We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room, NO Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hotel Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Red Hotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Hotel Marrakech
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Good Room, NO Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Well, let's start with the good: large, clean, comfortable room. Modern bath. Right across the street from the train station. Now the bad: rooms not cleaned until 4-6 pm; forget taking a shower before dinner unless you're quick. The towels, when we did get them, were still damp from the laundry. Electronic key card failed twice; had to go down to the desk and get new ones. 10pm, just settled into bed, there's a noise at the door. Look, two women just walked in; the hotel had given them our room! My wife lost her wallet. We asked the desk clerk to look for it and she said "no." Then we made the mistake of eating at the hotel restaurant; see our review of Al Melknis Restaurant for that debaucle.

Room Tip: Unless you need to be close to the train station, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    94
    27
    20
    8
See reviews for
24
78
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are looking for a family holiday stay away from Morocco.the only advice is Red Hotel...for me it's now one of my best 4S hotel in the Marrakech I stayed two night then I went to Casablanca where I have been robed! As no one neither Casa neiter Rabat accrpt American Expeess Card I ve decided to come back to Marrakech to fly back home from there, the money didn't arrive same day so i asked the reception if they can pay the taxi and put it on my bill.They did ! that was great favourI will never forget it.
dont except any one can do this in Morocco....

Special thanks to every one specially for Nada who speak 3 or 4 languages she s fluent in English and she helped me a lot, patient, helpful and Elegant . Once again big thanks Red Hotel.and you guys If you are looking for a family holiday stay away from Morocco. Or to discover Marrakech This is the best place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Red Hotel opposite Marrakech Railway Station is an exceptional three star hotel. We stayed for 7 days and found the facilities in the room excellent, well provisioned breakfast -fruit salads, croissants and good coffee, wifi in the foyer and access to the four star hotel swimming pool in the adjacent sister hotel. The hotel is situated in the new city and access to the Medina and Djnaa el Fnaa Square is a five-eight minute taxi ride from the hotel. Above all we were impressed by the friendly and very helpful staff in reception, housekeeping and dining (breakfast).

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room as apparently the hotel has a night club on the ground floor on the left of the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Value for money, but you get what you paid for. the room are a bit average. But good value for a good bed. The breakky is a bit boring. The staff are really nice and helpful. Shares the poool and restaurant with The Operah hotel which is double the price. /
Also conveniently located next to the train station, so it saves from a taxi fare to get to the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked hotel on booking.com and they could not find our reservation but showed them the booking on my tablet and we paid staying 2 nites. A few days later received an email from booking.com that we were a no show. After numerous emails and sending copies of our receipts we were not charged . Keep credit card receipts since could be a hassle reversing charges and losing money with currency conversion.
Otherwise we were happy with price, location by train station , clean modern although noisy rooms with a balcony.
Breakfast was good and staff friendly and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Think travel lodge and you won't be far wrong with this hotel. It is basic but the rooms are very clean. No tea/coffee making facilities in our room which would have been nice. We also had to ask several times for a hand towel which did eventually arrive 24 hours later!
Breakfast was served in the breakfast room not a vast choice but self service meant you could have as much as you wanted.Bread and pastries were good only cooked food was boiled eggs but it was sufficient for us.
We went half board so ate in the international restaurant by the pool. The food was beautiful plenty of choice and helpful attentive staff, really couldn't fault the restaurant.
The hotel is not really geared up for tourists at all. We could find no information leaflets about the local attractions or any trips.
We also had 24 hours of no lighting on our corridor which was very dark it was eventually fixed but did not appear to be of any immediate importance to the staff.
All the staff we encountered were polite and as helpful as they could be given that some had limited English and our Moroccan is non existent!
Our break was only 3 nights which for us was more then sufficient. We wouldn't stay here again we would opt for something with a higher star rating that said this is not a terrible hotel if you have to travel on a budget.

Room Tip: opt for a room around the back its quieter then those over looking the station and busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I was staying here for a week but on the third day the maid came into my room while i was at the swimming pool and took my brand new iphone 4s white 16g and 140 english pounds.
After the hotels managers saying they will do everything they only managed to replace my phone on the second to last day. All was good untill i got back to england and got my replacement sim sennt through from orange and it didnt work. The hotel managers told me it was brand new but orange told me it was purchased last year and it is blacklisted. (BLACKLISTED) basically means that the phone was stolen and somebody has reported it. I am feeling cheated by the hotel and very unhappy. I thought the managers were trying to help me but it seems like they were not.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hotel Marrakech

Address: Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Hotel Marrakech 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hotel Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.