We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel tucked away from the Marrakech madness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albakech House

Save Saved
You added Albakech House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albakech House
Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel tucked away from the Marrakech madness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Unfortunately, we only stayed at Albakech on our last night in Morrocco...I wish we had stayed there longer.

The property is difficult to find but very worth the trouble. Walking in from the back of a citema parking lot, it feels as though you have entered into another world. The decor is ornate, beautiful and very Moroccan. The staff and the service they provide are top notch. The cost per night is very reasonable relative to comparable properties in Marrakech.

The location is a taxi ride away from the Medina and other attractions.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    32
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
70
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is like a house, nice and cozy
But the better thing is the people, who make their best effort to feel no homesick
It is a new area, very open and green, with good restaurants in the sourranndings. It is no far form the antique city,
WI FI conection is excellent
There are some details that could make life more confortable, for instance there are no sockets in the bathroom (for the hairdryer or shaving machine), the same happen in the room. You have to disconect a lamp to charge your mobile or IPAD:
The shower is a handy one, I personal prefer the traditional system

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My fiance and I are just back from a most memorable stay at Alba Kech! From beginning to end, our stay at this beautiful boutique hotel was simply excellent and faultless. On our arrival we were welcomed by the friendly owner Adam, who took time to show us around the stunning riad with a large pool area and plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas (large fluffy towels are provided so no need to pack any) the riads own hamman (similar to Turkish baths) and the large reception area with water fountain and antique furniture provide a tranquil atmosphere. Our room was magnificent - a 6ft four poster bed with couch, flat screen tv, satellite, ensuite, wifi and balcony with pool and also Atlas Mountain views, we were both overly happy with the room The location of the hotel is also ideal, very short walk across road to fantastic shopping centre with many shops and large food court, cinema, nightclub and taxi rank. Though, when in Alba Kech you simply forget the goings on of outside world due to the relaxed and calm feel of the hotel. The hotel has plenty of excursions on offer as well as a driver who can drop you offanywhere in town, I would recommemed Majorelle Gardens, another relaxing place. Breakfast was served every morning in the garden, with a great variety each day of authentic Moroccan food. We would like to say a BIG thanks to Adam and all his friendly staff, we had such a fantastic time at Alba Kech and hope to return in Feburary for another relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just back from a wonderful holiday in Marrakech staying at the beautiful Albakech House. Adam and his staff are extremely helpful, they cant do enough for you. Sitting at the pool is so peaceful and tranquil it was so relaxing as well as towels being provided daily. The hotel itself is very tastefully decorated in a Moorish style. The rooms are very big with plenty of space and again tastefully decorated. There is Hammam and massage available at very reasonable prices. There is a Carrefour Supermarket, shops and restaurants 2 minutes away. There is also a free transfer service available to take you anywhere in the city. We have been to Morocco quite a few times before but have to say this was the most enjoyable stay that we have had which is all down to the Albakech House. If you are thinking of taking a trip to Marrakech I would recommend that you stay at the Albakech House as it really is a beautiful place to stay. I am sure you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Albakech House in June 2012. It was after a couple of days in a Riyadh next to the Souks which was a magical experience. But moving to the Albakech was actually the icing on the cake. We had the large ground floor room and it was about as luxurious as you can imagine. All that was missing was a personal masseur and a band in the corner of the room. The hotel is wonderfully clean and our room and bathroom was no exception. The lobby and pool mean you can relax away from the heat in a morning or afternoon you feel like staying away from the heat of the city. If you want to get into the centre a driver is provided to take you for free. The staff are very polite and there is a nice chilled out vibe to the place. The fact the hotel isn’t a chain means there is a lot more pride about the place and a much more more personal touch. But at the same time it has a pool, driver, large rooms, 24 hour staff etc that you would expect from chain hotel. It is a kind of hybrid hotel which makes it perfect. If you want a hotel in Marrakech with a pool - for the price we paid - I can’t possibly imagine there is anything better. Book it in!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was the second time I had been to Marrakech and this place is definitely the best place to stay for me. It's near but not too near the Medina so you are out of all the constant hustle and bustle. Other Riads don't have a proper pool to just chill out and sunbathe if you don't have other plans. There is a Carrefour supermarket about 2 mins away walking to buy beer, wine, snacks etc. Also nearby there are very good restaurants if you don't fancy going into the Medina. However, if you do, there is a FREE transfer service which runs between 11 am and 7 pm. The taxi back at night is 5€. The owner, Adam, and his team certainly go the extra mile to help out in any way they can. A huge plus for those of us who fancy a drink in the evening is that they will keep beer or wine cold in their kitchens......we also bought ice so as not to impose too much on their kind hospitality. I can't recommend this fantastic place highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a superior suite overlooking the pool....huge balcony, great air-con. Also I'd add that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in August during Ramadam, I found Adam the hotel director to be helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble for him, he advised on restaurants and places of interest. The room we stayed was was perfect, clean and tidy, the staff were friendly, breakfast was slow as each table was served individually, but who cares you are on holiday! You do not need to take any towels as these are supplied for the pool! Transfers were also arrange by the hotel this cost approx £30 for 2 return. I can not thank all the staff enough for the great time that we had and we will be back again next year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albakech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albakech House

Address: Lot MH24 Rue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Albakech House, a British Moroccan owned luxury riad situated in the new Touristic area of Agdal, only 5 minutes from the airport, medina and new town. Situated right next door to Pacha Marrakech complex and the Almazar shopping centre which has lots of restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine. Come meet Adam and the team at this fantastic location with panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. Experience the beauty of Marrakech, in a relaxed, friendly and welcoming setting. We offer excellent customer service and complete comfort. You'll never want to leave! Come and join us aboard the Marrakech Express, for a stay you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Albakech House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albakech House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.