We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cesar Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cesar Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
South Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent 7 days at this hotel, which we found very relaxing. The staff were really pleasant and friendly, and overall a joy to deal with. The female receptionist was particularly helpful and honest in her local knowledge.
The massages that myself and my husband had in the spa ( we both agreed) were the best we had ever had, and we have tried a lot of facilities in our time!
The hotel is close enough to the old town area to be easy to access by a £5 taxi ride, but out of the dust, noise and heat.
A modern oasis of calm - if you can't enjoy yourself here consider staying home in future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    67
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
45
189
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at this Hotel.We booked a Deluxe room overlooking the pool with single beds .We contacted the hotel prior to our arrival to ensure the beds were separate ,and received a response from them stating this would be no problem.On our arrival the room was overlooking the car park and the beds were not separated.The bed situation was sorted quickly however when we complained to reception about the room we were told the hotel was full because of the holidays ??During the first night we noticed a odd noise which we thought was probably a pump as we were near the pool room.This went on intermittently throughout the night.We again complained about this and this was attended to .The second day I spoke to reception about our room problem and was informed that "You have already told us about this problem ,come back later and I will let you know if anything can be done"This I felt was unacceptable practice and informed her so in no uncertain terms .The receptionist came to me later and informed me that another room was available and we were transferred later that day to a pool with a view of the pool.We ate at the hotel the first evening but thought it was expensive.We tried to visit the supermarket to buy water and wine but it was closed for the holidays .Everything seems to happen very slowly at the hotel ,their seems to be a lot of staff doing nothing.We visit the spar which was a good experience .I don't think the hotel deserves its five stars ,it should be a three star . We also noticed that the hotel lacked enough information about sight seeing in the area, or indeed it had none of the usual hotel info you find in your room.The pool was lovely but not enough towels available .I noticed that as people left the sun beds the towels were not replaced , certainly not five star treatment .It was certainly true that the English language was not in evident within the hotel but with our schoolgirl French we got by - just.Their is a problem with constant haggling outside and it can get a little wearing by the end of your stay.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are better ,but remember other holiday makers may use the pool during the night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited this restaurant on Wednesday last week (Aug) we were the only people in the whole restaurant which should have told us something, as to what we should expect.

Slow service is an understatement it took 2 hours to get to our desert which took 40 minutes to arrive alone. Food quality very poor, steak over cooked and even when staff were told they did nothing about it, nor seemed to care. Dinner was £120 without wine, yet value for money it was by far the worst experience in Marrakech. We found many excellent quality bars and restaurants serving well cooked food with great service so why waste any time at this property.

if you want an excellent restaurant for about the same cost try Hotel Les Jardins De La Koutoubia fantastic indian and asian food and brillant service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for four nights during July and booked a Deluxe room which was as big as the suite at our previous hotel in the Medina.
The rooms come with massive flat screen TV’s, espresso makers and proper air conditioning The bathroom was fab, the bed huge and the pillows so comfy I considered nicking them.

You also get a big balcony overlooking the pool if on the first floor. Speaking of pools there are three, all are great and have super comfy loungers. The spar one even has in built in Jacuzzi.
Service is a bit hit and miss, everything’s a bit relaxed but considering it was Ramadan and 41c I can hardly blame them for being a bit lazy.

The food is presented well but nothing special, the cocktails however are amazing and worth every penny (even the non-alcoholic ones).

There is a great restaurant within walking distance of the hotel if you fancy a traditional Moroccan meal and a Supermarket 250m down the road (buy water and wine there as it’s a rip off in the hotel).

Overall had a great time at this hotel and would recommend to couples wanting a do-nothing getaway without the stress of the city centre, just remember to bring lots of money as the drinks are expensive but that’s the norm for Marrakech.

Oh and treat yourself to a massage, they are amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just come back from a 3 night break in Marrakech - and had the worst experience ever of hotel hospitality!!! Never written a review in my life, but so shocked at how we were treated had to share. Basically returned to our room on the 2nd night to find a family of cockroaches in our room. I am under no illusion that this is the hotel's fault, no blame was ever passed, however once you have killed 6 of the things and find more running around, enough is enough and we decided we could not sleep in that room. Called reception, who sent someone round, their English was very poor but we showed the the dead cockroaches - seemed shocked but then didn't hear anything else. To cut a long story shot, after our endless calls and visits to reception they EVENTUALLY moved us to another room, but only as a result of us packing our bags and saying we were going to check into another hotel. So in our new room and the air conditioning was not working, but decided to leave it until the morning, hoping either it would be working by then or that we could speak to someone on reception who spoke better English. Nadia was back on reception who on our arrival was SO nice and friendly, so had confidence she would assist. She sent the maintenance guy out to have a look he then informed us that the regulator was broken. Spoke to Nadia again (who every time I spoke to seemed to of forgotten what the issue was because I would say its room 3 and she would say 'yes what is the problem'?!?! very strange). Anyway, she informed me that he was changing the vent and going to re-gas the unit. Told me it would be fixed in 30 minutes. We went and sat by the pool, 2 hours later no one had been to the room so I spoke to Nadia - she then stormed out of reception and came over to us by the pool asking to look in the room in an extremely rude manner. She was then trying to convince me that the button you press for 'room temperature' which had been showing between 27-28 degrees since we had been moved to the room, was in fact the outside temperature!!!!!!!!!!! Which is complete rubbish...and to prove this our previous room was showing 22 degrees and checked another couples room and theirs was much lower. But Nadia would not listen to anything we were saying and continued to shout at us! She then also told us he had re-gassed it, although we were right outside our room for the whole time and no one entered, so not quite sure how he did this?!?! Her attitude was absolutely disgusting and I have never in my life been spoken to by anyone so rudely. At one point I even asked her why is she shouting and being so aggressive? Not surprisingly she just continued to shout! We decided to give up, only had one night left in the hotel - and couldn't wait for our flight home! And then to top it all off, when we checked out in the morning she acted completely normal and did not acknowledge a thing! I think in Nadia's case ignorance is bliss!!
Despite all this there are SOME positives of Cesar Resort & Spa - majority of the other staff, especially bar staff were friendly and Morad makes amazing Mojitos! Such a shame Nadia ruined our experience. If you do visit then please don't be sucked into her fake friendliness on your arrival!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarspa, Responsable commercial at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectation during your recent visit at our hotel.

We reviewed your comment regarding your stay with us at and we apologies for the misunderstanding with Nadia and your room problems.

We would like to inform you that we have taken the necessary steps to improve the points and services you mentioned. Regarding cockroaches, treatments are done regularly but in summer with heat exceeding 40 degrees it is very difficult to get rid of completely.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and allow us to provide you better service.

Best regards,
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We are writing this review whilst still at the Cesar, it is our fourth day here as a family. We are frequent travellers and have stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world. The hotel at best can be described as 3 star. The service is very bad, you ask for water for example 3 times and it is only when you complain to reception do you get service. As it is the month of Ramadan, there is no service food wise till after 9pm, until the staff have eaten. Don't be fooled by the spa, there is a warm pool and a member of staff who constantly plays with the mobile, and when asked for towels, she lifts her head up, states there is none and continues to answer the messages on her phone. Very few speak English, nothing is translated into English so ensure your french is up to scratch. The square which is hyped up so much, is absolutely nauseating (smells of sewage).There is no hygiene, there is no honesty and no respect for tourists. So if anybody wants to come here, please think twice, I have paid £5000 for one week, and it is not value for money by any means. I have never written a review yet I feel that I am obliged to express my experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarspa, Responsable commercial at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Client,

Tahnk you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience encountered during your stay.

Please note we make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and allow us to provide you better service.

Best regards,

Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in June. We checked in our room at 8:00pm, left our valuables in the safe inside our room including a few hundreds Euros and a few thousands of dirham. And then we went out for dinner for about 2 hours on that night. After we came back to our room at 10-11:00pm, we checked our safe in our room, the door was still locked. However, a hundred euro and a thousand dirham have gone missing. It is clearly that our money has got stolen by the hotel staff as they would be the only ones who know how to open the safe. We reported this issue to the reception who was on duty who was not able to help at all as he could not to reach the hotel manager and refused to call the police. He promised the hotel manager will sort everything out for us the next morning as soon as he comes to work at 9:00am. We woke up at 8:00am to wait for the manager next morning, but there was no show. We were told that the manager was in a meeting and will be back by 12:00pm. we waited in the hotel feeling unsafe and insecure for the whole day, the manger never showed up. However another lady at the reception called us to our room and said the hotel takes no responsibility to this and manager will not help us with a very very bad attitude, with no apology. We tried calling the police ourselves from the room, but the phone in the room is for internal use only. We felt really hopeless and insure in this hotel but we decided to stay in this hotel at the end of the day after reading other reviews on how dangerous Morocco is. The hotel staff were still breaking into our room after we have put the ' DO NOT DISTURB' sign up on the next few days. We had to take our valuables with us throughout the whole stay. It was the most unpleasant hotel and trip I've even been. I WOULD NEVER GO BACK TO THIS HOTEL!!!

Room Tip: do not leave any cash inside the room! not even in the safe! people are desperate for money in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quelques minutes des golfs, du centre-ville et de l'aéroport, le César est aussi tout proche du Grand Prix, du Palais des Congrès et du plus grand centre commercial de la région. Dîner en ville, prendre une coupe au Champagne Bar, nager dans l'une de ses 3 piscines (sur le roof top, dans le patio ou sous le ciel étoilé du Spa), danser sur son dance floor ou dormir dans l'une de ses 28 suites : le César est la nouvelle adresse trendy de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cesar Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.