We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Traditional Moroccan restaurant in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Najat's Kitchen

Dar Najat's Kitchen
Dar Najat, Douar Graoua, | Derb Lalla Chacha, N.18, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-75085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 525 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dar Najat's Kitchen-"best home made gastronomy in Marrakech"New restaurant, part of the Riad Dar Najat. Traditional Moroccan food, reservations accepted the day before or before two o'clock for the same day.Cheers!dar najat's team. PLEASE, BE KIND TO REACH ME BACK ON THE MAIL PROVIDED for any booking or on phone.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best Traditional Moroccan restaurant in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The food served at Dar Najats Kitchen is delicious.

We had two evening meals here, one was the Kefta Tagine, it was perfect. The other was a chicken tagine, the chicken was cooked to perfection, the meat was melting away and the sauce was delicious.

The restaurant serves a 3 course meal, the starters are a variety of vegetables, we had four different dishes, then you have your main course and then a desert.

The cost of the meal was very reasonable and the portions we got we very generous. One thing is for sure, you will be completely full by the time you leave Dar Najat's Kitchen.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    120
    31
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Another restaurant visit based on the rave reviews found on Trip Advisor, we visited Dar Najat's Kitchen on the first night of our stay in Marrakech.

Very hard to locate within the medina and tucked away in the backstreets, we had to ask for directions on a couple of occasions. Oddly, for a Saturday night we were the only customers in the Riad for dinner and we thought there must be something wrong with the place despite the brilliant reviews.
Fair to say, this is a little gem. The food is fantastic and by far the best and most authentic tagine we had on our entire trip and in abdunance. However, be careful, as pretty much 5 mins in we were accosted by the owner, Oliver, who befriended us and subsequently would not leave us alone and played his 'DJ playlist' repeatedly on a high volume. Initially he was charming saying how he loved London, but it became tiresome especially when he inisited my boyfriend networked with him for work purposes. This didn't match the calm surroundings, but we forgave this incessant behaviour because the food was great.

My advice to Dar Najat's Kitchen is focus on ambiance and not promoting your nightlife/DJ scene. Less is more in this case.

Lovely Riad and food, annoying manager.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Dar Najat's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi Dear Customer and sorry for late answer.
sorry again.if i annoyed you with my music&co..just thought giving you my personla history about music was a good touch which ddin't seem to be the case and sorry if my idea to stay connect with you didn't match my expectations too..and thanks anyway for the comments ablout the food..
Yours,Oliver.
ps:sometimes..you can be wrong as i was with you ..thinking that a nice little tchat with guests is a nice touch or that music could be one of the hightlight of your visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Une perle dans Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

An excellent restaurant with a wonderful food. But, much more than that you feel like if you were with your own friends. If you don't find the restaurant no preblem just call them and one of them will come to help you.
The place is such beautiful and the people so kind that we felt being in a dream or in a movie.
We will be in Marrackech on 2013 and i am sure we will go there once again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food we had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Best food we had, no one met us at the square as planned, so I would organise a taxi to take you to the little square next to the restaurant, or slip a little urchin 20 shlotties to guide you there! ( he will tell you it " is nothing, not enough! " tell him to be on his way! you WILL NOT find it on your own!
But the place rocks the food was amazing, the staff lovely, and the owner ... Completely off his tree! Jase

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“...simply mouth watering!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

For sure you are focused on all the excellent restaurants which you can find easyly in Marrakech - but how to find the real insider specials??? Here you get it: The Dar Najat kitchen! Based in the middle of marrakechs medina you have there a place like home - where someone cares for you and just wants the reach one goal: to make you happy and satisfied.
The dishes are excellent and you have to try my personal favorite: beef with plums and almonds!!! Simply mouth watering!!!

The stuff is super friendly and courteous! Oliver - the manager - is helping you beside this with explaining ways and attractions for your sightseeing tour!

To sum up: a full big package with good food, excellent recommandations and big hospitality!

Try it!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Najat's Kitchen also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Najat's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Najat's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.