We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albakech House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Albakech House to your Saves list
Albakech House
Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The AlbaKech House is an unparalleled, villa-styled hotel and is perfectly situated in a newly developed tourist area, and it's about 10 minutes away from the airport, the medina (old town square, main town of Marrakech) and the new town. But, the hotel offers a free shuttle service that can drop you off at these places. Timings are within reason. As soon as I checked out of the airport, a driver was sent by the hotel to collect me.


My room was delightfully decorated and extremely spacious. The hotel has its own hamman, and I can definitely recommend the massage as well. It was an absolutely, essential pleasure after a hike up the mountains to the waterfalls, in Ourika Valley.


Just across the road from the hotel, are plenty of fast food outlets and restaurants, a shopping mall and a supermarket for convenience.


The owner Adam is extremely knowledgeable of the area and is particularly attentive. The AlbaKech House staffs are amazing, extremely friendly and helpful, and they couldn't do enough for me. They are able to speak English, French and Arabic. Adam prides himself on providing both a personal and outstanding service.


This lovely gem of a hotel is a sanctuary to escape to and would definitely appeal to all types of tourists, and my only regret is not staying longer!

Room Tip: You must try the in-house hamman and massage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    37
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
83
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Albakech House was phenomenal. The hotel was small, intimate, clean and wonderfully staffed. While it is outside of the city, they provide a driver to take you downtown during the day and it is only a short taxi ride away. The little garden/pool area is perfect for sunning, swimming and relaxing outside of the hectic downtown area. We had a ground floor room which was very big, although dark, and it stayed cool during the day which was great (there was aircon in any case). The room was beautifully decorated with Moroccan lanterns, big leather furniture and a giant comfy bed. The bathroom was recently updated with new chrome fixtures and a high power rain showerhead. Breakfast was fantastic and the service was of such a high standard. One day we slept in until very late and the kind staff brought us omlettes in our room, despite having closed the kitchen. The hammam in the basement is very intimate - we had a couples hammam treatment and I had a massage which was fantastic. The owner, a Scot, is very friendly and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend the Albakech House to everyone. My husband and I will be back for sure. Recommendation: Book through the hotel directly for a cheaper fare than using other hotel websites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 4 night at Albakech House and were so impressed with the hotel, the staff and the service. Starting with mint tea on arrival, a car service in and out of the Medina throughout the day and an excellent pool to relax by. Albakech House is about 10 minutes by car to the Medina, but don't let that put you off. It is a sanctuary to escape back too after a crazy day in the bustling Medina. There were plenty of restaurants nearby and even a supermarket for convenience. We truly couldn't have asked for more during our stay here. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable and I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to travel to Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entrerrios
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with some friends and whilst I enjoyed it, the surroundings could be better.Although it´s only 10 mins drive from the airport and same to the medina, the area is a bit of a mish mash of unfinished buildings, upmarket hotels, shopping malls and waste ground.However,the big plus of this hotel has to be the pool , which in the 40C heat we experienced at the end of June was a godsend, maybe not so important in December though.The room I stayed in( Number 19)was certainly big enough, high ceilings and good sized shower and a terrace that had uninterrupted views ...... of the unfinished building next door. The staff were all pretty much friendly ,however when asking for something to be done e.g. wake up calls, "yes" didn´t mean it was actually going to happen, but hey! this is Morocco and things do tend to get lost in translation.The hotel also has a hammam and I can definately recommend the massage from Niama after a hard day on the dune buggies. Overall , if you can get over the area and you´re looking for a place to chill out and relax for a few days you could do a lot worse than Albakech House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel and my only regret is not staying longer. The location is about 5mins drive from the Medina but the hotel offers a free on-demand shuttle service between 10 and 6 I think it is? We paid for a taxi afterhours and it was inexpensive also. We were 2 girls travelling alone and felt safe and welcomed at all times. We were offered peppermint tea on arrival while sorting out the paperwork and always greeted personally when entering/exiting the hotel.

The rooms are large, spacious and authentic-looking and were spotlessly cleaned each day. There was no fridge or tea & coffee making facilities in the room but we were out exploring so often it hardly mattered. You can order soft drinks and tea to the room or the poolside. I also didn’t see an iron or hairdryer in the room but neither did I ask for them so they may have been available. Despite the pool being in the sun during the day it’s very cold, but refreshing!

Just across the road from the hotel is a small mall with shops, fast food outlets and a supermarket for any supplies you might need – occasionally a welcomed change from the hectic medina! The breakfasts served at the hotel were delicious and brought out on a tray specifically for you & were plentiful – we chose to eat outside by the pool each morning in the sun which was bliss. The hotel doesn’t have a restaurant but they made reservations for us on our request at a local restaurant and you can arrange with them in advance for meals to be eaten at the hotel.

We had a hammam at the hotel too and thought they were good value for money and great to try something new (for us anyway) in the comfort of the hotel & conveniently just downstairs. A great hotel and if I’m in Marrakech again I’ll be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of May and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel! The location was excellent as it was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel has a free driver service who will take you into the city which is only a 10min drive away.

The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us. The owner Adam, was particularly attentive and a good laugh. He organised sand buggies in the desert and a cooking course for us (both I would highly recommend!). The hammam and massage were also excellent! Adam even arranged for the masseuse to give me a pedicure which isn't a service the hotel offers, and it was a beautiful pedicure too!

The rooms were lovely and very clean. The balcony was lovely to sit in the evening sun. The pool was also very nice as it was quite large and had sun pretty much all day!

The breakfasts were delicious - pastries, bread, pancakes, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, fresh orange juice - enough to fill you up that's for sure! The evening meals (which you have to preorder during the day) were also delicious. The vegetable tagine was particularly yummy!

All in all we found this hotel to be excellent and would definitely go back again! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We came here for two nights after a few days in the main town of Marrakech and the Atlas mountains. It provided a lovely tranquil retreat. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the house beautifully decorated and the pool area fabulous!
Staff couldn't have been more helpful and although we didn't use the free driver facility as we'd already been in and around the city, it was nice to know it was there. It was really helpful to be able to pay for a late checkout on our last day as the flight wasn't until evening time.
Breakfasts were wonderful - french pastries, hot chocolate, fruit, yoghuts, eggs - different on both mornings we were there - our kids thought they'd died and gone to heaven!
The only thing I'd say was that it's more of an adult type environment - our children are 8 and 10 and like to play and splash around in the pool and I was conscious of the noise and splashing that they were making. Having said that, we more or less had it to ourselves some of the time so it wasn't really a problem.
There is a large shopping complex just opposite it which we went to for lunches as the eateries there were relatively cheap and child friendly. There are other nice restaurants nearby for evening meals too. There's also a large Carrefour supermarket under the shopping mall so you can stock up there with pastries / fruit / alcohol (which staff are fine with you having to drink by the pool or in rooms, and will even supply you with bottle opener!) etc for lunches anyway.
Hotel also has various excursions on offer which looked great, though they weren't cheap.
We loved it! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albakech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albakech House

Address: Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Albakech House, a British Moroccan owned luxury riad situated in the new Touristic area of Agdal, only 5 minutes from the airport, medina and new town. Situated right next door to Pacha Marrakech complex and the Almazar shopping centre which has lots of restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine. Come meet Adam and the team at this fantastic location with panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. Experience the beauty of Marrakech, in a relaxed, friendly and welcoming setting. We offer excellent customer service and complete comfort. You'll never want to leave! Come and join us aboard the Marrakech Express, for a stay you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Albakech House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albakech House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.