We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best thing about Morrocco is Snan13” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Snan13

Save Saved
You added Riad Snan13 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Snan13
Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 1,047 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best thing about Morrocco is Snan13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Believe the reviews.. this place is amazing. The best way to describe staying here was imagine if your best friend lived in Morocco and had an amazing house and he invited you over to stay. Xavier and Stephan both go out of their was to make your trip as enjoyable as possible and go to great lengths to ensure you get everything you want and need. It was closely located to the main square.

Every aspect of this Riyadh is flawless and if i were coming back to Morocco i would book it without thinking.

Room Tip: Its worth paying extra as the bigger rooms are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
97
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We chose Snan13 to celebrate my wife's birthday and were absolutely happy with our choice. Xavier and Stephan, the two owners, and their team did everything possible and went the extra mile to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. As Marrakech novices we got great help from Xavier, who gave us an introduction and even showed us around.
We staid in the suite "Selma" - a very spacious room with an equally spacious bath. On the return from our Tour de Maroc we staid in "Lalla Samia", a regular room, smaller than the suite of course, but equally lovingly and tastefully designed and also located on the first floor.
Snan13 is very well located, close to the airport, New Town (Guéliz), Jardin Majorelle as well as to the main attractions and restaurants within the Medina. The Riad is located at the end of a cul de sac (Snan), i.e. away from the street noise!

We would definitely stay at Snan 13 again and recommend it without any reservations.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Suite Selma is the largest. There is one room on ground floor that has a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for three nights and this was hands down the best hotel experience of my life (I've traveled pretty extensively all over the world). The riad is gorgeous. Hammam room we stayed in was unique, romantic and impeccably arranged. As if the ambiance of this riad wasn't enough to impress, it was upstaged by truly above and beyond service. Xavier was very responsive over email in the planning stages of our trip and exceptionally accommodating throughout our stay. I'd highly recommend the private chef dinner available at this riad (turned out to be the best meal we had in Morocco) and the daily breakfast that's included. Breakfast comes with freshly squeezed juice, delicious fruit salad, and tasty Moroccan crepes among other things. Sooo good!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meko219
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at Riad Snan13 over Thanksgiving. We also stayed at another Riad on our way back from the Sahara and it was not as nice as this one. I regret not booking Snan 13 for our return. Stephan and Xavier were very helpful and friendly from booking to our departure. The Riad itself is tastefully decorated and we wanted a copy of everything they had. I would recommend this Riad to all my friends. We were able to check out a few of the other rooms and I would have to say that each room has it own characteristic. All the rooms are clean and airy. I probably would be happy with any of these rooms, and I'm pretty obsessive when it comes to checking out each hotel and traveler's photo on tripadvisor. Thank you Stephan and all the other helpers for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice! Just really depends on the size you like. We stayed in the large suite tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon city
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

If I could only give ONE helpful tip for our whole Marrakech trip, then it would be to book THIS riad! I can get a bit obsessed when searching for accommodations as my husband's aesthetic requires great interiors & ambiance ( he's an architect & I appreciate good design too ) while mine demands good location, excellent service at a $ rate that won't break the bank! Tough combo but Riad Snan 13 excelled in ALL aspects. Moroccan service in general is fantastic as almost ALL riads I researched had mostly favorable ratings but after looking & reading a lot of reviews of around 80 options, we finally decided on Snan 13. The pristine & calming Zen like modern interiors but of totally local Moroccan influence was what got me. Couple that with very quick & warm responses from Xavier, the Spanish owner. No request was trivial enough for him in our email exchanges before the trip.
Fast forward to our stay itself...Marrakech is a crazy, bustling giant marketplace & walking through it to get to Snan 13 can be "interesting" but once you enter through the door of this
oasis, you are instantly met with this exotic, lightly perfumed scent of fig, oranges, etc that permeates all the way into the confines of your beautiful bedroom..& that set the tone for the rest of our stay..
So much has already been said about each amazing room, each with its own character & personality, so I will leave that out of my review. I do , however, want to stress what really made our stay so special and that credit must go to Stephan ( the other co-owner ), Joad and his girls who would bend over backwards, forwards, & everywhere else to make you feel as if you were the most honored, long-lost, dear relative who has re-surfaced after 30 long years! Call me dramatic but that's how Stephan made every person in our group of six feel. Due to their warmth & genuine hospitality, we feel such a connection with both Stephan & Xavier that
we would love to host them ( as "familia" ) should they ever decide to come visit the Philippines.
( 2014, guys? ) So, look no further. Book THIS riad & be part of the family...

SOME HELPFUL TIPS:

* Rooms are all beautiful & unique due to Stephan's attention to details ( he's a stylist! ). We
stayed in my favorite though, which is the newest room, Selma whose photos were not
included in their website at the time we booked. Email & ask to see the photos!
Le Moucharabieh was my 2nd favorite. It's quieter as it is on the upper level & has a cute
balcony/nook.
* Eat a meal at least once in the riad as our meals here was fantastic! & reasonable! You must
inform Stephan beforehand though, especially if you want wine or any alcoholic drinks.
* Don't worry too much about arranging extra trips. As long as you have a general idea of what
you want to see/ where you want to go, just tell Stephan a day or two before & he can
arrange everything- car, driver, guide, etc.
* Don't fill your day with too much activity so you can just chill & savor Marrakesch. Make sure
to book a hammam through Stephan...or Xavier ( they take turns managing the place.. )
* Make sure to leave space in your luggage to purchase from the riad's line of luxurious
toiletries- we totally loved their room scent ( to remind us of our wonderful stay ), their
moisturizer ( smells heavenly ) & their argan oil, all so beautifully packaged in bottles with
little Moroccan tassels. We all bought argan oil at the Essaouira cooperative but after
comparing, we liked Stephan's more! All make wonderful gifts.
* Come back to Marrakesch & Snan 13... it feels like your home away from home...

Room Tip: Ask to see photos of the room "Selma", which isn't on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and 6 days and the only word I have to describe my experience at the riad is "perfect". The riad itself is beautifully decorated, with excellent attention to detail resulting in a peaceful, luxurious retreat from the hussle and bussle of the busy streets of Marrakesh. Stephan and his team are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble and everyone is always happy to help. Whether it was making reservations for restaurants and excursions or giving us tips on how to get around Marrakesh or walking us to our destination in the winding streets of the medina.
I highly recommend this riad, you will not be disappointed I could keeping praising them but just read the other reviews, everything written in them is true and honestly I can't believe they aren't number one. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had three nights in Marakesh staying in Riad Snan 13. It was just the perfect place, the beautiful, calming and very tasteful architecture and design of the house and fabulous roof terrace. We had an amazing room just behind the small pool in the beautiful inner patio. The staff was absolutely friendly and helpful and really made you feel at home. The location itself was ideal, just next to the souks, 5 minutes walk to the Place Djenaa el Fna.

We can totally recommend this Riad and would return if we had the opportunity to visit Marrakesh again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Snan13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Snan13

Address: Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Jemaa El Fna Square and its celebrated Moroccan markets, you will find Snan13, a hidden jewel created to bring you peace amidst the tumultuous Morroccan life. A relaxing space where charm and essence ran into the city’s bubbly downtown area. Our riad offers you one Grand Suite and five double bedrooms, all of them with their own unique and special character, decorated with the uttermost care and attention to detail. A patio with a swimming pool. A dining area. Two chill-out areas to help you relax, and a panoramic terrace with incredible views over Marrakech’s Medina, Koutubia and Dar el Bacha’s Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad Snan13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Snan13, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.