We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albakech House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Albakech House to your Saves list
Albakech House
Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the AlbaKech House, Marrakech. We were warmly welcomed on arrival with a glass of mint tea and shown to our lovely suite overlooking the Atlas Mountains. Nothing was too much trouble for Adam and his friendly smiling staff including his really helpful driver who drove us into town to the Medina. We had breakfast in the garden each morning with a varied selection of fruit, waffles, pancakes and yoghurts; we also had delicious Moroccan dinners on two nights in the hotel. Adam organised a trip to the mountains for us which we thoroughly enjoyed and had an interesting day. After spending time visiting the sights and sounds of the Medina it was great getting back to the Alba Kech for the peace and tranquillity and to relax in the beautiful garden. I t was also very convenient to walk down the road to shop in Carrefour for a bottle of wine or a beer to drink on our veranda. We would definitely recommend Alba Kech House and would love to go back.
Sheila L.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
87
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel with amazingly helpful and cheerful staff. On arrival, we discovered that we wouldn't be able to change money locally (it was a Saturday) so Adam just pulled out his wallet and lent us some. How refreshing!

Our room was lovely - sunny balcony, four-poster bed & sumptuous linens. Separate bathroom & loo.

I had a hamman and massage in the hotel - very good and relaxing. I didn't dare try a local one so the 'safe' option suited me fine.

Breakfast was lovely, served in the sunny garden.

The location was fine for us - a couple of miles outside the medina, which was quite a relief. We used the hotel's car service during the day (or walked) & made sure we fixed a price with the taxi drivers before we got in a cab to come back at night (Adam advised on this, too).

We stayed by the pool during much of the day & ventured out at night. Sunbeds were comfy and fluffy towels were provided. The water was pretty chilly (it was February) but some hardy sorts ventured in. We went across to the Carrefour supermarket & bought fresh bread & salad for lunch, which we had on our balcony.

We enjoyed the El Faissa restaurant (very near the hotel) for dinner one night - lovely atmosphere, good food & nobody seemed to be smoking in the restaurant (we found this quite a shock in some places).

We would definitely go back to the Albakech and would strongly recommend it for a peaceful haven outside the craziness of the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony overlooking the pool. We had room 17 - views of Atlas Mountains & pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed total of three nights. Luxurious rooms, friendly staff and out of the bustle of the medina. While it may be a couple of km out of town there are two restaurants within a couple of minutes walk (Al Fassisa was very good).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Three things are wrong with the Albakech House: location, location, and location. Not that it's in a dangerous or ugly neighborhood: tucked behind a multiplex cinema and a huge, upscale shopping center, it could be in virtually any suburbia in the Western world. But it's a long way from downtown. True, there is an excellent shuttle service until 6:00 PM, but if you want to have dinner in the Medina (and you better had, because the Albakech House has no restaurant and there's only one or two in the neighborhood), you're reduced to haggling with taxi drivers who will insist they have to charge you two or three times the going rate because they'll have to drive all the way out to Agdal and then come back empty (poor babies!). So much for the negatives: otherwise it's a quiet, pretty, decent hotel made pleasant by a terrific staff, who are very anxious to help, although some have limited French and/or English. Although it's modern, it's been done up in the riad style: ochre colors, heavy doors and windows to protect against the heat, etc. It has some nice amenities - heating for cold winter mornings, multichannel TV, large showers with lots of hot water, pool - and lacks others one might expect in a boutique-style hotel (in-room coffee facilities, bathrobe & slippers, etc.). Warning: your taxi from the airport will *not* be able to find this hotel, even if you show him a map: ask to be taken to the Megarama cinema, the Al-mazar mall, or better yet the Red Sun restaurant, which are all next door, and do *not* pay the 300-350 dirhams they will ask you: 75 d. is a fair price.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Was only able to stay here for one night but wish we'd been able to stay longer.
Outside of the heart of Marrakech so a good place to stay if you want somewhere a little queiter than the medina. The area is still being developed sonar times has the feel of an industrial park but the facilities are good - there's a cinema comes within 100 yards as all as a huge gleaming new mall. Lively restaurants close by too.
The room we had was lovely, comfy bed and sat tv. The bathroom was a bit more basic than the room but adequate. The lobby is beautiful with fountain and comfortable furniture. The staff were lovely and keen to help with anything.
A lovely swimming pool which we didn't have time to use. No bar .
Would definitely recommend if you want a nice base for souk adventures!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Albakech House during the last leg of our two and half week trip touring Morocco. We found this hotel based on it's wonderful ratings, and during our stay the hotel met and exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a break from the hustle and bustle of Medina life.

Room Tip: If you would like a stand up shower, the junior suite isn't for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were lucky enough to get the junior suite on a discounted price. The staff of this hotel was very friendly, and the owner, Adam, is very helpful and accommodating. By the time we arrived at the hotel we have been 5 days in Marrakech and knew our way around, but Adam would have been more than happy to help out with planning our stay. Our room had a lovely four post bed with a view to the Atlas mountain and a very cozy divan. The hotel itself was decorated in lovely colonial style, and it even has a number of books which you can borrow to read when lying in the pool, and you can even store beer in the hotel's fridge! There is a mall with a carrefour a hop and a skip away from the hotel and one or two restaurants, but other than that there is little else.
What made our stay so great is that despite the hotel being 10 minutes away from the Medina (which is actually a bliss, after a few days in the medina we really wanted to go away from all the crowd and noise) is that the hotel actually shuttles you back and forth to the Medina with no charge at all! We used the hotel's cell phone to call Adam each time we wanted to be picked up from the Medina - at one occasion I left my wallet in the hotel and only realized this after an hour walking through the souk, one phone call and I was back at the hotel to fetch my wallet, and driven back to the souk. Perfect service!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albakech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albakech House

Address: Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Albakech House, a British Moroccan owned luxury riad situated in the new Touristic area of Agdal, only 5 minutes from the airport, medina and new town. Situated right next door to Pacha Marrakech complex and the Almazar shopping centre which has lots of restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine. Come meet Adam and the team at this fantastic location with panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. Experience the beauty of Marrakech, in a relaxed, friendly and welcoming setting. We offer excellent customer service and complete comfort. You'll never want to leave! Come and join us aboard the Marrakech Express, for a stay you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Albakech House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albakech House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.