We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be outside of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albakech House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albakech House to your Saves list
Albakech House
Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to be outside of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked for 3 nights at Albakech house in the first week of September 2013 to spend our time sunbathing and reading before we moved into the Medina to experience the chaos for the rest of our holiday. And it was perfect for that!
Transfers were arranged for us from the airport and we arrived to be greeted by extremely friendly staff. The staff we're very helpful throughout our stay, booking restaurants etc.
I'm a bit confused by other reviews saying Albakech house doesn't have a restaurant, because we ate there one of the nights we were there, and the food was delicious and a very good price. We'd also forgotten to buy a bottle of wine to have with dinner, so the owner just gave us one of his own to have (the place isn't licensed to sell alcohol), which sums up the kindness of the people who work at Albakech.
The surrounding area is mostly other hotels, with a cinema and a shopping centre just outside the door (in which there is a big supermarket, great for buying water, drinks, snacks etc). So if you're expecting to walk out the front door and be greeted by the souks, you're in the wrong place. However there are free transfers up to a certain time, and the guys will book taxis too (we never actually used the facility).
The room was delightful with great air conditioning and loads of space. The pool area was lovely, with loads of sun loungers and big towels to cover them provided clean every day (very nice). The pool itself is a reasonable size, and a good shape for sitting in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenAndWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Albakech House is a gorgeous, welcoming hotel with beautiful rooms and a brilliant pool. Only a short walk from the supermarket and the free day-time shuttle service into the main town were great to have, and the owner Adam and his staff were always very helpful. Also, supplying towels was a massive help! Overall, an amazing few days spent in a beautiful city and a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Albakech house last week and Adam and his team made us feel at home. Our riad had a good location , which is near to the mall and had free shuttle service to and fro the medina. Adam also managed to book last minute tours for us. Overall, it was a great stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freezeup53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had another fabulous holiday at Albakech House the place makes you chill out completely it is so tranquil and peaceful. Adam and his staff cannot do enough for you, everyone is so friendly. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable and spaceous. Cant wait until next year when we go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we stayed he recently with my family and it was perfect, the owner adam made u feel so welcome and we wanted for nothing , just away from the buzz and only a taxi ride away { which adam arranged ) we will be back next time we visit. thanks adam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here along with 4 other girls at the end of june for a week. We couldnt have picked better! It's far enough away from the hustle and bustle to get some peace, but close enough to be able to go whenever you like. It's 5/10 mins in a cab (which you book through reception). The japanese next door is fantastic too, we eat here twice and had pre drinks here a couple of times. Everyone i met in Marrakesh was lovely, so no need to feel nervous. The hotel itself was everything we needed and more! The pool was amazing, breakfast was lovely and staff were fantastic.

Get away from the pool though, don't get tempted to stay here all holiday, as there is so much to see of the real marrakesh and it is all cose by with a short taxi ride.

Make sure you visit the new town aswell, just to see the complete oposite of the souks/medina!

Over the road from the hotel is the mall, which was fantastic, and we went there at least once a day mostly to carrfour, but also to have lunch on the top floor.

I can't recommend this hotel enough, it's perfect in every way.

Wish i was still there

Room Tip: Any. We had a group of five, so we got a double room and they they put 3 singles in another for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgpurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It's not often on our travels that we are truly blown away by every single aspect of our accommodation, but the Albakech Hotel was the most idyllic hotel that we have ever stayed at.

Adam and his staff work tirelessly to ensure that your stay is exactly as you want it. The atmosphere is so relaxed, that you know that behind the scenes, it takes a lot of hard work to achieve this. There is nothing that is too much trouble.

We stayed for a week, and were spoilt by being in the Superior Suite, which was simply amazing! The rooms (we were lucky enough to be able to see the "standard rooms" - although there was nothing standard about them!) were immaculately maintained. The decor of an extremely high standard and taste. The rooms were cleaned daily, and fresh towels supplied daily.

The hotel's is a quiet haven away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina and Souks - a little piece of paradise having been created.

We had the evening meal at the hotel on two occasions, and on both we were treated to traditional mezzes, tasty tagines (the vegetable tagine and the beef tagine were sublime), all seated outside, with the back drop of the hotel and pool. Lovely!

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway with exceptional service and first class accommodation, then we cannot recommend the Albakech enough! WE WILL BE RETURNING!

Room Tip: Any! Seriously! They are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandKKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.6 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#176 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#223 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#123 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#205 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 3,413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal
Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal
#295 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albakech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albakech House

Address: Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Albakech House, a British Moroccan owned luxury riad situated in the new Touristic area of Agdal, only 5 minutes from the airport, medina and new town. Situated right next door to Pacha Marrakech complex and the Almazar shopping centre which has lots of restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine. Come meet Adam and the team at this fantastic location with panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. Experience the beauty of Marrakech, in a relaxed, friendly and welcoming setting. We offer excellent customer service and complete comfort. You'll never want to leave! Come and join us aboard the Marrakech Express, for a stay you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albakech House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing