We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very wet but interesting tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medina Walking Tour

Medina Walking Tour
Rue Yougoslavie Imm Ansari Appt E12, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00212(0)611408244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 530 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Medina walking tour is a cultural, no shopping tour which takes you to hidden parts of Medina that 90% of visitors miss while in Marrakech.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very wet but interesting tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

The rain did not ruin our walking tour of marrekech rashid haggled for an umbrella for us and away we went. His knowledge is excellent and we found him friendly and interesting. A good start to our trip which helped us relax around the madness of marrekech.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Famagusta, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Medina of Marakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The best bazaar I have ever seen in Arab countries. Prices are not expensive subject you know how to bargain. Moroccon people are nice and friendly. Argan oil is genuine in most of the places and leather products are cheap in BAB DEBAGH section of Medina.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A brilliant introduction to Marrakesh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

As a first time visitor to Marrakesh with my husband and in-laws, I hugely enjoyed this walking tour with Rachid. He was extremely knowledgeable and most engaging. He was very attentive to our interests, and was able offer insight on much more than the souks themselves. A real gem of a guide, and a great way to begin a visit!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Extremely educational -- Rachid Bousselem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We couldn't have had a better tour guide than Rachid Bousselem, a true scholar and excellent tour guide. Rachid took my 20-year-old son, 75-year-old mother, and me on a walking tour of Marrakech, where we visited numerous cultural and historical sites. As my son is a college student of Arabic language and Middle East studies, Rachid concentrated on teaching my son about the history of Islam and intricacies of Arab society. My son learned so much from Rachid, it was like having a college lesson in a day. We also signed up for the Ourrika waterfalls hike and the trip to Essaouira, which were highlights of our Morocco stay. Rachid and our driver Omar were superb, very attentive to our needs and anxious to teach us everything about Morocco. I especially appreciated that Rachid's tour of the market was focused on the history, organization, and commercial practices of the more than 5,000 shops there. Rachid explained up front that the tour was not a shopping tour -- and we had no desire to shop while he was teaching us about the souk. (We went back later, on our own, to shop, and had no hassles whatsoever. Shopping on our own was a very enjoyable experience.) I highly recommend Rachid -- he made our trip to Morocco a truly adventurous and memorable experience, and I cannot wait to return and hire Rachid to take us to the desert for our next excursion!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Three first time visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I booked the tour after reading reviews on this site. We had an afternoon tour on our second full day. In some respects this was better for us as we had already explored the souks and found our way around generally. The tour was interesting and informative and it was wonderful to have no shopping attached. Rachid was a very knowledgable and enthusiatic guide who explained aspects of the history and culture that helped put the modern city into context. He was also attentive to our interests, taking time to answer all of our questions. Would highly recommend this tour.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina Walking Tour also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.