We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice pool, reasonably good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hotel Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Red Hotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Hotel Marrakech
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, nice pool, reasonably good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July 2014. Despire being a bit of a trek from the highlights of Marrakech, everything else about this hotel was great. The rooms were fairly basic but were decorated nicely and kept very clean. We had a room on the front of the hotel, facing the station, and whilst there was a lot of traffic, the noise disappeared as soon as you shut the doors.
We stayed half board, and I have to say that the food was outstanding. Red Hotel shares a restaurant with the hotel next door, but it was never crowded, and there was plenty to eat. Breakfast comprised eggs (hard boiled or scrambled), a kind of tartiflette, vegetables, dried fruit, pastries, Moroccan tea and more. Dinner was even better, with a different tagine each day we were there (although we didn't eat there every night). This was accompanied by various local breads, salads and a huge variety of desserts.
This hotel has a very nice pool that gets a full belt of sun during the day, but is pleasantly shaded from around 4pm onwards, and it is nice to get out of the heat by that point. The sunbeds are really comfortable and were in plentiful supply.
The service and food at the pool bar were both excellent, although if I had to make one criticism of the holiday, it was the tendency for the senior staff to communicate with their employees only by the medium of shouting and angry hand waving. When everyone else was having such a nice relaxing time it was a shame that the chief kept throwing his weight around, especially as the other waiters were so friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front will have a view of the road and station - not inspiring. Go for a pool-facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    95
    27
    20
    8
See reviews for
24
78
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We were staying at the hotel for 2 weeks and I honestly wish I'd never came on holiday in the first place. It was my first time in Morocco and honestly speaking, this hotel put a damper on the trip. 3 weeks before we arrived we called to say that our flight had been moved to the following day therefore we would arrive a day later. We also paid to extend our stay an extra night. When we got there after a long flight, we were standing for about 30-40minutes as they told us we were supposed to check in yesterday despite us calling to inform them and they said it was fine. Additionally they called their manager who stood screaming at the 2 receptionists. I can understand Arabic you know - don't undermine your customers. After the large ordeal we were finally issued one room key. We headed up to our room.. DISGUSTING. There was no a/c that worked and the room smelled appalling. A bit like a sewer. We complained to reception (had to go down as their telephones in their rooms don't work) who did nothing about it. Our room key stopped working every 2-3 days so we again had to go to reception to get it renewed. What kind of hotel is this? It may be 3 stars but it has no basic facilities or any level of good service. Also, we paid for the hotel which stated free wifi. The wifi was not working in the hotel for 5 consecutive days. Now for being on holiday, we had to contact family and so on- which cost us a bomb. Additionally the wifi connection is rather poor. You have to go to the lobby to use it as the rooms have no wifi. Its pretty inconvenient and the lobby wifi didn't always work either! What tipped the boat for us is when we came back from a lovely dinner to find our room smelling of old kebabs and rotten eggs. The hotel has a serious issue if its rooms are smelling like this. We complained and waited for housekeeping which didnt come. So we complained again and got moved to a different room. The other room was more appealing however the shower did not work properly. On our second last night we were called to reception because they told us we were due to check out that day when we had already notified them that we had booked another night ( these details were provided to them upon arrival). We spent a further 30 minutes downstairs because Ali and Loubna the receptionists cannot work their systems or do their jobs so as to cause inconvenience to their guests. Its safe to say we will never be staying at this hotel again. Do not stay here if you want a relaxing holiday - it was more of a nightmare for my husband and I. On the plus side, the breakfast is lovely and the cleaning staff are also a delight.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Red Hotel is relaxed, modern, clean, smart, friendly and in a good location! It's the perfect hotel for anyone who likes the colour red.. There really is red everywhere!

The rooms in the hotel are kept very clean and tidy and the décor is stylish. The staff are very friendly, always happy to help, and understand English well… Wi-Fi is provided around the hotel.. The hotel does not provide hairdryers or safes in the rooms so be aware of that, however valuables, such as passports etc. can be left at reception..

The pool area is very clean and tidy and the food served at the pool bar is of very good quality. Drinks are however priced quite high..

The food the hotel serves is of limited variety but the food it does serve is of very good quality… Continental breakfasts and cereals are available in the morning.. And the evening meals change from day to day..

The hotel is in a fantastic location for anyone who doesn’t want to be situated in the heart of the Medina (the Medina can be very chaotic so it depends what you like).. It is located opposite the train station and it is just a five minute cab journey from the airport. There are lots of restaurants in close proximity to the hotel and there is a McDonalds and KFC in the train station.. There are also convenience stores close by where cheap drinks, snacks etc. can be purchased. The hotel is about a 30 minute walk from the Medina however there are always cabs available to take you there. Cabs will try and charge you anything between 20 (£2) – 80 (£8) dirhams for a trip to the medina square. 20-30 dirhams is about the price you should be paying, any more than that and they are trying to con you so agree with your price with your driver first!

You can book a range of different activities through the hotel, from visiting waterfalls and the Atlas Mountains to quad biking (the quad biking is really fun and very good value for money!)..
For anyone visiting Marrakech whom wants a relaxed and comfortable hotel to stay in, I would definitely recommend Red Hotel!

The hotel is really good value for money!

For anyone visiting Marrakech whom wants a relaxed and comfortable hotel to stay in, I would definitely recommend Red Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view for balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Front office staff were very friendly and helpful, provided express check-in, room very large and well designed, main door entrance of hotel not finished the repair that was very hard to use the steps especially with load of family luggage and buggy. Our dinner was very delicious and restaurant staff was very polite, friendly and a warm welcoming guests especially head waiter Mr. ANAS. Our sleep was not good after many hours of trip, the horrible issue was very load music at night club of hotel and we could sleep nicely. Breakfast buffet was good but not enough of choices, the staff was very nice especially Mr Rachid who kept his eyes on guests needs all the time and it showed how professional he is. This hotel located in city center and next to main train station, plenty of shops and coffee very close... Highly recommended hotel and we will be back again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I love the service, they r very helpful and welcoming.
The room was in excilent condition, I was very happy to see the room interior and colour was just my style.
Air condition work very well
break fast also have variety
Wifi was only working in lobby that was the only weak point of the hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We were very excited to reach this hotel after a very long flight, and a very long 2 hour wait at the passport control. Checking was easy and smooth. The lobby is very modern and shares the property with another hotel. Our room was very nice, a great size, very clean, and the AC worked great. The facility itself is very nice, the pool area is grew with a beautiful pool and plenty of room to lounge. They have a few restaurants and a snack bar, which all looked very nice. We only ate at the snack bar and food was good and prices were reasonable but higher then you would get in the central market. The service was great everyone was exceptionally nice, helped us with any of our questions. Provided us with a map and directions to all the local attractions. Me and my wife like to walk to so we were able to walk into town without any problems, it is about 1-1.5 miles takes around 20-30 min. We also took a taxi twice which was 3-4£ depending on the driver. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return if coming back to Marrakech, especially for the price we paid.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very happy to see this hotel after a long train ride. Its right opposite the main Marrakech station so we were quickly in our rooms. The rooms are a very good side and clean. Air con worked very well and was quiet. Only problem was the WIFI wasn't working which was annoying but we could live with it as we were only there 1 night.
Breakfast was tasty, choice of eggs, cereal, coffee & tea etc as a buffet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hotel Marrakech

Address: Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Hotel Marrakech 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hotel Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.