We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't ask for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medina Walking Tour

Medina Walking Tour
Rue Yougoslavie Imm Ansari Appt E12, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00212(0)611408244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 447 activities in Marrakech
Type: Walking tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Medina walking tour is a cultural, no shopping tour which takes you to hidden parts of Medina that 90% of visitors miss while in Marrakech.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I organised a tour of the medina with Rachid based on the reviews I found on trip advisor and I wasn't disappointed. Everything was organised by email from the UK and as promised Rachid collected us from our Riad and the tour didn't involve any shopping.
The tour was interesting and we saw parts of the souks that you wouldn't have dreamed to enter in on your own. Rachids knowledge of the area and history of Marrakech was extensive. I would recommend taking this tour at the beginning of your stay.
Rachid also organised a trip into the mountains for us and some friends, the guides were very funny and helpful, the mule ride up and down the mountain was hysterical and the food we had at the house of a Berber family was out of this world. Definitely an experience I won't forget!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent walking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The tour was taken at our pace and our conversations with Rachid gave us an interesting perspective about Moroccan culture and history. It was excellent to have a local guide on our first day in Morrocco. We explored the parts of the Souks where there were few tourists, which was very enlightening. Walking around the Medina helped us get our bearings and focus on what we wanted to visit for the rest of our stay. Well worth the money and highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent walking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Rachid is an informative guide who provided insights that we wouldn't have discovered ourselves. We took the private tour which enabled us to provide Rachid with our preferences, and spent quality time in both the madrasa and the souks. We would recommend taking the tour on your first day in order to provide you with bearings for the rest of your stay. So nice to have a tour with no shopping stops!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rave about Rachid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Rachid collected us from our Riad. We took a short taxi ride (included in price) to the Bahia Palace where the tour began. Rachid prefers to take small groups which is a definite advantage as the whole experience is more personal. Rachid is a mine of information and gave an excellent overview of the history, culture and architecture of Marrakech. His professional yet easy-going manner made us feel we were in good hands. It was an excellent way to start our visit as it was helpful to have an understanding of the city and its people. A definite highlight of our visit to Marrakech!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 hour tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Rashid met us near the mosque and immediately told us about the history of Marrakech. He took his time and ws not rushed. You get orange juice and entry to the Bahia palace great place. He even had some tea with us too at the great cafe de Arab. He showed us how riads are and took us deep into the medina off the beaten track. Amazing rachid thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina Walking Tour also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Medina Walking Tour to your Saves list