We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Bahriya

Al Bahriya
75 Bis Av. Moulay Rachid | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
0524/84--61--86
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 589 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is my third time at albahriya , it is a wonderful restaurant I give it 10/10 for food quality , service and atmosphere.

The way they are using spices with fish can not be found in many restaurants in morocco , that's why they are very special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    66
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A highly rated fish restaurant next door to our hotel (Almas), seemed to good to be true from the reviews we'd read before we went but nope there it was and it was always very busy. Mainly locals which I tend to take as a good sign at an eatery anyway.

Menu is fish, fish and fish...with a small selection of salads. If you don't like fish then you will be stuck for food here.

My wife is not a huge lover of fish and we were a bit shocked to see salads were the only other choice however she does like prawns and did they have prawns!

We had 500gm of huge prawns each, all picked from the counter next to us and all fresh. They were cooked to perfection and tasted out of this world. Definitely garlic used and a spice I could not figure but only very lightly and not enough to mask the delicious prawn meat.

The bill for 1kg of superbly cooked and highly flavoured prawns was 200dirhams (approx £16.00) - so it offered jaw dropping value.

The range of fish they had on the counter was also jaw dropping and was priced a hell of a lot lower than the prawns - so for every thing else other than prawns the value is simply unbelievable for the size portions we were seeing.

If you like fish then this has to be a definite must visit in Marrakesh !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fab place - a must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Ate here 3 times in 3 days....it was that good!
We ordered a piece of swordfish, calamari and king prawns. All were grilled to perfection after being dressed with herbs, garlic and seasonings. They do fried fish too, goujons of white fish and the calamari too! All come with heaps of bread, rice and a tomato based fish sauce, plus olives and lemon/lime. Great value - we paid about 140 dirhams for two, just over £10 at current conversion rates.
The great thing about this place is that they do take away.....which we did, and had a fabulous fish lunch under a tree at Marrakech Menara airport! We had so much left over, we fed 4 other people - locals - who were very appreciative!
Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Ludicrously good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was superb - the last meal we had in Morocco, and probably the best. Excellent value - I paid 60 dirhams for the best and most filling platter of fresh fish I've ever had, topped off with complimentary bread, rice and fish sauce. The platters and calamari are excellent, and the service is quick - only trouble is the flies, which surround the outside tables. We ate inside, which solved most of the problem - and had a great time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Popped in here to eat after reading reviews and we weren't disappointed. The other diners were mostly locals and the atmosphere was laid back and friendly. We chose our fish (sole) from the ice filled counter, requested it was grilled and were presented with fresh bread, olives and dips to nibble on while waiting. The fish was fresh, cooked to perfection and served with delicious fried vegetables Service was quick and polite. Highly recommended, only sorry we didn't have time to go back to sample the lobster.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bahriya also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Bahriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Bahriya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.