We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, dubious cleanliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Lamine Hadj Mustapha

Chez Lamine Hadj Mustapha
Souk Ablouh, 18-26 | Guéliz Rue Ibn Aicha N°26 en face De Montcristo, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 642 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: French, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Cash Only, Free Wifi
Description: You are visiting Marrakesh or Morocco for the First , Our visit will be completed by eating a Tangia Marrkaechia , the famous special dish in Marrakesh composed by meats and some special spicies ......Since 1965, chez lamine is one of the famous popular restaurant special on Tangia ... So try it as soon as possible, you are welcome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, dubious cleanliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Read about this place in lonely planet - and it's worth a trip. They haven't done the classic 'Lonely Planet price hike' nor is it rammed with tourists which is definitely a plus. Went for a small lamb tagina between two which was good for a light dinner.

Food tasted really good
Good value
Friendly service (and less pushy than your average place in Morocco)
Friendly resident cat (at the time of our visit)
Popular with locals

Cleanliness (of cutlery (just use your hands and bread), of the restaurant, and of the toilet)

Definitely worth a visit though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank davidlross87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brave Indeed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having read about the meshwi stalls prior to our arrival, they were placed on the to do list. We passed the alley daily on route to and from our riad. The first day we looked at it, the second day we considered it and the third day WE DID IT. As we came all this way, we thought it a crime not to try it. Just had the meshwi and bread (meshwi burger really) - it tasted pretty good, although I could have done without watching the `hands on´ preparation. But hey, we live to tell the tale and there is definitely no mistaking it for horse.

Visited April 2013
1 Thank Bravefoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great lamb dishes for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We walked pass it when we were strolling around the souk after lunch, the exotic pots of stewed mutton and lamb heads looks really interesting. As its only 5 mins walk from the main square, we tried to return for dinner but it was closed. With much expectation, we returned for lunch the next day. There were a lot of locals and few tourists. We tried both mechoui, lamb meat (half kilo) and tangia, lamb with spiced sauce and lemon (half kilo) with bread. They were both good!! Two of us paying a total of 140dh were extremely full! The second floor seat facing window is very nice and quiet. Staff are friendly and the young chef preparing food in front of the stall is very friendly and speak English well. Worth trying!

Thank MariayAdley T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“must-try if you a hard-core location-authentic traveller and meat-lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

location was tricky to find first time...get inside the souk from the lane just left of the Cafe Alhambra (at Jemaa el Fnaa) and the shop comes almost immediately to your right. the decorated sheep's head, tajines and the fresh mechoui being brought out are unmistakable.
take a seat on the roof with the view of the square...go down with the wiaters and select the portion of the goat which you want - they will cut that portion, weigh it and give it to you on a piece of newspaper...no nonsense, no gimmicks.
the fresh mechoui, bread, olives and the lime-tomato-chilly paste, drinks (non-alcoholic) of your choice...this place is a up on my list!
the mechoui just comes off the bone...just smear some cumin-salt and enjoy bliss!
this place serves tajine also...but leave the tajine for the other places and just go for the mechoui and the tanjia...the rare specialties of morocco.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
2 Thank SoumitreeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant - fantastic food - authentic atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Our congenial driver and guide decided that we should try one of Morocco's best loved dishes, the "tanjia", not to be confused with "tagine."

This restaurant is centrally located in Marrakesh, and has quite a loyal following. Outside, there is a refrigerated case showing the meats of the day, in case you want something grilled, but I suspect most customers come here for the "tanjia".

The tanjia was traditionally prepared by men. A terracota vase or urn was stuffed with meats and spices, covered, and left slow-cooking in the charcoal ovens or in the "hamman"... well, now a days, a brick oven is used, but the results are fantastic.

I ordered a mutton tanjia for one person. I personally have never been a fan of mutton, but this tanjia was out of this world. The meat melted off the bones, there was no odor, whatsoever of mutton (which is what I detest), and the seasoning, wow, I ate so much bread because I didn't want the sauce to go to waste.

We loved this place so much that we requested to go there the day we departed Marrakech. The second time I ordered the "tangia marrakchia" (lamb cooked very slowly in the terracotta jars), and we were extremely delighted with this mouthwatering tanjia.

This place is full of local Moroccans, one sees a lot of families, and I think we were the only tourists... almost hate to divulge this little secret place.If you want to try one of Morocco's beloved dish, you must visit Chez Lamine!

Rue Ibn Aicha, opposite Montecristo, Guéliz, Marrakesh

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
2 Thank reginafug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Lamine Hadj Mustapha also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Chez Lamine Hadj Mustapha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing