We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational at the Salama” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Salama

Le Salama
40 Rue de Banques | just off Djema el Fnaa, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-91300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 616 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Moroccan, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This restaurant/ bar is a true find. Located just meters off Djema el Fna square it has an ambience and elegance not previously found on the square. Having just opened in December 2011 the service is superb and vibrant. Le Salama is spread over 3 levels allowing to cater for over 200 guests and is crowned with a panoramic terrace overlooking the Atlas mountains and a 360 degree view of the medina. The menu offers modern Moroccan cuisine including delights such as Monkfish Tagine or Lamb Shank with caramelized tomatoes and poached pear. Mouthwatering! This is the perfect place for a tea break, sipping a cocktail or a good local Moroccan wine or even having a meal after shopping in the souk.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sensational at the Salama”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Four Seasons and they recommended this restaurant which was good advice.The food was well cooked and delicious and the wine was good.We had the lamb and this was of good quality.The service was courteous and their English was excellent.This is not a low cost restaurant but the decor, lighting and atmosphere are very good and it is worth the prices which are charged

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    218
    90
    45
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant near the big square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a nice restaurant near the big square Jamaa Finaa. Service is good. A good but basic selection of local dishes. A but pricey though taken into consideration general level of prices for food in Marrakech.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We thought we would ignore the previous bad reviews and give le Salama a try but on asking for the bill after ordering happy hour drinks we were asked for the full amount as 'we had been given large glasses of wine not small ones' ... we had not been given any size options when ordering and the waiter had told us 'it's happy hour' when taking our order.... don't ruin your evening by visiting this place, you will get better offers from the people pedalling fake watches in the square.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
co londonderry
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A really nice classy restaurant. Food a little expensive but worth it as it was very enjoyable. Good service and a nice wine bar upstairs with 2 for 1.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor service and misleading sales technique”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We entered via an offer of buy one get one free on beers and were quite taken aback once we got in. The place was decorated very well and we imagined it could be a great place to go. However despite the few number of customers to five staff members it took us half an hour to get a drink. Just as we had out first sip they decided to tell us it wasn't included in their offer. Not very impressed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Salama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Salama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Salama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.