We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not meet the expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hotel Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Hotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Red Hotel Marrakech
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“did not meet the expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on 26th November and stayed there a week. UnfortunateIy I was very dissapointed with the overall experience. First of all, don't stay there if you don't like noisy places. You won't be able to sleep at night because of the noises coming from both the main street which is quite busy 24 7 and the hotel bar where a loud music is played till very late at night. Secondly, although the hotel offers a pool with the snack bar it was never open even when the weather was nice! Another thing, there's no free wifi in the room. You can access it free in the lobby but don't expect the connection to be strong enough to enable Skype conversation. The good thing is our room got cleaned every day but the bed in the room was just not comfortable at all. Breakfast was average, very little choice and the same food every day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    120
    34
    22
    14
See reviews for
35
99
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Red Hotel. Rooms were kept immaculately clean, beds comfortable, and showers powerful with plenty of hot water. Staff friendly and attentive. Like others have said, you share all common facilities with the much more expensive Opera Plaza - pool, etc, so you do get a bit of a bargain staying at the Red! The only down sides are the cost of wifi in the rooms, why do you have to pay when it's free in the lobby? Also, no safe/ tea making facilities in the room (yummy pastries on arrival though!! :) ). All in all a good place to stay in the new town, give it a go!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for amenities and near enough to the old town for a quick taxi ride. Poor cousin to the sister Opera Palace hotel next door but can use all the common facilities. Great pool area (but really cold in November). Rooms spotlessly clean and we had a really large balcony. Good amenities, although access to WiFi and internet is a bit flaky. Would really have appreciated minibar and tea making facilities. Front desk staff were really helpful. I would definitely recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel as high as possible - view not great but takes away the street noise and noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a very fresh, clean and modern hotel situated directly opposite the new train station. It is therefore really convenient if you want to use Marrakesh as a base for exploring other parts of Morocco, as all the transport links are within a short walking distance. Also ideal if you arrive after a long journey and just want to flop somewhere as soon as possible!

Inside everything is finished to a good standard and the rooms are comfortable enough, though not luxurious and not particularly big. The hotel opened within the past year so everything is new. Beds are a little on the hard side but perfectly ok. The shower was excellent. Rooms also have a reasonably sized balcony, and ours looked out onto the train station which was an impressive view.

The main downside of staying here is the noise. It's right next to a busy roundabout, and Moroccan drivers are unfortunately very horn-happy, so even with two double-glazed doors and thick curtains, some noise will come through. If you're a light sleeper, it might be best to stay elsewhere or at least request a room round the side. However, despite the noise, on the whole we slept ok. This isn't the place to go if you want a very quiet and relaxing holiday, though, it's more of a city break/travelling base.

The bar/lounge was quite busy with hip young Moroccans on the shisha pipe, and this seems to be the latest trendy place in Marrakesh. It's very European in style and design, and it's not always obvious you're in Morocco - that could be seen as a good thing or not, depending on your preferences. They play Western music in the restaurant for example - usually the same songs... Hotel California and We Are The World being two favourites! The breakfasts are fine, with a decent choice and they do a set menu each night for about 120dh which was rather good when we ate there. Very French style food as you would expect.

The pool bar on the roof was shut during our stay, but we had access to the Opera Plaza pool next door instead which was great. There were loads of spare sunloungers and it's a good sized pool. In fact, the Red Hotel and the Opera Plaza are really two hotels in one building, and I'm not clear what difference there really is between the two. You can, for example, walk along the corridors between the two hotels on each floor. Could it be that the noisiest rooms are put in the Red Hotel, which is why it's a bit cheaper? I'm not sure. Anyway, officially the ground floor pool area is not part of the Red Hotel so I don't know whether you would be guaranteed to get access to it during high season. We were given the run of the place, but it wasn't full so that might be why. As the Opera Plaza is higher classed and more expensive, it felt like we got a bargain staying at the Red but using their facilities.

This is an good choice for a city break if you prefer staying in the new town. If you want to be close to the medina and Jemaa el Fna, this is at least half an hour's walk away and we found it a bit far to walk there and back, especially when it's hot. Taxis should be about 30dh each way though you will have to bargain to get that - you will be asked for 50dh. Finally, I do want to mention the staff who were extremely helpful and professional throughout. They also speak pretty good English.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel will be noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This new hotel is clean and modern. Located in great location opposite the beautiful railway station and Supratours bus station.
We had quiet, clean and spacious rooms (Stayed there twice and left one of our suitcases in the luggage room).
The staff at the front desk were very nice and professional and spoke good English, especially Said who was quite funny.
They serve rich Breakfast Buffet with great pastries and cakes.

The hotel is short bus ride to Jemaa el-Fnaa and the medina with buses number 8, 14 and 66 which you can catch opposite to the Supratours bus station,
at the price of 3.5 dirham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I spent one night on their way from Merzouga to Essaouira at this hotel. As the hotel is located opposite the railway and bus station it was great for me. This hotel is relatively new, modern and very clean. Staff working at the front desk very nice and professional, speaking quite good English, which is not always the case in Morocco. Modern rooms with comfortable beds are quite large. Clean bathrooms with separate shower cabin with very good water pressure. Quite a good breakfast can be eaten on the hotel terrace overlooking new Marrakach.
Generally I was satisfied with staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

During the night from 7th to 8th May, 150€ and our digital camera were stolen from the room. We entered the hotel for 1 night at 21h, had a shower and went out for dinner for about 2 hours. At 1am we came back to the room and we couldn't sleep at all because of the noise of the pub/bar/lounge/disco behind. Amazing how a hotel can have a disco in the basis!! AMAZING. The whole building was shaking with the music, I just read another comment with the same.
We urged the receptionist to change the room as far from the music as possible. As we packed our staff to move to the new room we couldn't find the camera anymore, and 150€ neither.
CANCEL RESERVATIONS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.
The police was correct but as usual you are a tiny turist, they speak arab among them and you have no chance to explain yourself correctly.... (been a polite woman doesn't help neither)

Room Tip: "The disco on the basis makes the whole building shake until 2 at night. Impossible not to hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hotel Marrakech

Address: Angle Avenue Med V et Hassan ll, Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Hotel Marrakech 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hotel Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.