We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Snan13

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Snan13
Save
You added Riad Snan13 to your Saves list
Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived on the first night of our honeymoon at Riad Snan 13 and could not have been more enchanted by the atmosphere of the place. It was dark, beautifully lit and our room with a sunken bath, which had been recommended, was simply beautiful.

Stephan was an excellent host - sensitive to our needs but not overbearing. He was extremely helpful when giving advice, directions and so on but never intrusive.

It's very difficult to get the fine balance between being professional, hospitable, friendly and warm but also affording your clients and guests privacy. At Riad Snan 13 they manage to do this perfectly. One of the best places we stayed during our ten-day trip vis a vis quality, experience and value for money.

The breakfast is so delicious and if we had one quibble, although it is very small, it would be to say that dinner is available but not advertised. We would have loved to have eaten there in the evening too.

Room Tip: The room with the sunken bath is divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
114
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Riad Snan13 is spectacular. Everything about it was great. The location was perfect – within 10 minutes of many major sites and one of the gates, so access through and out of the medina wasn’t a problem. Unlike some other riads I’ve stayed in, this one has 24 hour a day staff. We were met outside the medina and walked in by Stefan, the manager who stays at the riad. He was extremely helpful with directions and advice on everything from getting around, what to see, and where to make certain purchases. When two of the guest there wanted henna down, Stefan arranged for a women to come out and do it in the hotel. She did a much better job then the women in the plaza, and charged less!

Our room was air conditioned with a fully functional air conditioner and the wi-fi worked (unlike many riads, where these are ostensibly part of the package but not really functional). The rooms were clean and elegant, the showers stocked with very nice products, and the sheets were high quality. Our room, Le Petit Patio, even had its own small, private courtyard! The pool was refreshing, the breakfast was great, the dinner we added on was one of the better meals we ate in Morocco, and the décor was beautiful. The whole place was so comfortable and refreshing it was difficult to leave and see the city.

To top it off, here’s a story of what happened to us: We left on our last day to go the airport, and found our flight had been rescheduled to a few hours earlier and we had missed it. We frantically booked a new flight for the next day but had nowhere to stay that night. We didn’t have the riad’s number (or phones, for that matter) and so we just went back and showed up on their door. Despite the fact that the riad was shutting down for Ramadan and everyone was scheduled to leave the next day, Stefan took us in, sent us to the nicest room the riad had available, and gave us fresh, cold drinking water (if you’ve never stayed in Morocco in the summer, you have no idea how important this is!). He was genuinely concerned and offered to help with any travel arrangements we still needed. It was one of the best customer service experiences ever, and could only come from a manager who truly cares about his clients. After a really bad day, it was exactly what we needed, and one of the highlights of our trip.

Snan13 place really is an oasis in the desert, and I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Let me begin by saying that I am sitting in the gorgeous lounge of this Riad, 8 hours after we left for our departure flight.  They welcomed us back when our flight was changed without our knowledge, thereby missing it, and we were stranded in Marrakech for another night.  Our Riad took us in again without question, despite our unplanned (re)arrival.

I cannot say enough about the warmth of the staff and the beauty of this Riad!  It is perhaps one of the best hotels or b&b's that we've ever stayed in!  Upon our initial arrival, we were in awe of the absolute beauty and design that went into the building of this extraordinary place!  It is an oasis of calm and beauty in a city of craziness.  You absolutely cannot beat the location, about a 5 minute walk to the Souks and Jemaa el- The pool was gloriously refreshing, the AC and wi-fi worked like a dream and the room was so comfortable that we felt no guilt spending time in it when in any other hotel, we probably would have felt obligated to get out more. Breakfast was excellent, the dinner we had here was superb, the 24 hour staff gave us directions, advice, and everything we needed. 

We would stay here again in a heartbeat and wish all places were like it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The point of a riad is to feel like a home, albeit one that (in my case, at least) is far lovelier than one's actual home. Riad Snan did this in spades. It's an oasis of tranquility in the heat and hustle of Marrakech, from the time you open the door and walk down the cool, white, rose petal strewn hallway to when you reach the courtyard, with its ample sitting and socializing area and serene pool. The rooms are gorgeous (I got to see 2 while there), with rain showers, comfortable beds, chic decor and more roses. The staff is always ready with water or Moroccan mint tea, and the food - oh, the food. It was, hands down, the best food we had in Morocco, traditional but done in an artful way with European influences. The owner, Stefan, is fantastic as well, and will sit and chat with you over breakfast or in the courtyard. Several members of my party want to come back to honeymoon here - I sound over enthused in my praise, but after staying in many more hotels around both Marrakech and Morocco, Riad Snan truly stood out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We decided to stay at Snan13 based on the most positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Wow, us four girly's were not disappointed. Xavier and his team made us soooooo welcome. He arranged our transfers for airport, train station and got our tickets for Casablanca and organised an evening at Jad Mahel. After showing us to our beautiful rooms Xavier took us out to show the way to and from the Madina and where to change money. The Riad is a haven away from the busy souks. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. We ate in twice as the food was the best we tasted in Marrakech. Joe is an absolute sweetie and looked after us very well. Nothing was too much trouble. We can't wait to return one day as the feeling you get is Home from home. We had a fabulous time and would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely,our first floor room was lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Peaceful bliss would be the best way to describe Snan 13.

As I was in Marrakech for a conference - I was at work from 8.30am to 7pm, and the highlight of each day was to walk home through the old city walls and along the park promenade, into the medina and to the wooden door of snan 13.

Staying here made a world of difference, the cool and quiet was the ideal place to return each day to recharge, refresh and make the most of my spare time. Xavier and his kind staff were the key to this, as they ensured my breakfast was made early, that I knew my way around, found the good places to eat, the artisans market to shop and arranged any other things I wanted to do.

The decor is simply divine and the food is beyond expectations (definitely ask for dinner here one night) on the mornings I had to spare, breakfast was a feast! The beds are very comfortable, the aircon great, the wifi faultless and fast, and the location is perfect.

If you need any other recommendations, the best one would be that all of my fellow delegates wanted to move in as well.

Thanks xavier for your wonderful sanctuary :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I initially had problems picking a riad for our stay in Marrakech, with so many great ones listed on here, but was completely in awe upon arrival at Riad Snan13. Stephan met us at the taxi drop off to lead us to the Riad, and through a nondescript wooden door, and it was beautiful. I'd describe the decor as modern Moroccan. Everything was clean, and the staff took such good care of us. Stephan made sure our stay in Marrakech was perfect. We stayed in the room that overlooks the courtyard, and dined twice at the Riad for dinner. It was the best meals we had in Morocco. Oh and breakfast was plentiful. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Snan13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Snan13

Address: Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Jemaa El Fna Square and its celebrated Moroccan markets, you will find Snan13, a hidden jewel created to bring you peace amidst the tumultuous Morroccan life. A relaxing space where charm and essence ran into the city’s bubbly downtown area. Our riad offers you one Grand Suite and five double bedrooms, all of them with their own unique and special character, decorated with the uttermost care and attention to detail. A patio with a swimming pool. A dining area. Two chill-out areas to help you relax, and a panoramic terrace with incredible views over Marrakech’s Medina, Koutubia and Dar el Bacha’s Palace ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Snan13, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.