We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay in an interesting location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cesar Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cesar Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An excellent stay in an interesting location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this excellent hotel for a long weekend break with my grown up daughter. We found the young, enthusiastic staff to be friendly,efficient and nothing was ever too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food available. Spa treatments were good although I was disappointed that after such a positive experience with the staff,the receptionist who checked me out tried to overcharge me and was quite stroppy when I raised my concerns. This was a shame as all the other staff clearly work hard to create a positive and friendly feel to the hotel.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel but be prepared to use taxi to get in and out of the centre. We again only had positive experiences with one driver "popping" back to check whether we were ready to return to the hotel after a meal in town...now that's service!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    62
    32
    6
    8
See reviews for
43
181
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in late January 2013 as a group of 4 women, after booking a deal through Voyage Prive. The hotel itself is beautiful and although being outside the center of Marrakech, it is only a short journey (5-10 mins) by taxi.

Our only disappointment in our stay was the false information that we were given by a member of the reception team. When showing us around our rooms upon arrival he informed us that the bottle of Grey Goose Vodka and Bombay Sapphire Gin were free and that we would only have to pay for drinks from the fridge. We were so surprised at this gesture that we asked him again and he clarified that we would only pay for drinks from the fridge. As seasoned travellers we were fully aware of the high prices attached to imported alcohol in foreign countries and would never have thought to drink it, had we not be reassured that it was free. However upon checking out we were presented with a large bill for the 2 bottles that we had opened, we had to pay for these despite being told twice they were free and have not received a refund since despite several requests.

The same member of staff also informed us that there was a free shuttle bus to the center, which when inquired about at reception we were told did not exist.

The incident with the alcohol, has overshadowed our experience of the Hotel Cesar as the cost attached to this false information was significant and something that we could not afford.

That being said overall the staff at this hotel are exceptionally friendly and helpful, so as long as you take the information given by some members with a pinch of salt and stay away from the alcohol provided in the room (unless you wish to pay for it), you will have a lovely time without the nasty surprise of a large bill when you leave!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, with doors that led out onto the pool area. This was perfect for a lazy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the majority of good reviews about it, and i have to say, I wasn't disappointed. it's a modern, stylish hotel and we stayed in one of the superior rooms which had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool, and it was just such a pleasant experience to sit out there in the morning sun. The room was bigger than I expected, well laid out, and very clean. We had stipulated twin beds in our reservation and when we arrived we had a double bed, but the staff were very quick and helpful to ensure that the beds were rectified. This was actioned almost immediately - no delays whatsoever. The staff were all very attentive and friendly and made us feel very welcome. The very few problems we had (TV didn't work, our bill was incorrect) - were all seen to immediately and dealt with very professionally. I only have very position opinions of the staff - If you have any queries regarding anything from tourist attractions, to resturants to hailing a cab - ask reception and they will help you. The spa staff are all very nice, perhaps not as attentive and helpful as the hotel staff, but we had a number of treatments and enjoyed them. I read a lot of reviews saying the breakfast was adequate - depending on what you're expecting, this may or may not disappoint. I thought it was perfectly suitable for my needs! The hotel is about 15 minutes away from the airport and the same to the Medina. There is a big Carrefour within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It's all very easy to get around, and if i ever go back to Marakech, I will quite happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

First impression is wonderful, as the huge doors are opened by a smart doorman. It's lovely inside, with wide, bright bar, restaurant and pool area. We had a twin room which was specious and simply but elegantly decorated. Lovely shower and bathroom, very comfy beds. The roof pool was fab, with space to laze around in the sun sipping cocktails. The ground floor pool was equally lovely, but cold! The heated pool downstairs is shallow but nice to do a few lengths, with a jacuzzi at the end.
Breakfast had a very wide selection with a good time from 8-10.30 so no need for early mornings! A highlight was returning one evening to be serenaded by a pianist in the bar. The staff were all knowledgable, friendly and very readily available. They were happy to book excursions for you which was helpful.
A few points to note:
- The hotel is about 5 mins from the city centre, so a taxi is needed to get in (it's too hot to walk). This ranged from 40-100Dh and needed to be haggled for, so it's an extra cost to consider.
- We went in march when it's not too busy and even then there was sometimes limited space around the pools, esp in the afternoon when the ground floor pool was in shadow.

Room Tip: In the summer, I'd try and choose an upstairs room so you get a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Caesar hotel was very clean and we were not disappointed with our room which was a junior suite. the room was very clean with fabulous bath and separate shower. Staff was very attentive and keen to help. Spa staff not so friendly. There was a limited selection of food on offer, breakfast was adequate. Nearby was Al fassia restaurant which we would highly recommend, also handy was the Carre four shopping centre. The downside to this hotel is its location if you wish to explore the Medina. It is a 45 minute walk to the nearest gate (Bab) and you could pay up to 50 to 100 dinars per trip. You must negotiate a price first with the taxi driver otherwise you will be paying too much, probably more than double you should. Also behind the hotel next to the cinema is the tourist open top bus stop, No. 7 on the Blue Route, (two other routes available Red and Green)which offers an informative trip around the medina and surrounding areas of Marrakech. This is a useful form of transport around Marrakech as you can get on and off where you like, but you will need to check start and finish times which are listed on the bus stops themselves. I would recommend this hotel, but would prefer to stay within the Medina in an upmarket Riad.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room at the back of the hotel, the front was a little noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is brand new, very well appointed and easy to stay in. Not for anyone wanting 'old' Morocco but perfect for a quiet break. Breakfast adequate but not keen on small birds flying round ! We never ate dinner in the hotel restaurant so cannot comment, but had room service which was excellent.The bedroom/suite was roomy, clean, and well appointed. Drinks are very expensive but within 5 mins there is a Carrefour which sells everything one needs. The taxi into town cost 50 dirhams each way, extremely good value.
Like all foreign holidays I believe one should go with the flow and not judge by western values. I would recommend this for someone who wants to visit the busy medina and town but stay a little further out in a quiet area.

Room Tip: Suite was perfect for us on ground floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It is a bit out of the way and on reflection we would have preferred to stay in the City. However, that said, we do like to walk and we walked a lot! As far as the hotel is concerned, it is new, contemporary, stylish and very clean. The staff are friendly. The rooms are lovely and well thought out apart from lack of storage i.e drawers, for clothing items. I wish someone would come up with a better idea for a hair dryer also as the ones supplied are very awkward to use.

My greatest criticism is that communication from the staff to their guests is very poor. They do nod and smile a lot, but is this enough? They do not seem to be promoting Marrakech as a tourist destination as there is absolutely no literature informing people what there is to do and see except for a very small card on the reception desk which states several excursions,(but is easy to miss), and even then, very little detail is given about these excursions. I would have expected there to be brochures, leaflets and maps to hand so that we knew where we were in relation to the City and where we could go. We had to ask for a map and yes that was provided from the back room but these items should be on display. You have to ask for absolutely everything as no information regarding the hotel or the area is offered.

I appreciate that the majority of guests were French speaking and were able to speak more easily with staff, but if they want to promote this hotel internationally then they are really going to have to up their game when dealing with international tourists. I don’t expect everyone to speak English to me but there are other ways of communicating and promoting both the hotel and Marrakech. Written information needs to be available to cater for people who don't speak French.

Whilst there I experienced for the first time ever a Hammam massage. It was divine! However, again, it is not something I have every day and I really didn't know what to expect. There were some basic details regarding Spa treatments in the rooms but I would have like to have known what it actually entailed! I decided in the end to just "go for it" and I am glad I did.

Why oh why does everyone assume that we want loud music playing whilst relaxing. Or even any music at all. I love music, all kinds of music, and I do like to play it loud at times. Whilst relaxing around the pool during the day, it seemed to start off fairly quiet which was fine, but then the volume usually increased over the course of the day. The sun moves off the pool area at around 3.30pm and it is lovely to be able to go onto the rooftop to the bar and pool area there, but we couldn't stand the noise! Is the music played for the benefit of the guests I wonder or for the staff? Combine the loud music with the constant babble of staff huddled together in the corner of the "downstairs" pool area and it was far from relaxing.

Overall, the Cesar Resort & Spa needs some serious attention in relation to its lack of communication with the guests in promoting both the hotel and Marrakech, better training of staff, and maybe a Manager's presence might be a good idea?

Food was excellent. Bar expensive. Breakfast very good and always served with a smile.
I liked the presence of the two birds. Bird poo never hurt anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quelques minutes des golfs, du centre-ville et de l'aéroport, le César est aussi tout proche du Grand Prix, du Palais des Congrès et du plus grand centre commercial de la région. Dîner en ville, prendre une coupe au Champagne Bar, nager dans l'une de ses 3 piscines (sur le roof top, dans le patio ou sous le ciel étoilé du Spa), danser sur son dance floor ou dormir dans l'une de ses 28 suites : le César est la nouvelle adresse trendy de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cesar Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.