We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to escape the endless and repetitive pool side canned music” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hotel Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Hotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Red Hotel Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
clubable
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I want to escape the endless and repetitive pool side canned music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Rooms nice, only had room service once. Quality of food below average.
Breakfast repetitive and not great selection if you don't want sweet pasteries to start your day.
About a 30 to 40 minute walk along highly polluted main road to get to old town. Nothing much to see in this "new town" some of the pavements / side walks remind one of London - during the blitz.
Asthma succeeded beware! I needed frequent use on inhaler when near main roads and I live in a city.
The hotel is new and the building is pleasant if somewhat anonymous. It is impossible to get away from the canned and intrusive music in the lobby and beside the pool. Sun badgers with headphones were at least able to block this out but for those of us without the only place to read was in ones room. Very sad because the pool area and lobby is pleasant enough.
The Red Hotel is cheaper and joined to the Plaza. It shares all the Plazas facilities. As far as I can see the only difference are the actual guest rooms, the Plaza being finished to a higher spec. If you want peace, a garden, an easy stroll to the city - consider other options. You will see noise and pool side music is mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    143
    44
    26
    16
See reviews for
43
120
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

i stayed here last month when I had an early morning train to Casablanca. The Red Hotel is in a good location in the new medina, near transportation and most major hotels and restaurants. The old medina and Majorelle Gardens are a30 minute walk away. rooms are decent - clean, modern decor, etc. There is an inside spa with great services at a good price. They share a swanky little hotel bar with the property next door that has love music on Fridays. Pretty cool vibe. I would stay here again if I had an early morning train.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on 26th November and stayed there a week. UnfortunateIy I was very dissapointed with the overall experience. First of all, don't stay there if you don't like noisy places. You won't be able to sleep at night because of the noises coming from both the main street which is quite busy 24 7 and the hotel bar where a loud music is played till very late at night. Secondly, although the hotel offers a pool with the snack bar it was never open even when the weather was nice! Another thing, there's no free wifi in the room. You can access it free in the lobby but don't expect the connection to be strong enough to enable Skype conversation. The good thing is our room got cleaned every day but the bed in the room was just not comfortable at all. Breakfast was average, very little choice and the same food every day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Red Hotel. Rooms were kept immaculately clean, beds comfortable, and showers powerful with plenty of hot water. Staff friendly and attentive. Like others have said, you share all common facilities with the much more expensive Opera Plaza - pool, etc, so you do get a bit of a bargain staying at the Red! The only down sides are the cost of wifi in the rooms, why do you have to pay when it's free in the lobby? Also, no safe/ tea making facilities in the room (yummy pastries on arrival though!! :) ). All in all a good place to stay in the new town, give it a go!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for amenities and near enough to the old town for a quick taxi ride. Poor cousin to the sister Opera Palace hotel next door but can use all the common facilities. Great pool area (but really cold in November). Rooms spotlessly clean and we had a really large balcony. Good amenities, although access to WiFi and internet is a bit flaky. Would really have appreciated minibar and tea making facilities. Front desk staff were really helpful. I would definitely recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel as high as possible - view not great but takes away the street noise and noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
342 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a very fresh, clean and modern hotel situated directly opposite the new train station. It is therefore really convenient if you want to use Marrakesh as a base for exploring other parts of Morocco, as all the transport links are within a short walking distance. Also ideal if you arrive after a long journey and just want to flop somewhere as soon as possible!

Inside everything is finished to a good standard and the rooms are comfortable enough, though not luxurious and not particularly big. The hotel opened within the past year so everything is new. Beds are a little on the hard side but perfectly ok. The shower was excellent. Rooms also have a reasonably sized balcony, and ours looked out onto the train station which was an impressive view.

The main downside of staying here is the noise. It's right next to a busy roundabout, and Moroccan drivers are unfortunately very horn-happy, so even with two double-glazed doors and thick curtains, some noise will come through. If you're a light sleeper, it might be best to stay elsewhere or at least request a room round the side. However, despite the noise, on the whole we slept ok. This isn't the place to go if you want a very quiet and relaxing holiday, though, it's more of a city break/travelling base.

The bar/lounge was quite busy with hip young Moroccans on the shisha pipe, and this seems to be the latest trendy place in Marrakesh. It's very European in style and design, and it's not always obvious you're in Morocco - that could be seen as a good thing or not, depending on your preferences. They play Western music in the restaurant for example - usually the same songs... Hotel California and We Are The World being two favourites! The breakfasts are fine, with a decent choice and they do a set menu each night for about 120dh which was rather good when we ate there. Very French style food as you would expect.

The pool bar on the roof was shut during our stay, but we had access to the Opera Plaza pool next door instead which was great. There were loads of spare sunloungers and it's a good sized pool. In fact, the Red Hotel and the Opera Plaza are really two hotels in one building, and I'm not clear what difference there really is between the two. You can, for example, walk along the corridors between the two hotels on each floor. Could it be that the noisiest rooms are put in the Red Hotel, which is why it's a bit cheaper? I'm not sure. Anyway, officially the ground floor pool area is not part of the Red Hotel so I don't know whether you would be guaranteed to get access to it during high season. We were given the run of the place, but it wasn't full so that might be why. As the Opera Plaza is higher classed and more expensive, it felt like we got a bargain staying at the Red but using their facilities.

This is an good choice for a city break if you prefer staying in the new town. If you want to be close to the medina and Jemaa el Fna, this is at least half an hour's walk away and we found it a bit far to walk there and back, especially when it's hot. Taxis should be about 30dh each way though you will have to bargain to get that - you will be asked for 50dh. Finally, I do want to mention the staff who were extremely helpful and professional throughout. They also speak pretty good English.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel will be noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This new hotel is clean and modern. Located in great location opposite the beautiful railway station and Supratours bus station.
We had quiet, clean and spacious rooms (Stayed there twice and left one of our suitcases in the luggage room).
The staff at the front desk were very nice and professional and spoke good English, especially Said who was quite funny.
They serve rich Breakfast Buffet with great pastries and cakes.

The hotel is short bus ride to Jemaa el-Fnaa and the medina with buses number 8, 14 and 66 which you can catch opposite to the Supratours bus station,
at the price of 3.5 dirham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#251 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#271 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#227 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Sea Le Printemps
Blue Sea Le Printemps
#361 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#243 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#222 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hotel Marrakech

Address: Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Hotel Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hotel Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.