We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cesar Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cesar Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

had a wonderful time, service was great and staff were wonderful, room was superb (we went for a suite, worth the extra cost). The hotel set dinner on Fri/Sat was great

Only down sides was the lunch food was a tad overpriced, I had a facial which wasnt the best (although I did complain and they compensated us right away) - we also had a joint massage and Hamman which were both superb,

Lastly, if you do a trek to the Atlas mountains (we recommend), make sure you wear decent shoes (we were not prepared for the hike to the waterfall at the end of the trip)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    61
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
43
180
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is not a 5 stars hotel, possibly 3.5 stars, if not less. Though it is recently built, too much was invested in design (very dark to my taste) rather in the quality of management which is poor. Transportation from the airport was late and expansive. Food in the hotel is less than mediocre, costly for sure. Portions are small. No light at the table, you have to guess what you eat. Wi Fi doesn't work most of the time.Breakfast is served half an hour after schedule and variety is very limited. the rate is way too high for the quality and as compared to other hotels in the area. The hotel is far from the touristic attractions (7 Euros for a taxi one way) and does not offer shuttle service. we booked for 6 nights but left after 2. We paid an exaggerated 176 Euros per night rate and moved to a much better and cheaper hotel next by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The pickup and transfer from the airport arranged by the hotel was smooth and problem free.. So was check in..
We've simply loved our stay at the Cesar. The room was spacious and clean. Beds, fantastic. I've stayed in really good hotels in the Middle East and the Mediterranean before with crappy beds, but here I had no complaints at all.
The hotel beautiful too in a modernised version of Moroccan building and design. Food in the restaurant was good, breakfast somewhat lacking of finesse but sufficient. Swimming pools unheated so a bit cold in November, but being Scandinavian, we managed a swim anyway.
The location is close to the airport (10 min by car) and so is downtown Marrakech, both new and old part.
This place is highly recommended on Trip Advisor and the Cesar definitely deserves it.
(The wifi needs an upgrade though... Keeps going on and off...)

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Before I went to Marrakech I read many reviews on this hotel and the local area. The main issues were: the length of time you should be there, the amount of theft and what to wear.
To be honest I was nervous. I had NO reason to be.

The Hotel – I will go into depth in a moment but I a nut shell – FANTASTIC.
Time away – we were there 10 days and loved each one. In all fairness the activities there are to do could all be completed in 3 or 4 days but it would be a packed schedule!
Rudeness. – Not an ounce. Personally I think it would take a lot and rudeness on the customer’s side to provoke anything. The staff were all amazing and could not do enough to help.
Theft - Nothing was stolen at anytime.
Clothing – I covered up, but more than 50% of the tourist did not. Although it is not an Islamic state I can’t help but feel we were not hassled as much as others because we were respectful to the cities culture. I had my shoulders covered and wore long skirts – I was very comfortable. (Inside the hotel you can wear anything)

I will be going back – same area, same hotel.

We flew in on Monday 7th October and after pulling up outside the “Cesar Resort & Spa” you can help but let the butterflies jump. The door man opened the door and we were welcomed by such smiling and happy staff. We were each presented with a complimentary drink - seriously delicious. Unfortunately we had got an early flight and could not check into our room until 3pm but were told we could use any of the facilities we wanted and could change should we wish. They kept our bags safe. We ended up on the sun loungers by the Sky bar – talk about HOT!

After a fantastic lunch we went to our room (number 21.) We were shown around and told that the 2 bottles of water on the side were free for us to have, the rest was to be charged to the room should we use it.

The next day we asked at reception for a tour guide around Marrakech. We got Abdul - what a man! You must ask for him. He really made our holiday (we even called him on our last day to go back into Marrakech!) We will be keeping in contact with him!!! As soon as we were in the car, Barry white was on and he was away signing, dancing and making us laugh all the way to the Majorelle Gardens (very beautiful.) After this we went to the Medina. We felt very safe and very grateful to have Abdul with us on our first trip in – the whole day we were not hassled once.

TIP1: the Mint tea they drink is very nice but not so good with out sugar – we found this out the hard way.

Tip 2: always ask for the price first

We booked all of our days out thought the reception of hotel- ALL fantastic – we went camel ridding, had a tour guide and went the Atlas Mountains. Also I got good information on the spar treatments - Ladies if you’re going to have a Hammam do so on the first day or so – it preps your skin for a good tan… but it is a hard scrub!

The Hotel is very clean- you can see it being done every morning. I would like to mention how the cleaners for the rooms do a fantastic job. The receptionists we dealt with were simply a pleasure. Any questions, anything we needed and every time they saw us would say hello and ask how we were.
All in all if you are looking for an amazing holiday – go to this Hotel. It is a perfect 5-10 min taxi drive to the centre of Marrakech while keeping you far enough away to relax and enjoy in peace.

We would like to say a very big thank you to everyone at Cesar for making our holiday simply amazing =)

Room Tip: We read in other reviews about room 16 - it is simply on the ground floor by the pool - not too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

To start check in was pretty easy, just fill out a form whilst sipping my free cocktail - great start!

The room was really nice, no problems with this at all. The bed was huge and really comfy, we were in the room one away from the bar but this was no issue. Noise was never a problem but I don't this the hotel was busy.

The food was really nice, maybe a little pricey but worth it I think. The cocktails were really good and the bar staff were superb.

On a whole the only issue I had was in the spa, we were given a free Haman (free so can't moan too much) but not told we needed to book. On the 2nd to last day we went to the spa to be told we had to book, we were not told this before but fair enough it made sense, so we booked for the next (last) day. The next day we were informed there was a wedding and they were too busy to do it but when we said we had booked they were ok to do it but I think the Haman was rushed.

Overall no real problems in fact we both left very happy that we chose this hotel.

A few tips -

- Carrefore supermarket is walkable so get water from there (its cheap) and store in the fridge in your room (I got a few Casablanca beers too)

- Taxis are easy to get from just outside the hotel just start walking up the pavement next to the road and one will stop. Always agree the price first.

- Try not to get lost in Kasbah area on the first day (we did and it cost us 100 dihrams to get a guide to show us out)

- Go on the hot air balloon ride it was the best thing I every did (check Marrakesh by air website)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Modern resort with very good facilities. We stayed in junior suite which is much bigger comparing to standard rooms, so I would recommend to stay in this one for little extra premium. Room is clean with comfy bed, big bathroom ( good amenities ) and massive lcd tv. Staff in hotel were nice and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent two nights as part of our 'Mini-Moon' with my husband following the insanity of organising our wedding. This was an absolute perfect choice! As other reviews say, the hotel is small, but perfectly formed! The spa and facilities are great (including the bars and food), and the staff are absolutely tremendous! There's a supermarket virtually next door (in a nice shopping centre) so easy to get any essentials you may have left behind!

We would definitely say this is a hotel for Adults!

Will be returning, without a doubt!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quelques minutes des golfs, du centre-ville et de l'aéroport, le César est aussi tout proche du Grand Prix, du Palais des Congrès et du plus grand centre commercial de la région. Dîner en ville, prendre une coupe au Champagne Bar, nager dans l'une de ses 3 piscines (sur le roof top, dans le patio ou sous le ciel étoilé du Spa), danser sur son dance floor ou dormir dans l'une de ses 28 suites : le César est la nouvelle adresse trendy de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cesar Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.