We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be outside of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albakech House

Save Saved
You added Albakech House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albakech House
Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to be outside of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked for 3 nights at Albakech house in the first week of September 2013 to spend our time sunbathing and reading before we moved into the Medina to experience the chaos for the rest of our holiday. And it was perfect for that!
Transfers were arranged for us from the airport and we arrived to be greeted by extremely friendly staff. The staff we're very helpful throughout our stay, booking restaurants etc.
I'm a bit confused by other reviews saying Albakech house doesn't have a restaurant, because we ate there one of the nights we were there, and the food was delicious and a very good price. We'd also forgotten to buy a bottle of wine to have with dinner, so the owner just gave us one of his own to have (the place isn't licensed to sell alcohol), which sums up the kindness of the people who work at Albakech.
The surrounding area is mostly other hotels, with a cinema and a shopping centre just outside the door (in which there is a big supermarket, great for buying water, drinks, snacks etc). So if you're expecting to walk out the front door and be greeted by the souks, you're in the wrong place. However there are free transfers up to a certain time, and the guys will book taxis too (we never actually used the facility).
The room was delightful with great air conditioning and loads of space. The pool area was lovely, with loads of sun loungers and big towels to cover them provided clean every day (very nice). The pool itself is a reasonable size, and a good shape for sitting in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    35
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
78
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Albakech House is a gorgeous, welcoming hotel with beautiful rooms and a brilliant pool. Only a short walk from the supermarket and the free day-time shuttle service into the main town were great to have, and the owner Adam and his staff were always very helpful. Also, supplying towels was a massive help! Overall, an amazing few days spent in a beautiful city and a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in Albakech house last week and Adam and his team made us feel at home. Our riad had a good location , which is near to the mall and had free shuttle service to and fro the medina. Adam also managed to book last minute tours for us. Overall, it was a great stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had another fabulous holiday at Albakech House the place makes you chill out completely it is so tranquil and peaceful. Adam and his staff cannot do enough for you, everyone is so friendly. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable and spaceous. Cant wait until next year when we go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we stayed he recently with my family and it was perfect, the owner adam made u feel so welcome and we wanted for nothing , just away from the buzz and only a taxi ride away { which adam arranged ) we will be back next time we visit. thanks adam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here along with 4 other girls at the end of june for a week. We couldnt have picked better! It's far enough away from the hustle and bustle to get some peace, but close enough to be able to go whenever you like. It's 5/10 mins in a cab (which you book through reception). The japanese next door is fantastic too, we eat here twice and had pre drinks here a couple of times. Everyone i met in Marrakesh was lovely, so no need to feel nervous. The hotel itself was everything we needed and more! The pool was amazing, breakfast was lovely and staff were fantastic.

Get away from the pool though, don't get tempted to stay here all holiday, as there is so much to see of the real marrakesh and it is all cose by with a short taxi ride.

Make sure you visit the new town aswell, just to see the complete oposite of the souks/medina!

Over the road from the hotel is the mall, which was fantastic, and we went there at least once a day mostly to carrfour, but also to have lunch on the top floor.

I can't recommend this hotel enough, it's perfect in every way.

Wish i was still there

Room Tip: Any. We had a group of five, so we got a double room and they they put 3 singles in another for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It's not often on our travels that we are truly blown away by every single aspect of our accommodation, but the Albakech Hotel was the most idyllic hotel that we have ever stayed at.

Adam and his staff work tirelessly to ensure that your stay is exactly as you want it. The atmosphere is so relaxed, that you know that behind the scenes, it takes a lot of hard work to achieve this. There is nothing that is too much trouble.

We stayed for a week, and were spoilt by being in the Superior Suite, which was simply amazing! The rooms (we were lucky enough to be able to see the "standard rooms" - although there was nothing standard about them!) were immaculately maintained. The decor of an extremely high standard and taste. The rooms were cleaned daily, and fresh towels supplied daily.

The hotel's is a quiet haven away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina and Souks - a little piece of paradise having been created.

We had the evening meal at the hotel on two occasions, and on both we were treated to traditional mezzes, tasty tagines (the vegetable tagine and the beef tagine were sublime), all seated outside, with the back drop of the hotel and pool. Lovely!

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway with exceptional service and first class accommodation, then we cannot recommend the Albakech enough! WE WILL BE RETURNING!

Room Tip: Any! Seriously! They are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albakech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albakech House

Address: Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Albakech House, a British Moroccan owned luxury riad situated in the new Touristic area of Agdal, only 5 minutes from the airport, medina and new town. Situated right next door to Pacha Marrakech complex and the Almazar shopping centre which has lots of restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine. Come meet Adam and the team at this fantastic location with panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. Experience the beauty of Marrakech, in a relaxed, friendly and welcoming setting. We offer excellent customer service and complete comfort. You'll never want to leave! Come and join us aboard the Marrakech Express, for a stay you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Albakech House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albakech House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.