We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst holiday ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cesar Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cesar Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worst holiday ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We are writing this review whilst still at the Cesar, it is our fourth day here as a family. We are frequent travellers and have stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world. The hotel at best can be described as 3 star. The service is very bad, you ask for water for example 3 times and it is only when you complain to reception do you get service. As it is the month of Ramadan, there is no service food wise till after 9pm, until the staff have eaten. Don't be fooled by the spa, there is a warm pool and a member of staff who constantly plays with the mobile, and when asked for towels, she lifts her head up, states there is none and continues to answer the messages on her phone. Very few speak English, nothing is translated into English so ensure your french is up to scratch. The square which is hyped up so much, is absolutely nauseating (smells of sewage).There is no hygiene, there is no honesty and no respect for tourists. So if anybody wants to come here, please think twice, I have paid £5000 for one week, and it is not value for money by any means. I have never written a review yet I feel that I am obliged to express my experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarspa, Responsable commercial at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Client,

Tahnk you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience encountered during your stay.

Please note we make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and allow us to provide you better service.

Best regards,

Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    67
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
45
189
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in June. We checked in our room at 8:00pm, left our valuables in the safe inside our room including a few hundreds Euros and a few thousands of dirham. And then we went out for dinner for about 2 hours on that night. After we came back to our room at 10-11:00pm, we checked our safe in our room, the door was still locked. However, a hundred euro and a thousand dirham have gone missing. It is clearly that our money has got stolen by the hotel staff as they would be the only ones who know how to open the safe. We reported this issue to the reception who was on duty who was not able to help at all as he could not to reach the hotel manager and refused to call the police. He promised the hotel manager will sort everything out for us the next morning as soon as he comes to work at 9:00am. We woke up at 8:00am to wait for the manager next morning, but there was no show. We were told that the manager was in a meeting and will be back by 12:00pm. we waited in the hotel feeling unsafe and insecure for the whole day, the manger never showed up. However another lady at the reception called us to our room and said the hotel takes no responsibility to this and manager will not help us with a very very bad attitude, with no apology. We tried calling the police ourselves from the room, but the phone in the room is for internal use only. We felt really hopeless and insure in this hotel but we decided to stay in this hotel at the end of the day after reading other reviews on how dangerous Morocco is. The hotel staff were still breaking into our room after we have put the ' DO NOT DISTURB' sign up on the next few days. We had to take our valuables with us throughout the whole stay. It was the most unpleasant hotel and trip I've even been. I WOULD NEVER GO BACK TO THIS HOTEL!!!

Room Tip: do not leave any cash inside the room! not even in the safe! people are desperate for money in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a small and very friendly hotel. The rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean. (28 in total). The staff are charming and always helpful - nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was superb and the other meals we had at the hotel ( 2 lunches and 1 diner) did not disapoint. Meals can be taken either on the terrace or in the dining room. Being away from the bustle of the centre of the city made this a very peaceful oasis but only a 10 minute taxi ride - approx 50 DM - into the centre of town. Taxis were always within hailing distance. Next door to the Hotel is an amazing restaurant called Al Fassia run by a women's cooperative - not to be missed,
the food is out of this world and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are spacious and open onto the pool and terrace. Perfect for sun bathing but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Thank you everyone at hotel cesar for making us feel so comfortable for our stay. I would definately reccomend this hotel for couples looking for a relaxing break away. Hotel and room decor perfect and staff are very attentive and friendly. Spa was really good and the swimming pools were not over crowded and very peaceful with chilled out music in the back ground. Free wifi was a bonus and has an excellent connection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We would like to pass on our thanks to the all the staff at Cesar. In a town as "full on" as marrakech it was a delight to have this oasis of calm to return to. The friendly helpful service was much appreciated as was the quality of the accomodation. The only point to pick up on is the dinner menu. A bit lacking. But as the staff had noticed it was my wifes birthday and came up with an impromptu birthday cake and a chorus of happy birthday. We won't be complaining. Best suggestion is walk 200m to the supermarket and get 6 bottles of water for £2 rather than £2 each in the hotel.

Room Tip: The menu while we were there was great for a light lunch but not up to much for an evening meal, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The doors swung open as we walked up the stairs to the main entrance, a perfectly uniformed doorman greeted us and took our bags through the gleaming air conditioned foyer to a welcoming receptionist who organised chilled welcome drinks at a bar table for us whole check-in formalities happened seamlessly. What an amazing and refreshing difference compared to many of our other experiences in morocco - it can be done well here! The room was clean, Trendy, stylish, quality fittings. Amazing bathroom with seperate shower and toilet. Courtyard pool and rooftop pool - both excellent. Alcohol served, pleasant and efficient staff. Food good at both breakfast and lunch. This is a stylish up market place ideal for couples and younger people. Rooftop bar in the evening with dj a good way to end the day. Not really geared towards families. This was our best accommodation experience in morocco and I thoroughly recommend it. I would definitely come back here. Constructive criticisms - the coffee could be stronger at breakfast, replace the cracked mirror at reception, and change the white furniture at the poolside and rooftop for something a little darker that doesn't show stains and dirt the same as the white ones. But overall we were really happy with this. Thanks for a fantastic, enjoyable and welcoming couple of days! You have restored our faith in morocco's ability to offer good hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 8 days after trying out 'Secret Escapes' for the very first time. We even paid a bit more for a Junior Suite to ensure we got a nice room. Unfortunately when we arrived, we were given Room 16 which we then read about later in some online reviews.

This room is in the worst location in this hotel. On the ground floor right next to the bar and the thoroughfare to the pool and restaurant. You have to keep the curtains drawn to enjoy some privacy but this means living in a dark room for potentially a whole week. And the curtains of course dont remove the constant noise of passersby. Having arrived late we had to wait until the next morning to try and get an exchange room. Only to be informed the hotel was full in a curt manner. We decided to search online during lunch to look for another hotel on lastminute.com and came across the very same hotel indicating they still have 2 executive (junior suite) rooms available!

Fortunately, a much friendlier Manager stepped in after our lunch and moved us to another room later that day. This was only sorted after wasting a whole day of our holiday though which was quite frustrating.

This initial poor impression of the hotel proved solely related to room 16 as its actually very nice. We were initially a little disappointed with the location outside the medina but quickly learnt to appreciate the peace & serenity this location brought after spending days walking around enjoying the sights but not the constant hawking and selling. It's not too far or expensive to take a cab into the old city anyway. Just make sure you negotiate before you get in. A cab ride to the old city should cost you no more than 50 dirham.

You should try the hamman in the beautiful onsite spa. It's along the lines of a Turkish Bath. They also have an impressive colonnaded spa pool. Ask for the private room if you prefer some privacy.

Overall, we would rate this hotel as a 4 star rather than a 5 star. We felt in order for a hotel to rate themselves as a 5 star resort, the food, service and general attention to detail needed to be higher.
We wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again as long as they do not put us in Room 16.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quelques minutes des golfs, du centre-ville et de l'aéroport, le César est aussi tout proche du Grand Prix, du Palais des Congrès et du plus grand centre commercial de la région. Dîner en ville, prendre une coupe au Champagne Bar, nager dans l'une de ses 3 piscines (sur le roof top, dans le patio ou sous le ciel étoilé du Spa), danser sur son dance floor ou dormir dans l'une de ses 28 suites : le César est la nouvelle adresse trendy de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cesar Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.