We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cesar Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cesar Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cesar Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good value Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Cesar for 3 nights and had a great stay.
Its a really pleasant Boutique Hotel.
We stayed in one of the poolside rooms which was really nice.... good size, very clean and modern and a super comfy bed with super comfy bedding!
The rooms are really spacious and minimally but fashionably decorated, with nice bathroom, shower bath and double sinks.... the room was turned down each night and they always left flowers on the bed and folded the towels with petals ect...
facilities were good, and the rooftop bar area was nice for drinks and , we had a great sunday buffet and a bottle of wine watching the sunset.
The spa area has a traditional hamman, which you get 1 free scrub down with your room.... i highly reccommend doing this as its a great experience and the hot pool and jacuzzi were great to relax in... my only disappointment with the spa area was it all seemed to lack a bit of organisation. When we had our hamman, were were sort of left to fend for ourselves, not really knowing what was happening at any point and the 2 girls spent most of the time having heated discussions between themselves,whiles we were trying to relax.
the outside pool are is very nice and the pool is surrounded by nice comfy beanbags to lounge in. It was a really relaxing and pleasant stay.
location wise it is quite a way out of town, and we ran up a fairly hefty taxi bill getting to and from the medina and the main area for the bars and restaurants, but there is enough facilities at the resort to shut yourself away there for a few days anyway, without the need to venture out if your after a relaxing short break.
The staff were polite & friendly , but again i got the sense it was a little bit disorganised even though everyone was giving 100% effort,
So on the whole, a good hotel, great spacious luxury rooms, friendly staff and good facilities.....would i stay here again?...yes i would.

Room Tip: the poolside rooms are awsome, the rooms to the left of the pool only get sunshine in the morning, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    73
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
45
204
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic! Just stayed here for a short relaxing break and got exactly what we were looking for. The staff were wonderful, nothing too much trouble. Lots of different areas in the hotel, the sky bar on the roof is lovely for a drink at sunset. The breakfast (included in our deal) was fantastic and incredibly filling. The bed was like sleeping in a cloud and all the rooms look Onto the pool area. We had a Hammam and a massage both which were excellent and very well priced! The restaurant was nice but the menu a little limited and a bit pricey for what is on offer. This isn't a problem as it is not far to get taxis and head into the city and there is also a mall with cheap eating options and shops as well as a huge supermarket just a 5 min walk away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior room and this was great but the next levels up looked even better - book i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We travelled as a couple and this was probably one of the best hotels we have stayed at. Staff are very helpful and accommodating, attention to detail is spot on. Great place to unwind and relax before you head out to the real Marrakech. Our room was brilliant, we checked in to a bottle of complimentary champagne, rose petals on the bed and a fruit basket. Nadia who works on the front desk is a real credit to the hotel, very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again. Try the hammam too, we received a complimentary one. It was a real experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

By chance found this new hotel, picked it as looked modern, nice décor and 3 pools. It was FANTASTIC. Junior Suite was awesome, loved the finishes and cleanliness. The small team of staff are a real credit to this hotel, always willing to help, but also fun to chat with and advise on places to see.

It's about 10 mins from Medina by taxi. But actually we preferred being away from the madness in this oasis. The bonus is it's walking distance to Pacha's Restaurant & Club, plus the wonderful Al Fasal restaurant.

Be aware taxi rates are variable, depending on how green you are!! SO huge luck we found the one in a million good and reliable taxi man YOUSSEF +212 6 78 30 94 73 (say Clare & Annie said so!!)

I will return some day soon .. especially to try the spa which we didn't have time to enjoy this time!

Room Tip: Definitely choose the suites, so lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Currently sat by the pool, while waiting for my flight home after a 5 night stay, through livingsocial.

The hotel is a beautiful place, well decorated, with a number of different areas for you to unwind and relax. Whether that be in your room, on a lounger by the pool, sat in the spacious bar or up in the skybar.

We arrived without transfers and caught a cab from the airport and paid over the odds 200dm. However after that we got into the spirit of haggling and got cabs in to town for around 40-50dm. You could walk it on a nice day (around 45mins to 1 hour)

The room was ground floor and had patio doors which opened out straight onto the pool. The deal came with a free arrival cocktail, a bottle of champagne and a fruit basket. All were present on our arrival as well as a scattering of rose petals on the bed. The staff from the moment we arrived were nothing short of fantastic. They were attentive, helpful and always smiling. On one occasion one of them came over, unasked, and helped us to understand the menu as he could see we were struggling. You should not expect the staff to speak english, if they do it is a bonus and i felt that so long as you conversed a little with them in french, then they were more than happy to speak to you in english.

Yes the alcohol is expensive, but this is due to the taxes and not entirely down to the hotel. We walked 5 minutes to the carrefour (supermarket) and bought food and drink from there. This was as expensive as at home if not more so.

Breakfast can get a little repetitive but was always nice. We ate at the hotel on 3 evenings and had a lovely meal on each occasion.

A fantastic place and would definately come again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We've just returned from a 4 night honeymoon at the Cesar Hotel. From the moment we arrived we loved it, it is a beautiful hotel and as mentioned by other reviewers the customer service is brilliant. The hotel itself has 2 pools, the one on the roof was our favourite as we had it mostly to ourselves and it has beautiful views of the atlas mountains - you can request lunch up here. The medina is a good 10min taxi drive (would be longer in england but the Moroccans know how to drive quickly!) and really you should pay no more than 40MAD each way, more at night though - 1 night we also managed to get the horse and carriage back for 100MAD!

Breakfast was nice each morning but can get boring after a while as its the same everyday, very tasty though. I don't expect all staff in a foreign hotel to speak english and we certainly found that quite a few members of staff had brilliant English, taking a French dictionary may help when you don't know that much though. The spa was amazing, has a heated pool for any rainy days and we had a Hamman which was brilliant and very relaxing. They mainly speak French in the spa but if you're not sure, ask the hotel staff to speak to the spa for you.

Food at the hotel is delicious and presented beautifully but can be expensive. Carrefour is a 5 min walk (good place to get a taxi and haggle!) and has a food court upstairs where you can eat more cheaply if needed. We did this on a couple of occasions and it was very nice. You can also stock up on nibbles for the room from the supermarket.

Overall an excellent stay, hotel is well run and managed and we would definitely return in the future. Staying outside the medina is a real benefit as it can be too hot and intense 24/7.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing inwards as you get a lovely balcony to relax on in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is absolutely lovely and a great place to relax after sightseeing trips. The staff are all extremely friendly and there's always someone around to help you with any queries; nothing is too much trouble. I would definitely recommend it.

POOLS: There are two outdoor, small ish pools and the areas around them are immaculately clean. The rooftop pool has great views, though only a few sunbeds (there are lots of comfy chairs, but not the same if you want to lie down). The lower level pool has really comfy beanbag sunbeds.

SPA: The spa area is lovely with an indoor pool, relaxation area & lots of treatments to choose from. The staff here understand French better than English. As part of our deal with Secret Escapes, we had a complimentary hammam; scrub, soaping, etc, which felt great. They even washed our hair! The full body massage (55 mins) was also fantastic & worth the money.

FOOD: Breakfast lovely (same each day), consisting of omlette, various breads / cakes / pastries, hot drink, orange juice & natural yogurt. The breakfast servers are very friendly, though also understand French a bit better than English. Other meals at the hotel are fairly pricey but very tasty & good sized portions. Can be eaten by either of the pools.

ROOMS: We had a ground floor room, with a massive double bed, seating area, bath, shower, etc. The rooms are cleaned thorougly every day & towels replaced (one day they forgot, but as soon as we asked we were given some). I really liked the room, it was very modern & comfortable.

LOCATION: 10 mins by taxi to Medina. The hotel can flag a taxi for you, but you still need to negotiate the rate yourself. A grand taxi (for over 2 people) should cost around 50 MAD, though could be up to 100 at night. Some taxi drivers are nicer than others, some will accept your suggested price whilst others will be tougher. You'll get more confident with this as the holiday goes on. There's a shopping centre a few mins walk away with a cashpoint, clothes shops, some eateries and a supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cesar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Resort & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cesar Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cesar Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cesar Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.