We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, ambiance and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Najat's Kitchen

Dar Najat's Kitchen
Dar Najat, Douar Graoua, | Derb Lalla Chacha, N.18, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-75085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 533 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dar Najat's Kitchen-"best home made gastronomy in Marrakech"New restaurant, part of the Riad Dar Najat. Traditional Moroccan food, reservations accepted the day before or before two o'clock for the same day.Cheers!dar najat's team. PLEASE, BE KIND TO REACH ME BACK ON THE MAIL PROVIDED for any booking or on phone.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, ambiance and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Dinner is served on the rooftop terrace, decorated with wonderful lighting and great music. Intimate setting, not a lot of tables so it's best to reserve ahead of time. Good size portions, usually a salad, a vegetable dish, then the delicious tajine, either lamb, chicken, etc and of course, their great mint tea. Definitely give it a try!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    121
    33
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our first meal on arrival to Marrakech and it was excellent! We had a little trouble finding it (but were very kindly guided by people) so would suggest getting transport there. We preordered the set menu and it was excellent, and ch mark to set all other meals in Marrakech against. The couscous and tagine were both excellent as were the starters of salads and the courgette soup. Come on a very hungry stomach, the portion sizes are extremely generous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Hidden splendour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I emailed the restaurant the morning of our visit to book, following such good reviews on here. We weren't disappointed!

We arrived a little early before the restaurant opened, as it's ramadan, the owners were still finishing eating (they did tell us this) Despite us feeling rude about not realising how early we were, we were warmly greeted and guided to the top floor seated area. Its truly lovely! We sipped mint tea in the beautiful surroundings of the rhiad before being called down to the lower level roof terrace for dinner. The set menu very reasonable at around £25 The starters were a lovely mixture of moroccan salad, garlic green beans, aubergine, and courgettes all delicious in their own way..large portions too. Mains were a choice of lemon chicken or lamb and prune tagine served with vegetables and rice. Betweeb the three of us there was a lot of food! Both chicken and lamb were beautiful. Dessert was fruit with cinnamon. .delicious and light. I'd definitely recommend as its such good food; friendly and cosy. Not necessarily just for couples, I was with two female friends and we had a lovely evening!



  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Last night we went for dinner and it was excellent, fresh food vegetables to die for and meat of exceptional quality. The cook is a five star!! Service and atmosphere is relaxing and very cool. To be recommend as one of the best in Marrakech for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“2nd best dinner in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked on strength of TA reviews and were not disappointed, even though my wife and I were the only diners that evening. The quality of the food was excellent, bettered only by that in the Riad in which we were staying (Riad Badi) and far better than other much more expensive restaurants like Le Foundouk and Al Fassia Agudal. We both had the Kafta Tajine as our main course and a bottle of good local red wine. The owner was a perfect host and even the chef/cook stopped to ask if everything was OK before she left for the evening.

We looked for the restaurant during the daytime and, perhaps we were lucky, but found it quite simple to locate, perhaps 10 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna. One of the staff offered to walk us back to Jemaa El Fna as we were leaving, which was very kind but not needed.

As an aside: the two best quality meals we had in Marrakech were in small Riads were you had to order the food a day in advance. Being small, the Riads did not have a lively restaurant ‘buzz’ but the food quality made the other, more expensive restaurant meals appear very average in comparison. My advice would be to eat here, your own Riad, or somewhere similar at least once in Marrakech just to see what you may otherwise miss.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Najat's Kitchen also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Najat's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Najat's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.