We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont go!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amlal

Save Saved
You added Riad Amlal to your Saves list
Riad Amlal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Amlal
Rue El Gza, Derb Ezzamuri Sidi Bouaamar No 128, Medina,, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #726 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dont go!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

room at ground floor is dark and ugly. it's very noisy, especially because staff is listening to loud music at night, even though they know you are in the room. speakers are attached at the door, so if you want to rest its impossible! shower pressure is very weak, if someone is using hot water in the kitchen, only few drops are coming out. staff is smoking and eating on the sofas all day long. looks like you disturb them if you go asking for something. you have to pay for laundry facilities, but depend who you are talking with, the price is changing. we have been offered a desert trip witch was 70 euros more expensive than other agencies prices. that's a rip off!!! towels have stains and the bed cover was dirty, like someone dropped hot chocolate (hopefully). we could stand all the issues, but not the unfriendly staff. we didn't feel welcomed at all.

Room Tip: my tip is not to go there!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
3
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The staff was very nice and friendly until we declined to use their tour agency, which is more than double the price of other good agencies. The shower has hot water for only abt 5 min, and only a few drops of water will come out. On the day before we left they asked us to move to another room, for no reason! On the day we left, the guy just followed us everywhere inside of the hostel, he stood at the door of the room, to make sure we left at exactly 11:00am, the check out time. The blankets were not washed between guests. In general, although the place is beautiful, they don't run a hostel, they run a tour agency, and they mainly want money.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked Riad Amlal because of its budget price (we arrived on New Year's Eve and many other places were either unavailable or expensive). After having just arrived in Marrakesh and trekking through the streets, it was a relief to get inside the quiet courtyard of this riad. We were invited to sit down and served tea straight away, which was a nice touch.

There was a bit of a hiccup with the booking - we had booked a private double room, and were told on arrival that there was a problem with the light in the room. It turned out instead that the hotel had been overbooked (understandable, as it was NYE) and there were only dorm rooms available. We were quite happy to stay in a dorm for a lower price, but would have preferred to be told straight up that this was the case.

Other than that, the beds were comfortable, the atmosphere was peaceful and quiet, Mustapha kept us and the other guests very entertained and celebrated NYE with us, Hicham gave us a map and talked us through directions and attractions, and the riad's location is good, quite easily accessible via a straight street from Jemaa al-Fna. If you're happy to stay in a dorm, we would recommend Riad Amlal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've stayed @ many hostels & never encountered one with so many issues. Booked a private double only to be told they overbooked. We were re-accommodated @ a hostel down the street. Was awful. Dark, creepy, smelly. We only stayed one night b/f checking in at a B&B for 1 night before returning to this hostel once the room became available. Standing water in shower, no luggage storage. Nothing as advertised. Other guests overbooked as well and slept on cots in hall. VERY LOUD, slept terribly. Sketchy at best.

I wish the B&B we stayed at for the 1 night of respite was available for our entire stay, it was so comfortable (Riad Agathe).

I don't enjoy leaving negative reviews but the problems we had here definitely affected our experience.

Room Tip: If you book here, contact right away to ensure they're not overbooked. The double room downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Mustapha, Hicham, and the rest of the gang gave my fellow travelers and I a great experience in Marrakech at an amazing price. Although we only stayed on night at the hostel, they were extremely friendly and willing to help us with whatever we needed. When we returned to Marrakech for a few hours before our flight (we had been traveling around the country after our initial stay there) Hicham graciously allowed us to drop off our bags, have a cup of tea, and rest up before taking advantage of our last hours in Morocco. Cannot say enough good things about this place and the guys who run it, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Watched me get ROBBED right in front of the door and did NOTHING ABOUT IT. It was obvious he knew the thugs. Unclear directions to hostel on purpose so local touts can extort money out of tourists by "showing them to the hostel" Lied about prices. Booked a private room and was put in a dorm upon arrival. When i paid they inflated the price and said "it's only a few euro just pay it". On a less important note, riad reeked of cigarette smoke and the shower had about 3 inches of standing water.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I am a bit slow in writing this review (I actually visited in January 2012, but it didn't let me pick that option) as I have not been using Trip Advisor for a while, but I have to tell everyone how great this place is..... After being picked up at the airport for a modest fee, I was shown my room which was clean, cute and had a really good bathroom. I'd also like to point out that I am a solo female traveller in my mid-twenties, and never once felt unsafe. The Riad is located a little walk away from the main square, but its not hard to get to, and I loved walking through the streets, dodging little kids playing soccer, and really feeling like you were getting under the skin of Marrakech.
The beds are comfy, the rooms nicely decorated and there is always mint tea on offer.
I stayed in a private room the first couple of nights, and after a side trip to Essaouira I returned to Riad Amlal (which wasnt in my original plans) and stayed in the dorm, which had plenty of space. No lockers, but they will keep valuabes in the safe if you need.
The really wonderful part about Riad Amlal though, is it instantly felt so welcoming and homelike. Mustapha, Farid, Hicham and the rest of the staff are so friendly, knowledgeable about the city and are just all round funny, enjoyable people to meet! Any negative reviews on here are probably more of an indication of the temperment of the writer, rather than the owners and staff at Riad Amlal - you can't imagine how much they want to have happy guests. I also highly recommend the tours offered, I took the 3 day desert tour and it was awesome. In fact, I can't recommend this place enough. I think often and wistfully about it and can't wait to return and visit my friends in Marrakech again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Amour de Riad
Amour de Riad
#622 of 1,040 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Lodge, Independ...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Massin
Riad Massin
#49 of 182 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Restaurant, Kit...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Jakoura
Riad Jakoura
#507 of 1,040 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#183 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Quiet, Free int...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#615 of 1,040 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Hostel, Lodge...
Show More
0.0 mi away
La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amlal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amlal

Address: Rue El Gza, Derb Ezzamuri Sidi Bouaamar No 128, Medina,, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #726 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina for a wonderful relaxing stay, Riad Amlal is located in the old city of Marrakech, just off the souks and close to the Jemaa-el-Fna square. The Riad is a sanctuary for travellers, with dorms, double and single rooms. All of the rooms feature air conditioning and en-suite bathroom facilities. Kitchen facilities are available for your use. Why not relax with a cold drink on the sun-loungers and plan your next shopping excursion to the souks. Attention to detail and beautiful, traditional decoration throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Amlal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amlal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.