We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Snan13

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Snan13 to your Saves list
Riad Snan13
Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Snan 13 is meticulously and tastefully decorated with very spacious rooms and comfortable common areas. It's about 5-10 minute walk from the Jemaa el-Fna and 5 min walk from taxis. The owner Stephen was extremely friendly and helpful - he walked us to places where he thought we wouldn't be able to find ourselves, bargained for a taxi for us, and arranged all transportation & guides. Also the home-cooked dinner is highly recommended... their tangine was the best we've had in Marrakesh. Would definitely recommend Snan13 to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
106
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this fabulous Riad and we will for sure get back next time we are in Marrakech. We felt like at home, thanks to the warm and caring hospitality of Stephane and its great team. It was actually very hard to find a place that ticked all our boxes in Marrakech but I can say that Riad Snan13 really satisfied all our expectations.
We stayed at room "Le Moucharabieh" which is not large but really luxurious, tasty and very intimate. Every object is carefully chosen and lies at the right place. The materials used are refined and it seems evident that there was a close and careful supervision of the works by somebody who is extremely attentive and accurate about details.
Riad Snan13 is very clean, perfectly located close to the Jemaa el Fna (though not so close to hear the noise!), quiet, elegant and relaxing. Breakfasts are yummy and abundant, served on the beautiful rooftop terrace. Service is excellent.
The pool is not suitable for a real swim, but is a refreshing and tasty touch.
I just can't refrain from warmly recommending it for your next stay in Marrakech. Don't spend hours (like we did) going through the too many other options that the city offers, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this Riad 3 different times for a total of 5 nights. Each time we chose a different room and they all were fabulous. I love the lighting and the attention to detail put into each room. Here is the run down
(+) Luxurious, relaxing
(+) Amazing host, very accommodating and helpful with all our questions. You can tell he takes pride in his work.
(+) Great small staff that really cares about what they do.
(+) Delicious Breakfast- and varied a little day to day
(+) Perfect location, close to attractions but far enough to not be loud
(+) Roof top terrace was the perfect spot to take a break and enjoy the veiw

(-) Beds were a bit on the hard side, but at least they were new and large!
(-) Noise travels easily...so SHHH! :)

Definitely recommended!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I cannot reccomend this riad enough!! Beautiful, clean, extremely well decorated with a friendly staff! I was traveling with a friend (2 young American girls in Morocco) and they arranged everything for us, from pick up at the airport to our hammam reservations. When we went out at night, the incredibly nice doorman escorted us to and from our destination to make sure we arrived safe and sound. It's easy to get lost in the medina, but Xavier, the owner, walked us to the main square and made sure we knew our way around! Breakfast is delicious, the beds and bathrooms are opulent, and the terrace is beautiful. They really went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The location is fabulous, just a few minutes walk from the main square. Highly highly reccomend!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This riad was amazing. It was a calm escape from medina life. Snan 13 was incredible, the facilities were so clean and the architecture and interiors were the perfect example of Moroccan luxury. I went on a girls trip and ever detail was taken care of. We were picked up at the airport and showed the riad. The staff were so helpful, and nothing was too much effort. They showed us around the medina and walked us to dinner each night so we wouldn't get lost. Our host made all of our dinner reservations, his recommendations were excellent. And he also booked a luxury hammam for us. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a beautiful room, also decorated perfectly with an amazing bathroom and shower, I particularly enjoyed the orange blossom bath products. Everything about this riad was perfect, it was an amazing vacation and the riad certainly made the trip, we could hardly leave the hotel. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, I will certainly be back to stay at this lovely riad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Located in the heart of the Medina, it is a superb location with easy access to all attractions. The riad is located at a secluded street adds much charm and surprises upon entering the premise. You'll just go wow!

I love everything about the decorations. Simple, elegant, and sophisticated without trying to hard. It is a good blend of minimalism and the usually very elaborated Moroccan accessories. Some of the furniture pieces are actually custom made to the detail! It inspires me to get some of the pieces for my home decoration!

Breakfast at the terrace under the winter sun is divine with fresh fruits and pastry! The service was excellent. One of the lady staff even mixed some local herbs with water for me to treat my stomach-ache and it works like a wonder. =)

It is truly a gem located in a fascinating city. The owner’s very personal and yet non-intrusive touch definitely added up to the overall experience. In fact, it makes the entire Marrakech experience one-of-a-kind!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Snan 13 for four nights during our first stay in Marrakech. It is an amazing place, with excellent unobtrusive service and a very personal touch.

We stayed in the room "La Moucharabieh" which is spacious with a cute little sofa/reading area opening onto the courtyard.

The courtyard is very cute and comfy with a small pool (although it was too cold while we were there to use it) and different seating areas. This is also where breakfast is served. During the winter months the owners cover the open courtyard with plastic (which does not look too good when you are on the rooftop terrace but has the benefit of having a courtyard with no rain and a very pleasant temperature throughout the year) which allowed us to have breakfast there and also spend time in the afternoons drinking mint tea etc.

The rooftop terrace is great. While we were there in November, it was warm in the sun but in the shade it was a bit chilly. We spent most of the lunchtime period on the terrace, basking in the sun and strolled in the old town in the morning and later in the afternoon.

The place is close to everything in the old town and for people who do not mind walking, also very walkable distance to the new part of town.

Breakfast was a nice mix of European and Moroccan dishes, with freshly pressed orange juice and fruit salad every day. It was sufficient to keep us going until (early) dinner most days.

We had dinner at Snan 13 one night. They work with a cook who comes in if you have booked dinner with them a day in advance. The food was fantastic: fresh ingredients, very good preparation and very nice presentation. Prices also were absolutely decent.

The owner Xavier who was there throughout our stay, was amazing. Also if he has not spent years in the city yet and therefore probably is not someone who can give you recommendations on all restaurants in the area etc. he is very kind and makes every effort to accommodate your every need and just adds the personal touch which makes a stay in a road/bed & breakfast just so much more special than staying at an anonymous hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Snan13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Snan13

Address: Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Jemaa El Fna Square and its celebrated Moroccan markets, you will find Snan13, a hidden jewel created to bring you peace amidst the tumultuous Morroccan life. A relaxing space where charm and essence ran into the city’s bubbly downtown area. Our riad offers you one Grand Suite and five double bedrooms, all of them with their own unique and special character, decorated with the uttermost care and attention to detail. A patio with a swimming pool. A dining area. Two chill-out areas to help you relax, and a panoramic terrace with incredible views over Marrakech’s Medina, Koutubia and Dar el Bacha’s Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Snan13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Snan13, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.