We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend Riad Vanilla'sma!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Vanilla sma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Vanilla sma to your Saves list
Riad Vanilla sma
166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly recommend Riad Vanilla'sma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Fantastic experience staying here! Nelly and her staff are wonderful people, very helpful. Whether you need advice on restaurants or help arranging trips out of Marrakesh, Nelly is there to help you. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was really enjoyable and the dinner (egg tajine) that Mustafa prepared on one of the nights was excellent. The rooms and the entire riad are thoughtfully and beautifully furnished. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
82
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at Riad Vanilla sma for 2 nights on 11th and 12th of September alone. The room was quite huge which was compared with another Riad which my friend stayed at and very clean because of new! And it was very unique. Because all rooms were based on the nature of the earth. My room was "Cloud" in blue which I like. (Room had a big bathtub !) Ms Nelly, owner, was amazingly helpful and flexible for the guest. She sent answered quickly against many my inquiries and questions. Even last minutes dinner request in RIad in the late evening, she just said "OK" with smile. The chicken tagine with olives was just amazing more than I expected. They are cooking a certain and fresh one. I strongly prefer to come back to Riad Vanila sma when I travel Marrakech again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a perfect stay in this riad. We stayed 4days and 3nights in marrakech but stayed most of the time inside this riad as it was too beautiful to leave behind. ,marrakech lived up to its expectaion being chaotic, stinking hot, packed and noisy outside. But as soon as you open the door to the riad, it feels like you are saved from all the hussles of the outside world. Its was a divine retreat. Owner Nelly was very accommodating and sweet which added to experience. During our stay, we were very comfortable and relaxed and felt like home away from home.

Riad has only 6 rooms which is a bonus so it felt very private compared to larger hotels and riads.

If I get the chance to go back to Marrakech will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon suite. You'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

From the narrow medina street and un-imposing front door you might wonder what you are in for - until the door is opened with a gentle smile and greeting [ no, not Nellie !]. A cool, soothing
atmosphere greets you, created by the water pool in the courtyard and the sophisticated but
un-pretentious decor.
Comfortably seated in the groundfloor 'reception' area we were served freshly brewed mint tea
while Nellie made us feel at home and and gave us a verbal guided tour of the Riad and the surrounding area.

My wife had been ill for two days and I was suffering internal upset so we were not the most
inspiring guests! But Nellie, and her staff, for two days went out of their way to make us comfortable, catered to our every wish and served food acceptable to our delicate stomachs. She even sent out for special requests such as bananas, and late one night for hariri from a local restaurant.

Our room was spacious & comfortable with efficient air conditioning. The bath was stylish and
large with a powerful shower.
Everything was just first rate ! Definitely recommended.

As this Raid was booked for us through Alizes Travel of Casablanca, as part of an all-inclusive tour I cannot commment on 'value' [ though I rate it highly !]

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Riad Vanilla is a great place to stay. It is close to the square and a lovely oasis in the hustle of Marrakesh.
On arrival Nelly showed us exactly where to go and what to see, noted on a map, and what to avoid over a lovely cup of mint tea next to the tranquility of the indoor splash pool.
The rooms are decorated with incredible taste and immense detail.
I would recommend staying at Riad Vanilla any day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is really good choice of the accommodation in Marrakech. Very close to the main square and all touristic attraction. Nelly helps you with all your questions and wishes. Rooms are comfortable and with great design. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace and during the day you can relax in patio by small swimming pool. I highly recommend Vanilla Sma and hope that I could come back again.

Room Tip: Suites are bigger and really romantic, so great choice for couples....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We found this riad through a recommendation. We were simply wowed by the place. The riad was stunning and Nelly, the owner, was great. She was very warm and accomodating. The location is very close to the market and going back to the riad was simple and easy. We wish we could have stayed longer. The riad made our vacation memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Vanilla sma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vanilla sma

Address: 166 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has been renovated with passion, respect to authenticity into a peaceful, supremely comfortable, elegant oasis.Our discreet staff will be on hand at all the time to assist you, to make your stay unforgettable perfect in every way.We are just a five minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Vanilla sma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Vanilla sma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.