We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food we had!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Najat's Kitchen

Dar Najat's Kitchen
Dar Najat, Douar Graoua, | Derb Lalla Chacha, N.18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-75085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dar Najat's Kitchen-"best home made gastronomy in Marrakech"New restaurant, part of the Riad Dar Najat. Traditional Moroccan food, reservations accepted the day before or before two o'clock for the same day.Cheers!dar najat's team. PLEASE, BE KIND TO REACH ME BACK ON THE MAIL PROVIDED for any booking or on phone.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best food we had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Best food we had, no one met us at the square as planned, so I would organise a taxi to take you to the little square next to the restaurant, or slip a little urchin 20 shlotties to guide you there! ( he will tell you it " is nothing, not enough! " tell him to be on his way! you WILL NOT find it on your own!
But the place rocks the food was amazing, the staff lovely, and the owner ... Completely off his tree! Jase

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    34
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“...simply mouth watering!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

For sure you are focused on all the excellent restaurants which you can find easyly in Marrakech - but how to find the real insider specials??? Here you get it: The Dar Najat kitchen! Based in the middle of marrakechs medina you have there a place like home - where someone cares for you and just wants the reach one goal: to make you happy and satisfied.
The dishes are excellent and you have to try my personal favorite: beef with plums and almonds!!! Simply mouth watering!!!

The stuff is super friendly and courteous! Oliver - the manager - is helping you beside this with explaining ways and attractions for your sightseeing tour!

To sum up: a full big package with good food, excellent recommandations and big hospitality!

Try it!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing place and amazing people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

As well as being an amazing Riad, the food here was superb. We had the set menu with the tagine of chicken and the flavours, taste and quality of the food was excellent. It was about £14 a head for 3 courses so a little more than some of the places in the main square, however there is no comparison - the food at Dar Najat is so much better than anything at any of the restaurants or stalls we tasted in the square.

If you are staying at the Dar Najat or not, eat here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere near Wales.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Wow - what an experience! We ate at Dar Najat based on recommendations on tripadvisor & were not disappointed. Food was plentiful & well cooked. The fresh juices (cucumber & orange, banana lassi type thing) were delicious & refreshing in the August evening. We ate some lovely fresh salads, the most incredible spiced courgettes (yes courgettes!!) & the most succulent roast chicken. Everything was perfect. Oliver was a very genial host & the staff were attentive. Definitely a great place to go to taste wonderful home cooking.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Intense Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

It. was as if you visited your best Moroccan friend. They are normally closed for lunch, but I was invited up to terrace for a cup of mint tea, then as the chef reported to work with his arms full of bags of ingredients, the server came and asked me if their 'house dish' would be acceptable.

How could I refuse? It. was a tangine of minced beef topped with eggs served with and avocado salad and aubergine side. Absolutely delicious.

The atmosphere was perfect. Cool despite the noon day sun, and eclectic music from Santana to Moroccan ethnic. The owner was a DJ in previous life so expect the music to be a part of the dining experience but not so loud as to be intrusive.

Definitely a place to be sought out when in the medina of Marrakech.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Najat's Kitchen also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Najat's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Najat's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.