We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Riad in Marrakech, Maybe in All of Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Snan13

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Snan13
Save
You added Riad Snan13 to your Saves list
Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Riad in Marrakech, Maybe in All of Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The point of a riad is to feel like a home, albeit one that (in my case, at least) is far lovelier than one's actual home. Riad Snan did this in spades. It's an oasis of tranquility in the heat and hustle of Marrakech, from the time you open the door and walk down the cool, white, rose petal strewn hallway to when you reach the courtyard, with its ample sitting and socializing area and serene pool. The rooms are gorgeous (I got to see 2 while there), with rain showers, comfortable beds, chic decor and more roses. The staff is always ready with water or Moroccan mint tea, and the food - oh, the food. It was, hands down, the best food we had in Morocco, traditional but done in an artful way with European influences. The owner, Stefan, is fantastic as well, and will sit and chat with you over breakfast or in the courtyard. Several members of my party want to come back to honeymoon here - I sound over enthused in my praise, but after staying in many more hotels around both Marrakech and Morocco, Riad Snan truly stood out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
114
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We decided to stay at Snan13 based on the most positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Wow, us four girly's were not disappointed. Xavier and his team made us soooooo welcome. He arranged our transfers for airport, train station and got our tickets for Casablanca and organised an evening at Jad Mahel. After showing us to our beautiful rooms Xavier took us out to show the way to and from the Madina and where to change money. The Riad is a haven away from the busy souks. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. We ate in twice as the food was the best we tasted in Marrakech. Joe is an absolute sweetie and looked after us very well. Nothing was too much trouble. We can't wait to return one day as the feeling you get is Home from home. We had a fabulous time and would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely,our first floor room was lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Peaceful bliss would be the best way to describe Snan 13.

As I was in Marrakech for a conference - I was at work from 8.30am to 7pm, and the highlight of each day was to walk home through the old city walls and along the park promenade, into the medina and to the wooden door of snan 13.

Staying here made a world of difference, the cool and quiet was the ideal place to return each day to recharge, refresh and make the most of my spare time. Xavier and his kind staff were the key to this, as they ensured my breakfast was made early, that I knew my way around, found the good places to eat, the artisans market to shop and arranged any other things I wanted to do.

The decor is simply divine and the food is beyond expectations (definitely ask for dinner here one night) on the mornings I had to spare, breakfast was a feast! The beds are very comfortable, the aircon great, the wifi faultless and fast, and the location is perfect.

If you need any other recommendations, the best one would be that all of my fellow delegates wanted to move in as well.

Thanks xavier for your wonderful sanctuary :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I initially had problems picking a riad for our stay in Marrakech, with so many great ones listed on here, but was completely in awe upon arrival at Riad Snan13. Stephan met us at the taxi drop off to lead us to the Riad, and through a nondescript wooden door, and it was beautiful. I'd describe the decor as modern Moroccan. Everything was clean, and the staff took such good care of us. Stephan made sure our stay in Marrakech was perfect. We stayed in the room that overlooks the courtyard, and dined twice at the Riad for dinner. It was the best meals we had in Morocco. Oh and breakfast was plentiful. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the moment we booked the service was wonderful both Stefan and Xavier emailed to enquire what we would like they arranged the transfer from the airport which was excellent and worth every cent. We were met by Xavier who accompanied us from the taxi to the riad. Once the door opened we were greater by the most beautiful scent and beautiful rosess. The riad is spotless the food we ordered was really good and breakfast on the terrace was one of the best we have had throughout or trip around morroco. The guy whe served us was such a lovely guy always smiling and nothing was too much bother. The staff love working here and this is what makes this such a special place. The first morning Xavier walked us through the medina giving us pointers on how to get back and his number should we need help. He also rang the orphanage for us as we had brought clothes so we would not get lost even though he was having his well earned lunch he came to collect us from there. He bargained for a taxi to take us back to the airport to collect our hire car as the taxi he normal uses was being used by other guests. We are spending our last night in morroco here and we are so looking forward to returning as here they do everything to make your stay special. If you are looking for a riad I highly recommend this riad

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

As mentioned by many other reviews for this Riad can only be confirmed by myself. My wife and I just return from a long weekend in Marrakech. We selected the Riad Snan13 based on the positive comments we read here and were delighted with the service we got. Xavier and his crew make sure that you feel at home, taking care of every single details to make your stay most pleasant as possible. The feeling of being home is the best way I could find to describe our stay there. Nice rooms, great breakfast, excellent location and the best crew you can imagine with a lot of passion on what they do to do the best. Don't spend so many time looking for other places and go there to experience yourself. You will gonna love it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

nothing to add to reviews before, just excellent.
service is very personal, the place is so peacefull, and the ambiance is stunning.

shower head can not be attached to the wall, if i have to complaimt about something.

Room Tip: any room is good, we slept in the smallest which was perfect already.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Snan13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Snan13

Address: Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Jemaa El Fna Square and its celebrated Moroccan markets, you will find Snan13, a hidden jewel created to bring you peace amidst the tumultuous Morroccan life. A relaxing space where charm and essence ran into the city’s bubbly downtown area. Our riad offers you one Grand Suite and five double bedrooms, all of them with their own unique and special character, decorated with the uttermost care and attention to detail. A patio with a swimming pool. A dining area. Two chill-out areas to help you relax, and a panoramic terrace with incredible views over Marrakech’s Medina, Koutubia and Dar el Bacha’s Palace ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Snan13, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.