We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, authentic-looking riad, low cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Najat's Kitchen

Dar Najat's Kitchen
Dar Najat, Douar Graoua, | Derb Lalla Chacha, N.18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-75085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 589 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dar Najat's Kitchen-"best home made gastronomy in Marrakech"New restaurant, part of the Riad Dar Najat. Traditional Moroccan food, reservations accepted the day before or before two o'clock for the same day.Cheers!dar najat's team. PLEASE, BE KIND TO REACH ME BACK ON THE MAIL PROVIDED for any booking or on phone.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Great food, authentic-looking riad, low cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We ate here in December 2014. Overall, we had a good experience and I would return, but I would ask to be sat in a different location.

First, the food. There is a fixed, three-course menu of traditional Moroccan dishes, which you have to order when you make your reservation. The starter was a mixed plate of Moroccan salads, which were excellent, and very fresh. The main course is tagine, which was excellent. I had the lamb tagine, which seemed to have the perfect balance of sweetness and cinnamon with the lamb. My significant other had the beef was was excellent too. The meal also came with an included drink. The wine was horrible, but (in my opinion) this seems to be all Moroccan wine, so I won't fault the restaurant for this. Also, the fixed menu was very cheap compared with other restaurants.

The only reason I gave 4 and not 5 stars is where they sat us. Above the main dining floor is a little teeny-tiny room, which you basically have to climb up a latter to reach. We were sat in there away from the rest of the restaurant. When you are in this little room, you feel like you are in a little cage and it was like we were eating room service in a (very) small hotel room. It's like going to a relative's house for the holidays and being sat at the children's table, rather than sitting with the grown-ups. We felt like we didn't get the same experience that the rest of the diners did (on the main floor). Maybe this room would have been better with a slightly larger group, but for two, it ruined the entire experience.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Dar Najat's Kitchen, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi and thank you very much to our guest for his lovely comment !
We do appreciate every reviews and try to take advantage of the smart comments here ..or there to improve.
Regarding the food, thanks again.
Small precision..the fellow guest will have the choice between multiple areas to have his dinner :
1)courtyeard
2)first roof terrace
3)first small living room with ac good for four persons for the ones who like intimacy.
4)second roof terrace with a fantastic view on the medina and very romantic indeed!
5)second small living room on the second roof terrace.
For sure, we try to give the choice to our guests to take advantage of the best area to have a dinner and to enjoy their time.
so..sorry if it was a wrong casting this night and do hope having the chance to see you back at..the right place..& time!
Yours,Olli.
ps:HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    35
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“To recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

We read about the Dar Najat's at Tripadvisor and decided to try it out for dinner. We made a reservation for the evening.
We had a table at the very nice and small terrasse. We had a variety of starters and shared a Tajine. The food was delicious, very fresh and the portions big! The service was very good.
The prices were totally worth it. Not overpriced, but not cheap.
We came back for another dinner and we would highly reccommend the Dar Najat's!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Dar Najat's Kitchen, responded to this review, December 24, 2014
Hi and thanks you very much for your kind post indeed!
A pleasure having the chance having you in Dar Najat's Kitchen.
Don't hesitate to recommend your new friends around and we will do our best!
Cheers,Olli.
PS: HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Good food, very friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Two of us ate here after booking at about 5pm. A very friendly guy met us at the main square to show us the way. Dinner was served on the open-air terrace, which was very nice but a bit chilly on a November night. The vegetable starters were really excellent, especially the aubergine. The Tagine was also good, although I personally would prefer a bit more spice. The desert was a selection of sliced fruit, nothing special. We were very happy overall with our meal and the friendly service and the nice bottle of wine. Oh, and the music playing was a great selection, which we loved.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Dar Najat's Kitchen, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Hi and thanks for your very kind post indeed!
Has been a pleasure having you in Dar Najat's Kitchan and do hope having this chance again!
Don't hesitate recommending us around and we will do our best to have your friends very satisfied indeed!
Cheers,Olli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A little jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This place is really tucked away, but when you book your table you can arrange for someone to meet you in the main square . It's then about a 5-10 minute walk to the restaurant .

When you book, you will be offered a choice of tagine to choose from. You will not be given a menu upon arrival, so you need to have a fairly open mind and just go with the flow!

Our starters were a mixture of vegetables, bread and salads. These were all really fresh and tasty.

We had both chosen the chicken tagine for our main course, which was served with rice. Although this was not to both our tastes, I cannot take away from the fact that this food is lovingly prepared and full of traditional Moroccon flavours.

Desert was some chopped fruit, followed by tea or coffee.

This is a set menu and is excellent value for money - well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Dar Najat's Kitchen, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Hi and thank you so much for your lovely post indeed!
A pleasure having you in Dar Najat's Kitchen!
Don't hesitate to recommend us around and we will do our real best.
yours,Olli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Possibly best meal ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I booked this restaurant in advance of our trip to Marrakesh. You need to book by 13:00 the day of your dinner so they have the kitchen open. Possibly the best meal I have ever eaten. We got two full dinners, lamb tagine and chicken tagine. So delicious and tasty. Starters were plates of the most amazing veg cooked I do not know how but if that was all we got we would have been pleased. The tagines were something else. I couldn't stop eating even though I was fit to burst. Service was great, could have stayed for as long as we wanted. Like everything in Marrakesh, finding it can be tricky but there are some signs on some walls. Worth seeking out!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Dar Najat's Kitchen, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Hi and HUGE THANKS for your very kind post indeed dear friends!!
More than a pleasure having you in Dar Najat's Kitchen.
thanks again for your lovey comments and do hope having the chance to see you back!
Don't hesitate to recommend Dar Najat's Kitchen around!
Cheers,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Najat's Kitchen also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Najat's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Najat's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.