We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Fusion Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added House of Fusion Marrakech to your Saves list
House of Fusion Marrakech
Derb Jdid 81 | Riad Zitoune Lkdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My family and I took part in Edwina's "long-half day" cooking class at the reccomendation of a few friends. We are sure glad we took their advice beacuse we had an awesome experience. Upon arriving we all sat down to have coffee and tea to discuss the food we had enjoyed thus far on our trip and things we might want to learn to cook. We made a huge laundry list of amazing dishes that we would cook and then got a quick Arabic lesson so we could talk with the shop owners in the market to get our fresh ingredients ourselves. After our shopping which was a joy, we got back to the Riad and got to cooking! With our note books out that were provided we wrote down the recipes as we went along. Edwina really knows her stuff and the food we made was incredible! Some of the most flavorful food I've ever tasted and definitely some of the best in Morocco. When she reccommends the sardines...DO IT! You will be shocked at how tastey they are! I refused to eat them my whole life because in my mind they all come in a metal tin but these were fresh and to die for. Each dish had a presentation that made it all the better. Not only did it look like it was prepared by a 5 star restaurant but it tasted like it as well. My only regret is that I could not fit more into my stomach! As our time came to a close we spent nearly an hour just sitting and talking with Edwina and her husband. We really had a delightful time and when we said goodbye to Edwina, we felt like we were saying goodbye to a friend. If you take a cooking class in Marrakech, do so with Edwina!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

While my husband and I did not actually stay at this riad, we did attend a "long half-day" class. We were the only 2 in the class, and we were an hour late (we got miserably lost). As soon as we arrived, our host, Edwina, poured us some coffee, and we got to it. The reason I picked her class was because it looks like almost all the other cooking classes in Marrakech only teach tagine and couscous - as an experienced cook, I wanted more. Well, I certainly got it!

We sat and discussed what we would make - Edwina made several suggestions (e.g., to try fresh sardines), and I knew of a few things I was interested in, (including, yes, Chicken Tagine with Preserved Lemons). We made a shopping list, learned a few Arabic words to shop with, and headed to the market. When we returned, she, her chef Mohammed, and the two of us got to chopping and assembling...we jotted down the recipes in small notebooks she gave us (it was tough to keep up with so many dishes, but we did our best). After a few hours, we had made 10 dishes!! A few of her friends came by and we invited them to join us for a real feast. After a couple of bottles of wine and eating ourselves silly, Edwina took us all to the spice market - it was fun! We all sat down and had some wonderful tea with herbs, and enjoyed a good discussion on spices. One of the best things we found was the spice mix Ras el Hanout in its whole form - some 35 whole spices that were ground for us - it smelled great! The seller was very friendly, funny, and did not pressure us in any way.

Edwina ended up spending the entire day with us. So, in summary...great class, fun, fun day - I recommend it highy!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We spent the day at Riad Merdoudi for the cooking classes. It was a truly wonderful, intimate experience. This is not a "cooking demonstration" you will be the hands-on chef! Edwina (Australian, so the teaching was in English) does a wonderful job instructing as well as helping you to experience the culture. We bought our groceries at a local market, learned about our spices at the Founduek, and cooked some of our food in a communal kitchen. The Riad itself is lovely, and well equipped for a wonderful cooking experience. We selected the dishes we wanted to cook and Edwina offered some suggestions that made a delicious menu. You'll walk away with multiple recipes that blend traditional Moroccan food with a twist of modernity! Her staff is also very helpful. Altogether it was a wonderful experience. It was an all day course, but we were enjoying it so much it was over before we knew it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We had a wonderful day at this riad doing a Morrocan Cookery course. After discussing our dishes our lovely teacher/owner of the riad took us off to the markets to buy our ingredients. This was an experience in itself. We then spent the morning preparing our lunch and went off to the communal oven to cook it.
Next came the best bit - the eating. After lunch we went off to the spice market and came back to make several dishes for our evening meal. We even learnt the correct way to make mint tea.
It was an excellent day and we would recommend to anyone interested in cooking and learning about the local way of life - it was great fun.

Incidently we didn't stay at this riad as we were already booked into another hotel - however we were shown round the rooms which were really lovely and our host very friendly

  • Liked — Rooms are beautiful
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

I have mixed feeling about our stay in this Riad and mostly this is due to an unfortunate behavior.

First, the room was wonderful. This riad is very nicely decorated. Edwina which was doing most of the "entertaining" with the guests does it very well. She is obviously funny, she is trying to be helpful but mainly, she's trying to make profit and not always in honest ways.

We took the cooking class. There was another couple matched with us and we had a really great day. The dinner was delicious. But be aware, you have to keep up with Edwina which will do at least three or four recipes at the same time. (So that might mess up your notes... if it is important for you). It was great fun.

I think the reserved I have is about honesty. Honesty about
1. Bringing you to a spice merchant and letting him ripping you off knowing that it is your first day in Morocco and that you are not quite use yet to the bargaining exchange (specially in front of the host/cooking class teacher)
2. Arranging for you a taxi for a day at a fare that is totally insanely out of the price range (600 dh)or if you would have done it by yourself (50dh).
3. Supposedly giving you a rebate on your room rate if you decide to stay a day longer but than charging you unexpected fees to keep your luggages for a day (even lying to our face and making-up a story about it).

Obviously, Marrakech is the worst place for pricing and this is the place in Morocco you will probably get ripped off. At the end of our journey (3 weeks), this is the place that we will remember as NOT the right value for money. The room is also too expensive. We stayed at an alternative hotel in Marrakech that was fine but was 2 times less expensive.

I would still recommend the riad and especially the cooking class but watch your wallet very carefully with the owner and the "spice man".

  • Liked — Cooking class
  • Disliked — honesty of the owner
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibboLosAngles, owner at House of Fusion Marrakech, responded to this review, December 23, 2008
Gosh, what a review! Let's start with the spice trader..as part of the cooking class, we offer the opportunity to visit a traders' fondouk where you are able to buy small quantities of the spices used during the class, if that's what you'd love to do. The particular trader we patronize was chosen for not only the quality of his spices but also for being so accommodating as to sell to our class small amounts and not sacks as is his usual trade..
We recall that we had arranged a local and mountain taxi with you to take you to Mt Toubkal. This was going to be 50 dhms to take you by petit taxi from the riad to where the mountain taxis leave, as you had a considerable amount of luggage. From there by mountain taxi, it was going to be 600 dhms to hire the entire taxi to take you all the way to Mt. Toubkal and not just leave you at the normal drop off point at Asni. On the morning of your departure you learned that other guests were having a day out with our driver and if they detoured, they could take you too! We had to then arrange a larger car, not only to include you but also your considerable luggage. We are not sure who you believed would be paying for you to travel by private car.. we hope it wasn't expected that our day outing guests would! We charged you 300 dms, less than half if you had travelled, locally. We were surprised but accommodating when our driver returned to the riad with all your luggage to store! As you had checked-out, we and also our driver weren't expecting your luggage to boomerang for storing! Where is the surprise in having to pay for this facility, I wonder! Was life more joyous when we traded in beads!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

From the minute we arrived at Riad Merdoudi to the minute we left we experienced the holiday we hoped for. The Riad is magnificent. Edwina's flair for decorating is evident in every corner of the Riad, coupled with the thoughtful service provided by Edwina, Abdellatif, Mohammed and Sofien, it is impossible not to enjoy your time at the Riad. The terrace is a beautiful place to have breakfast and to spend quiet time reading a book or snoozing. The day spent cooking at the Riad had us giggling while we tried our best to order our vegetables, meat and spices in the souks and working hard to follow Edwina's detailed instructions for the 10 dishes we had under construction all at the same time. The resulting dinner was superb! The day spent cooking at the village in the Atlas mountains was a cultural and culinary experience not to be missed. And of course you can shop until you drop in the souks. Edwina will guide you to many wonderful finds. Riad Merdoudi is a very special place and one not to be missed.

  • Liked — The decor, Edwina, Adellatif, Mohammed, Sofien and Mary Lou
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

My wife and I have recently returned from ten days in Marrakech, staying at Riad Merdoudi, the creation of Edwina an Australian and her Moroccan husband Abdellatif. From the moment we stepped inside until we left 10 days later, we were enchanted bythis fantastic couple and the city they now call home. The riad is stunning! Very contemporary and very restful. We had arrived from Fes where we had stayed surrounded by the busiest decor in memory. Restful, NO! Abdellatif met us where we had to drop our rental car off and after mentioning that I didn't want to get into a car again for a while, he pointed to his very streamlined moto and just said "hop on the back and I'll get a cab for your wife!" From that moment we only had to mention something and it happenned for the entire 10 days! We had cooking classes in the riad with Edwina who was so creative and passionate about all that we prepared and such fun to shop with as she piled our baskets higher and higher with more than we had learned the arabic with Abdellatif, for! I can still hear her saying about some egg plant we were eyeing, "Darling man, pop them on the top..let's have something irrestible and wobbly!" Then, an unforgettable day cooking in an ancient village on market day, taken there by Abdellatif. This couple has an eye for detail, so subtle it never ceased to surprise. Each day we would discover something else to exclaim over! We are giving our daughter a 30th birthday present of a week in this little piece of heaven..she and her husband squeal with delight with each email from the Merdoudis, as their holiday takes shape. Food like you 've never tasted, beds like you've never slept in and hosts like you'll seldom find! Oh if you could do this for us in Australia!

  • Liked — The style, the comfort, the luxury the hosts.
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Fusion Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Fusion Marrakech

Address: Derb Jdid 81 | Riad Zitoune Lkdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful culinary destination is somewhere glorious to holiday and celebrate fooding. Sumptuous accommodation in this chic riad, is offered exclusively, to guests booking a culinary stay. Then there are the fabulous gourmet road trips, all the way to the desert, where along the way, you will picnic in hidden gorges, stay in kasbahs, cook in a tribal desert outpost, beyond the end of the road, close to the Algerian border, later, riding camels to camp beside dunes, in a private camp, cooking dinner over stones. Fusion and traditional cooking classes are held in the riad and a traditional over coals class can be had in a remote High Atlas village, 90 minutes from Marrakech and a tribal desert outpost as part of a road trip. Gourmet picnics along the Tizn Test, dinner parties and celebrations. Everything we do is far off the tourist trail and glorious beyond words. All holidays are planned to feel personal and absolutely extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your House of Fusion Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Fusion Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.