We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best riad to stay in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Snan13

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Snan13 to your Saves list
Riad Snan13
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best riad to stay in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I was initially scared of what to expect when arriving in Marrakesh but Stephan put us at ease. He was so kind and helpful. He called our tour guide the night before our tours and walked us to the meeting spot as well. He also sat down and reviewed a map with us of the area and told us to call him if we get lost. He was SO NICE. The riad itself is beautiful and VERY clean. I compared all the other riads we stayed in to Riad Snan13 and non of them could compare. Highly recommend this riad. Thanks Stephan for everything!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aneela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

A little late, but better than never!
My wife and I stayed here for a few days for our honeymoon in late October 2013.
The Riad was absolutely stunning, and a well needed calm from the busy Marrakech streets.
Everyone in the Riad was so friendly and welcomed us and the room was gorgeous - ours had a big sunken bath behind the bed!
We would definitely come back here and recommend to everyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joeylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

we stayed at this lovely riad twice, once on first arriving in Morocco and then for our last sad night before flying away
Jawad and Beatrice (Stephan's mom) welcomed us so warmly that we truly felt that we were part of the family - the airline had lost our luggage and the people at the riad could not have been more helpful with everything they could (side note - one of the other guests extremely sweetly offered us her clothes to borrow!)
1 small issue was that our room overlooked the inner courtyard, and some people came in late 1 night making a ruckus (the sound really travels and bounces off the high walls)
the rooftop terrace is a lovely retreat and the little sitting rooms off the courtyard perfect for a little reading or figuring out one's next adventure in Marrakech
on our next stay we felt like we were coming home and were leaving our family the next morning (sigh) - if ever in Marrakech, do not miss this riad!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had the luxury of spending three nights here in the "Suite Salma", booked through our travel guides. Reaching the entrance door from the dark alleyways in the medina, we were wondering what we'd see on the other side of that door. Well, it was a nice surprise! We were greeted by Jawad, who was very gracious and friendly. Two guys from Spain (Stephan and Xavier) had purchased the riad five years ago and totally renovated it. There are 6 rooms/suites. Ours was a very large suite on the second floor with 6 windows, some are balconies overlooking the courtyard below. There is a little niche with a cushion, lined with pillows, that became my hangout while using the free wifi and reading books. Our bathroom was a huge room with a very large shower at one end, two sink with very usable "ladders" to hang towels to dry upon.
The room was decorated beautifully, as was the entire riad. We ate dinner in on our first night there and had some of our best food while in Morocco. We had breakfast on the rooftop each morning. What a treat!
I would say this is one of the best stays we've ever had in all our travels.

Room Tip: Try for the Suite Salma, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthursmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a more perfect stay, from the a moment we arrived to the very sad morning we left! Stephan couldn't have been more helpful with recommendations of where to eat or visit! The breakfasts were so tasty and the night we ate at the riad the tagines were the best we had in morroco! But most importantly it was the most beautiful place we have ever stayed the riad really is an oasis from the craziness outside! Couldn't recommend more!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emilyrachael22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My partner and I stayed in the beautiful Riad, and we loved every minute of it :)
Roof terrace is great for afternoon siesta, rooms are beautiful and spotless, staff is lovely.
We also had our stay for a great price, but even if we paid more than we did, it would've been well worth it.
Location is great, food is delicious (and there is plenty of vegetarian options), I would definitely return :) One of the best places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife Kathleen and I just returned home from a month vacation in Morocco. We started our trip in Marrakech and spent a week at Riad Snan 13. The level of hospitality we received from Stephan and his staff upon our arrival was so genuine and welcoming. During the week we also got to meet Stephan's parents Luis and Beatriz who were wonderful hosts. They made us feel like family.

Everything about our experience at Raid Snan 13 was fantastic from the location within the medina, the food served, and the beautiful rooms we had. The Riad is such a great oasis to return to after a day of exploring Marrakech.

At the end of our trip we took the train from Fes to Marrakech and returned to Raid Snan 13. This time we got to meet Xavier who picked right up where Stephan, Beatriz, and Luis left off on our initial stay. Xavier arranged for us to dine at the Riad on our last night. We had enjoyed the breakfasts and a few dinners during our first stay which were excellent. However, the meal prepared on our last night was really wonderful starting with gazpacho soup, appetizers, and the most fantastic tangine we had eaten on our trip. The tangine consisted of chicken, green olives, and green beans with a spice combination that was magical. Dessert was a fruit crepe that was a perfect compliment to the meal.

All of the elements of this Riad are extraordinary from the architecture, tasteful furnishings, comfort, peace and quiet, food etc. However what truly makes a difference is the level of service provided by Stephan and Xavier and their staff. If you are looking for an incredible place to stay while in Marrakech look no further.

Room Tip: All five rooms are unique and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#6 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#12 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#18 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Snan13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Snan13

Address: Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Snan13 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Jemaa El Fna Square and its celebrated Moroccan markets, you will find Snan13, a hidden jewel created to bring you peace amidst the tumultuous Morroccan life. A relaxing space where charm and essence ran into the city’s bubbly downtown area. Our riad offers you one Grand Suite and five double bedrooms, all of them with their own unique and special character, decorated with the uttermost care and attention to detail. A patio with a swimming pool. A dining area. Two chill-out areas to help you relax, and a panoramic terrace with incredible views over Marrakech’s Medina, Koutubia and Dar el Bacha’s Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Riad Snan13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing