We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Najat's Kitchen

Dar Najat's Kitchen
Dar Najat, Douar Graoua, | Derb Lalla Chacha, N.18, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-75085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 556 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dar Najat's Kitchen-"best home made gastronomy in Marrakech"New restaurant, part of the Riad Dar Najat. Traditional Moroccan food, reservations accepted the day before or before two o'clock for the same day.Cheers!dar najat's team. PLEASE, BE KIND TO REACH ME BACK ON THE MAIL PROVIDED for any booking or on phone.
North Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best food in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Having eaten out in a number of restaurants/ cafes in Marrakech, I can highly recommend the food at Dar Najat. All food is freshly prepared and cooked in the very clean kitchen. Staff are friendly and responsive and nothing is enough trouble for them.
The whole experience is one to remember -not only will you get a great Moroccon meal -you will experience the fantastic surroundings. Dar Najat -especially in the evening -is very romantic -soft lightning -furnished to the highest standards -plus the lit jacuzzi. Moroccon music also softly playing.
I highly recommend the lemon tagine and choice of vegetables. I have eaten this dish in a number of places but it does not compare to the standard at Dar Najat. Very good prices too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    33
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic riad, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The most important detail: if you are not staying at the riad, make sure to call ahead so a staffer will meet you in the main square. Dar najat is on a residential road which is barely lit; finding this place was a massive undertaking.

But we were glad we came. Service is very liesurely, and the friendly staff wants you to enjoy a complete evening. Great apps, excellent tanjine, and a refreshing fruit cocktail for dessert. Fixed menu.

Very good food at an authentic riad. If we return, I would strongly favor returning to far najat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
münchen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent/Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Many fresh morrocain salads and a fabulous couscous royal made me realy happy!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The evening started well - led upstairs to our table by Amin (nice friendly chap), he spent a few minutes chatting to us, introduced us to the chef, and then left us to it. So far so good.

It was a set menu, so no options, and luckily I had emailed ahead telling them that my wife is a vegetarian.

Starters were nice - mixed salad. And mains were also decent - my chicken tagine was massive!

Once we'd finished our mains we were given mint tea, but then left alone for well in excess of half an hour before the chef/waiter appeared again. (Felt somewhat odd as we were the only people dining that night!).
When we did finally get some attention (which was only after I whistled in the direction of the kitchen - seriously), all we wanted was the bill and to get home to bed. Lucky really as we weren't even offered the option of having any dessert.

Shame really as we'd gone expecting much better. Maybe we caught them on an off night, but even so, good service isn't difficult when you only have one couple to attend to. Honestly felt like we'd been forgotten about.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dar Najat's Kitchen, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Hi and thanks for your review..at least the gastronomy 's part which seems to suit you well..and sorry if due to real hot temperature..with more than 48 Celsius since several days..the team or service has not been what it should or.. "full power " on this day which was you are right again ..supposed to be a day off but anyway should have been better and your dessert.. faster too!
Sincerely yours ,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This is the best place to eat in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have eaten many times in Dar Najat's Kitchen and I am never disappointed. The traditional Moroccan food is freshly cooked and their choice of menu is always superb with lots of different salads to start.... a fish stew or lamb tagine and all served by friendly staff who are attentive when required. The atmosphere on the terrace overlooking the beautiful views of Marrakech at night is so good...you can spend the whole evening enjoying the amazing food and listening to some great music too....you must try it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Najat's Kitchen also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Najat's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Najat's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.