We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hotel Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Hotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Red Hotel Marrakech
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“First class base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for a week at the start of this month. The hotel is well situated, being directly across from the railway station, and with a main bus station a few metres further away.

The rooms are comfortable and very clean, with daily maid service.

Residents of this hotel are allowed to use the facilities of the adjoining sister hotel- Opera Plaza, which is a bonus because they have a nice pool set in a quiet, relaxing sun lounging area.

There are also two resturants and a bar at the sister hotel if you don't want to go far- we ate in the restaurant, had a couple of drinks in the bar, and can recommend both.

Taxis are plentful and generally inexpensive in Marakech, however don't get one just outside the hotel as they will charge more, pick one up in the street and expect to pay 30-40 dirhams (£2-3) to take you to the old town, if they wan't more haggle or take the next taxi

Room Tip: ask for a high level room, if it is looking onto the station it will keep you entertained with the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    102
    29
    20
    12
See reviews for
27
83
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located opposite the St which is good but it is in the new town ( not much happening) hotel has bar which plays loud music until the early hours.... This does disturb you. Rooms are spacious but at night they are cold, not enough duvets or blankets provided. Shower is one solid stream of very very hot water, step to shower cubicle is high, shower is very slippery and dangerous, there is nothing to hold onto... whilst in the shower. Room is extremely noisy due to being facing Main Street. Arriving in reception there is a very 'cold' feeling there are no plants or flowers in reception, it is really not welcoming. Outside as you enter the hotel there is a terrible smell of drainage. Breakfast is good but very repetitive, not much choice.

Finally! Hotel receptionist announces on our departure we must pay local tax on top of our price ( we booked a fully exclusive package through travel company) We refuse to pay so they threaten to call the Police!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at Marrakech in November 2013 for 7 nights and used to visit the red hotel bar each evening.
The hotel bar is next door to the hotel itself and offers a really relaxing and pleasant ambience .It is approached by a long stairway and has a rooftop view a television and cool music.
The beer and drinks are very cheap and I truly recommend an evening there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed there on two different instances during our visit to Morocco. The hotel was decent but lacked certain facilities expected from a hotel of this level. When we checked-in, there was a very bad smell in the bathroom due to stagnant water in the drain. When we contacted the front desk, they sent someone to repair it.

The shower room didn't have any handle to hold which is dangerous as both myself and my wife slipped in the bathroom as there was nothing to hold on to. What was most surprising that they didn't have any first aid box. The AC thermostat wasn't working which resulted in uncomfortable night. Breakfast was decent.

There was a bad smell around the hotel building. Don't know the reason but it was really bad.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel only if you have a train or a Supratour bus to catch next morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hotel is well located opposite the train station and was good value. Breakfast was fairly poor and repetitive.

We had a room on the third floor and it was noisy from 11pm onwards with music which could be heard from the lounge/nightclub. This occurred each night and spoilt our stay. I did request another room but one was not available until the last night of our stay and it was not worth the effort of repacking everything.

Would advise that another hotel be booked in the Gueliz area there are other options within a similar price range.

Room Tip: Room on fifth floor as lower floor rooms are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Had a brill holiday in Marrakech,Hotel was fine till it got to 11pm at night, room 201 was right over the bar lounge really loud music ! Had to phone down to reception to ask them to turn it down, in the end after 3 nights they moved us to the top floor which was right next to a generator!!!! Apart from that the staff were very nice and we did have access to the pool in ajoining hotel.I must add that it was very clean and our room was cleaned every day.

Room Tip: If you have room 201 be warned you are over the lounge bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Resort and Rooms are Good Value for Money and Top end of Marrakech in terms of Area. Right Next to Train Station and Upmarket Shops in Gueliz. Staff were helpful at all times. Swimming Pool Area with Adjoining hotel is an excellent area to recover from a day in Jamaa Al Fna and all your walking. 30 Mins Walk to Main Square but a pleasant journey once crossing the road has been achieved. Hang onto a locals Coat tails when crossing!!

Hotel Breakfast was limited however to be expected as you are abiding by local rules.

Place de Novembre 16 has excellent Cafes to sit and watch Marrakech go by. Excellent Salads. Most have free Wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for one high up to eliminate Traffic Noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hotel Marrakech

Address: Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Hotel Marrakech 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hotel Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.