We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem in the Heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Snan13

Save Saved
You added Riad Snan13 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Snan13
Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A True Gem in the Heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Located in the heart of the Medina, it is a superb location with easy access to all attractions. The riad is located at a secluded street adds much charm and surprises upon entering the premise. You'll just go wow!

I love everything about the decorations. Simple, elegant, and sophisticated without trying to hard. It is a good blend of minimalism and the usually very elaborated Moroccan accessories. Some of the furniture pieces are actually custom made to the detail! It inspires me to get some of the pieces for my home decoration!

Breakfast at the terrace under the winter sun is divine with fresh fruits and pastry! The service was excellent. One of the lady staff even mixed some local herbs with water for me to treat my stomach-ache and it works like a wonder. =)

It is truly a gem located in a fascinating city. The owner’s very personal and yet non-intrusive touch definitely added up to the overall experience. In fact, it makes the entire Marrakech experience one-of-a-kind!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
96
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Snan 13 for four nights during our first stay in Marrakech. It is an amazing place, with excellent unobtrusive service and a very personal touch.

We stayed in the room "La Moucharabieh" which is spacious with a cute little sofa/reading area opening onto the courtyard.

The courtyard is very cute and comfy with a small pool (although it was too cold while we were there to use it) and different seating areas. This is also where breakfast is served. During the winter months the owners cover the open courtyard with plastic (which does not look too good when you are on the rooftop terrace but has the benefit of having a courtyard with no rain and a very pleasant temperature throughout the year) which allowed us to have breakfast there and also spend time in the afternoons drinking mint tea etc.

The rooftop terrace is great. While we were there in November, it was warm in the sun but in the shade it was a bit chilly. We spent most of the lunchtime period on the terrace, basking in the sun and strolled in the old town in the morning and later in the afternoon.

The place is close to everything in the old town and for people who do not mind walking, also very walkable distance to the new part of town.

Breakfast was a nice mix of European and Moroccan dishes, with freshly pressed orange juice and fruit salad every day. It was sufficient to keep us going until (early) dinner most days.

We had dinner at Snan 13 one night. They work with a cook who comes in if you have booked dinner with them a day in advance. The food was fantastic: fresh ingredients, very good preparation and very nice presentation. Prices also were absolutely decent.

The owner Xavier who was there throughout our stay, was amazing. Also if he has not spent years in the city yet and therefore probably is not someone who can give you recommendations on all restaurants in the area etc. he is very kind and makes every effort to accommodate your every need and just adds the personal touch which makes a stay in a road/bed & breakfast just so much more special than staying at an anonymous hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Amazing!!! The riad is near the main square and yet feels like a sanctuary from all the hustle and bustle of the medina. So quiet and tranquil. Food is better than most of the restaurants we went to. Breakfast is great! By the second day, I couldn't wait to get back to the riad after 5 minutes away.

Personal yet unobtrusive service. The rooms, courtyard and rooftop terrace..... WOW!!

Thank you so much!! We went to Marrakesh and expected wonders. The gem turned out to be this Riad.

Room Tip: The photos do no justice to the Riad. Ambience was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at Snan 13 during my recent (and first) trip to Marrakech, Morocco. Before arriving to the city, I was unsure what to expect during the vacation. We landed at the airport in Marrakech in the afternoon and made our way to the guest house by cab. Upon entering Riad Snan 13, we were mesmerized. This hidden gem has all the amenities I could ask for during vacation: an assortment of outdoor lounging areas, a wading pool which is beautifully illuminated at night, and an impeccably attentive staff.

Our first night at the riad, the staff prepared a dinner for us on the terrace, and each morning we also enjoyed breakfast on the rooftop. The food was prepared on-site and was true to the Moroccan culture.

Our bedroom was clean, modern, and equipped with an air conditioner for the warmer seasons.

In addition, the location of the riad could not be any better. It is an easy walk to the souk (market) and to the public square (where countless vendors set up each night to sell food and Moroccan goods).

I would highly recommend this riad to anyone traveling to Marrakech. I will certainly stay there the next time I go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Incredible riad in the medina. Very close to Jemaa el-Fnaa square.
The service is very good: friendly, gentle and ready at all time.
Breakfaste very good and handmade. The morrocan dinner superb.
The riad is fine decorated and very peacefull. Extremely clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This couzy little riad was the closest to a perfect short vacation I have ever had. Its minimalist and at the same time exotic design; the warm, detail oriented attention of the hosts; the peaceful and always intimate atmosphere; all brings you to a different time and mindset in which you can only let you go and enjoy. And at an incredibly affordable price!
Super. Ever since thinking of a chance to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed with my sisters for 4 nights and we all loved this place!.
We were warmly welcomed and the service was wonderful and friendly. The manager was lovely and attentive and gave us great advise for getting around local attractions.
This riad is fantastically located just less than 5 minutes walk from the main square, the Jamaa El Fna. This is a a cool and calm place to soothe and restore after a busy day in the market. A perfect retreat.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and furnished tastefully with attention to detail.
There is a lovely roof terrace and a small pool downstairs. Overall, we could not ask for more!. We had an absolutely brilliant time.
This is a delightful riad which I have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Snan13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Snan13

Address: Derb Snan, 13. Mouassine (Medina), Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Jemaa El Fna Square and its celebrated Moroccan markets, you will find Snan13, a hidden jewel created to bring you peace amidst the tumultuous Morroccan life. A relaxing space where charm and essence ran into the city’s bubbly downtown area. Our riad offers you one Grand Suite and five double bedrooms, all of them with their own unique and special character, decorated with the uttermost care and attention to detail. A patio with a swimming pool. A dining area. Two chill-out areas to help you relax, and a panoramic terrace with incredible views over Marrakech’s Medina, Koutubia and Dar el Bacha’s Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Snan13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Snan13, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.