redawan made her the special pancake for which we were all so grateful. The hotel itself is traditional Moroccan style. The rooms are private yet you get a homy feeling which is totally different from that you get when you stay at a chain hotel. Everything is customerised and prepared just for you. It is seriously a wonderful choice for your stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Rad has just recently been complete restored by Nelly the owner she and her staff are charming and we where made so welcome. It is along trip from Australia but we where soon relaxed in the beautiful Kamar (Moon) room very romantic. It was clean and the bed was excellent it is only a few minutes walk to the Medina I can totally recommend this small but fine Raid. Nelly gave us directions to place that normally tourist would not see. Hope to go back there some day.

Room Tip: Go In the cooler months of the year it can get very hot in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Riad Vanilla sma is the perfect place for Americans in search of adventure in Marrakesh. We were referred by friends in Houston about this beautiful B&B in Africa, The quality and standard provided by Mrs Nelly and her staff were beyond our expectations...Upon arriving we felt at home immediately, and very safe.The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished. The food is very tasty and the breakfast just delicious. It's so nice to be taken care of by caring people.
Thank you for everything.. One of the best place I visited in Africa!!!!

Room Tip: Room Kamar was just perfect for us. The room have a nice window and a cute sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Vanilla sma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vanilla sma

Address: 166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #958 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has been renovated with passion, respect to authenticity into a peaceful, supremely comfortable, elegant oasis.Our discreet staff will be on hand at all the time to assist you, to make your stay unforgettable perfect in every way.We are just a five minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Vanilla sma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Vanilla sma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.