We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cesar: Endearing, elegant and...eggs?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cesar Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cesar Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cesar: Endearing, elegant and...eggs?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We look back on our stay at Cesar Resort & Spa fondly. The staff were, undeniably, friendly and polite. Our room was lovely - clean, spacious and was replete with almost everything we required. Having a pool to retire to during the hot afternoons was something of a luxury - and we actually found the position hotel itself desirable; knowing we had both the busier and more dynamic city to explore, and the quieter, tranquil location of the hotel to relax in, was brilliant. However, there were some hiccups and peculiarities during a stay – they mostly make us laugh now, but at the time we did take them a little more seriously. The first was the lack of communication with staff. It wasn’t the language barrier as most people seem to have referred to, but more lack of clarity between staff members. Some staff would give us completely different information that was inconsistent to other staff members (from smaller, more trivial things like how much the taxi from the city would cost, to bigger, more important things, like our transport for our flight back home!) In fact, we had booked AND PAID for our airport transfers on the first day, but this seemed to have gone unrecorded by a staff member, leading to confusion half an hour before we were due to have our transfer. There were a few other smaller issues, and I think we would have benefited from some more information from the staff about recommendations in the city itself. Our air conditioning in the room was rubbish!
One thing that does make us laugh is our breakfast every morning. We were asked every day what we would like, and before we were able to answer, the waiter would suggest, ‘EGGS?’ The breakfast is very limited, but delicious all the same.
Overall, we had a great stay here, and would recommend it for holidaymakers seeking relaxing afternoons and evenings in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    60
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
43
178
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Ceser after a short transfer late evening we were greeted with smiles and were given a fruity Mocktail and asked to take a seat after our passports were checked we were shown to our Junior Suite no 28 on the first floor and shown around and given an explanation on how things worked .
The Suite was spacious with sitting area massive bed ,bathroom with separate shower and his & his sinks rose petals were placed around the room we also had fruit , nuts and a bottle of bubbly we swiftly opened this a walked out onto the large terrace and from tis point we knew we were going to love it .

In the morning we breakfasted on the Sunny terrace the staff were friendly and the Breakfast fair with an egg station and delicious fresh orange juice .

We relaxed on our first day and tried out the inner courtyard pool but beware you will have to keep moving to chase the sun as it becomes shaded I would recommend the sky bar pool as there is no shade a DJ and excellent chill out sounds bean bag sum loungers and great staff, we ate up here on many occasions and the food was excellent tuna & Ceser salads recommend also the French fries are to die for so is the fresh mayo . Be aware that on Sunday they have a Brunch at 28 dh each its not good value (there is nothing wrong with the food) it's just a selection of the menu !!!!!
If you like wine go for the Morrocan it's good.
The hotel is on the Ouskirts to get to the main Square pay no more than 50 mdh and agree it first you can walk passed Carrefor it takes about 15 min but a taxi is easier as you will need all your energy when you get into town!!!!
When you arrive at the Medina embrace its a melting pot of smells sounds etc with motorbikes , horse and carriages , chickens and running around its also extremely safe so don't be put off there are beggars but you find this in an major City , after experiencing the Souks you can either eat locally or hop across town in a cab to the new town where there are plenty of excellent place to eat we recommed le Comptior ,jad mahal great entertainment with Belly Dancers.
Make sure you do the open top bus, Kasbar,and the YSL gardens.
I could go on and on Marrekech is an amazing place and the Ceser a perfect place from where to explore don't listen to other reviewers that complain about the Staff they are lovely and very helpful . Would I return yes in a flash ...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarspa, Responsable réception at Cesar Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Cesar Resort & Spa.
I am glad that you had a wonderful time with us and that you were pleased with the services provided by our staff. I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with all of them.

I hope to personally welcome you back in the near future.

Khadija
Responsable Hebergement
Cesar Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this excellent hotel for a long weekend break with my grown up daughter. We found the young, enthusiastic staff to be friendly,efficient and nothing was ever too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food available. Spa treatments were good although I was disappointed that after such a positive experience with the staff,the receptionist who checked me out tried to overcharge me and was quite stroppy when I raised my concerns. This was a shame as all the other staff clearly work hard to create a positive and friendly feel to the hotel.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel but be prepared to use taxi to get in and out of the centre. We again only had positive experiences with one driver "popping" back to check whether we were ready to return to the hotel after a meal in town...now that's service!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in late January 2013 as a group of 4 women, after booking a deal through Voyage Prive. The hotel itself is beautiful and although being outside the center of Marrakech, it is only a short journey (5-10 mins) by taxi.

Our only disappointment in our stay was the false information that we were given by a member of the reception team. When showing us around our rooms upon arrival he informed us that the bottle of Grey Goose Vodka and Bombay Sapphire Gin were free and that we would only have to pay for drinks from the fridge. We were so surprised at this gesture that we asked him again and he clarified that we would only pay for drinks from the fridge. As seasoned travellers we were fully aware of the high prices attached to imported alcohol in foreign countries and would never have thought to drink it, had we not be reassured that it was free. However upon checking out we were presented with a large bill for the 2 bottles that we had opened, we had to pay for these despite being told twice they were free and have not received a refund since despite several requests.

The same member of staff also informed us that there was a free shuttle bus to the center, which when inquired about at reception we were told did not exist.

The incident with the alcohol, has overshadowed our experience of the Hotel Cesar as the cost attached to this false information was significant and something that we could not afford.

That being said overall the staff at this hotel are exceptionally friendly and helpful, so as long as you take the information given by some members with a pinch of salt and stay away from the alcohol provided in the room (unless you wish to pay for it), you will have a lovely time without the nasty surprise of a large bill when you leave!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, with doors that led out onto the pool area. This was perfect for a lazy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the majority of good reviews about it, and i have to say, I wasn't disappointed. it's a modern, stylish hotel and we stayed in one of the superior rooms which had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool, and it was just such a pleasant experience to sit out there in the morning sun. The room was bigger than I expected, well laid out, and very clean. We had stipulated twin beds in our reservation and when we arrived we had a double bed, but the staff were very quick and helpful to ensure that the beds were rectified. This was actioned almost immediately - no delays whatsoever. The staff were all very attentive and friendly and made us feel very welcome. The very few problems we had (TV didn't work, our bill was incorrect) - were all seen to immediately and dealt with very professionally. I only have very position opinions of the staff - If you have any queries regarding anything from tourist attractions, to resturants to hailing a cab - ask reception and they will help you. The spa staff are all very nice, perhaps not as attentive and helpful as the hotel staff, but we had a number of treatments and enjoyed them. I read a lot of reviews saying the breakfast was adequate - depending on what you're expecting, this may or may not disappoint. I thought it was perfectly suitable for my needs! The hotel is about 15 minutes away from the airport and the same to the Medina. There is a big Carrefour within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It's all very easy to get around, and if i ever go back to Marakech, I will quite happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

First impression is wonderful, as the huge doors are opened by a smart doorman. It's lovely inside, with wide, bright bar, restaurant and pool area. We had a twin room which was specious and simply but elegantly decorated. Lovely shower and bathroom, very comfy beds. The roof pool was fab, with space to laze around in the sun sipping cocktails. The ground floor pool was equally lovely, but cold! The heated pool downstairs is shallow but nice to do a few lengths, with a jacuzzi at the end.
Breakfast had a very wide selection with a good time from 8-10.30 so no need for early mornings! A highlight was returning one evening to be serenaded by a pianist in the bar. The staff were all knowledgable, friendly and very readily available. They were happy to book excursions for you which was helpful.
A few points to note:
- The hotel is about 5 mins from the city centre, so a taxi is needed to get in (it's too hot to walk). This ranged from 40-100Dh and needed to be haggled for, so it's an extra cost to consider.
- We went in march when it's not too busy and even then there was sometimes limited space around the pools, esp in the afternoon when the ground floor pool was in shadow.

Room Tip: In the summer, I'd try and choose an upstairs room so you get a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Caesar hotel was very clean and we were not disappointed with our room which was a junior suite. the room was very clean with fabulous bath and separate shower. Staff was very attentive and keen to help. Spa staff not so friendly. There was a limited selection of food on offer, breakfast was adequate. Nearby was Al fassia restaurant which we would highly recommend, also handy was the Carre four shopping centre. The downside to this hotel is its location if you wish to explore the Medina. It is a 45 minute walk to the nearest gate (Bab) and you could pay up to 50 to 100 dinars per trip. You must negotiate a price first with the taxi driver otherwise you will be paying too much, probably more than double you should. Also behind the hotel next to the cinema is the tourist open top bus stop, No. 7 on the Blue Route, (two other routes available Red and Green)which offers an informative trip around the medina and surrounding areas of Marrakech. This is a useful form of transport around Marrakech as you can get on and off where you like, but you will need to check start and finish times which are listed on the bus stops themselves. I would recommend this hotel, but would prefer to stay within the Medina in an upmarket Riad.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room at the back of the hotel, the front was a little noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quelques minutes des golfs, du centre-ville et de l'aéroport, le César est aussi tout proche du Grand Prix, du Palais des Congrès et du plus grand centre commercial de la région. Dîner en ville, prendre une coupe au Champagne Bar, nager dans l'une de ses 3 piscines (sur le roof top, dans le patio ou sous le ciel étoilé du Spa), danser sur son dance floor ou dormir dans l'une de ses 28 suites : le César est la nouvelle adresse trendy de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cesar Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.